We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just spent Thanksgiving week the Caravelle. Had the best time ever!! The morning vie of the harbor is breathtaking. Staff was great, rooms are clean, and close to everything. The only down side is they have no elevator. While definitely need the exercise, it was a pain with the luggage. Other than that it is the perfect place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rousetti
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

Rousetti, Thank you for your review! We are a bit spoiled with our view and love to hear others enjoy it too. And we are working on the Elevator, as we have had other guests mention that as well. We do have bell staff available to assist you with your luggage in the interim. We hope you come and visit...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel from Nov 2nd thru Nov 7th. The room was spacious and very clean. Although I kept the DND sign up for my entire stay, the entire staff was quick to respond to any questions I had. Hillarine and Chris, at the front desk, were friendly and went out of their way to see that my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenH1
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

Thank you StephenH1 We always love to hear reviews such as yours, and we welcome you back anytime. Have a wonderful Holiday Season =)

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Caravelle is perfectly situated right on the waterfront in Chistiansted, just 3 minutes walk from the seaplane. It's in center of everything. We were unable to get a room with seaview, but it didn't really matter, as both the restaurant and the (nice) pool area had great seaviews. I surgest, you save that money. Our price was very decent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torben A
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

Thank you Torben A we appreciate the time you took to review Hotel Caravelle. We hope you come again soon. Have a Happy Holiday Season!

New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are large and clean but very basic. The staff is very warm and friendly. The major complaint I had was that when I discovered that there was NO hot water in my room, it took 3 separate complaints over a day and a half before I was moved to a similar room with a working water heater. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiverDonn
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

DiverDonn Thank you for your review. As I am unsure why your hot water issue took so long to address. I will speak to our staff about complaints such as these being addressed quickly. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. I hope you have a great Holiday Season.

Rome, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has been through a major renovation from the pictures we saw. The rooms are comfortable, clean and inviting. The beds are amazing. We had a harbor view and faced the ocean. The staff was super friendly and helpful. There is a Casino and a Restaraunt attached to the hotel. Great place to stay downtown. Within walking or golf...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

Thank you Scott K, We love to hear reviews such as yours. Thank you for talking the time to let us know our hard work is paying off. We look forward to your return visit.

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great staff! clean comfortable rooms, rumrunners restaurant downstairs was very convernient. two small drawbacks, its a 3 story hotel with no elevator and the water pressure could have been a little better but it was fine. ladies would probably like a little more water presssure for rinsing there hair. overall it was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rennis51
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

rennis51, Thank you for taking the time to respond, and for the wonderful complement to our staff. We will see about the water pressure, as it is the first this has been brought to our attention. We hope to see you again soon =)

Largo, Florida
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My husband was doing business on St. Croix so I was able to fly over with him from St. Thomas. Hotel Caravelle is just a short walk down the boardwalk from the Seaborne Airlines terminal. We had a standard room so the view was of the parking lot but that was fine because all we needed to do was step...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

Thank you Lucy K We will look in to the chlorine levels in the pool. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Caravelle. I will have to go and try and find your starfish... those are my favorite! Come again soon =)

St. Thomas
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I recently spent a weekend at Hotel Caravelle and I must say that my experience was a good one. This newly renovated property was a pleasant surprise. It is located in the heart of Christiansted and is steps away from the Seaplane terminal and Centerline Car Rental. My room was comfortable and clean and had an awesome harbor view. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emani E
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

Thank you we hope you come again soon...

Atlanta
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Location is right on the boardwalk and convenient to the SeaPlane and the city of Christiansted. Be aware there is no elevator but the assistant in the office offered to take our bags up. It seems some of the rooms are renovated and look nice. However the bathrooms are still lacking. I didn't have an upgraded room and I looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BranNewareAtl
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

BranNewareAtl, Thank you for telling us as to the hot water issue, hopefully you had let the front desk know as well while you were here. I will look into your mix up as well. And as to the rooms, the Standard rooms have an urban or city view as you noted. We appreciate your feedback.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I was unsure about any of the hotels since I have not been back to St. Croix in a very long time, but Caravelle was perfect, The check in was easy, They have a secured parking lot for guest,small but still available. The casino is small and is only a slot machine casino but hey, its not Vegas and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivy C
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this review

Thank you Ivy Welcome Home!! We hope you come back again soon =)

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
463 reviews
4.0 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.7 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 14 in Christiansted
111 reviews
2.6 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,248 reviews
3.0 km away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Caravelle Hotel & Casino, which was completely renovated in 2016, is located on the waterfront of historic Christiansted, St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. The 42-room three-story hotel blends casual elegance with friendly service and modern amenities including a casino, complimentary Wi-Fi, an outdoor swimming pool and sun decks, an award-winning restaurant, and easy access to land and sea adventures, shopping, tours, and dining. Caravelle Hotel & Casino is walking distance to historic sites including Fort Christiansvearn and the Scale House; boutique shops including clothing, home goods and local, hand-made jewelry stores; art galleries featuring local photographers, painters and artists; and award-winning independently-owned restaurants. Sailing charters island tours, Scuba diving trips and guided walking tours depart in front of the hotel. The courtyard garden of Caravelle Hotel features live entertainment. Rumrunners Bar & Restaurant is a waterfront, open-air restaurant located in the lobby level of the hotel and serving three meals a day with a focus on fresh local seafood Caribbean inspired dishes and classic American favorites. The casino, which opened April 2016, offers 71 slot machines and a service bar where drinks are complimentary to players. Valet parking is free of charge. The casino is open from 10 am until 12 am Monday through Saturday and noon-midnight on Sunday. Caravelle Hotel’s $2.5 million renovation started in September 2015 and was completed in February 2016. Renovations were made in all guest rooms and in the public spaces including the lobby, front desk, pool area, as well as with the exterior and structure of the historic hotel. All 42 guestrooms feature new furnishings including beds, mattresses, pillows, linens, art, windows, lighting, flooring, paint, and amenities. The waterfront hotel reveals a new fresh look with natural stone flooring, brighter open spaces, colorful flowing textile art, and a bright yellow exterior. The redesign adds a contemporary, tropical feel to the hotels welcoming and friendly personality. The local culture is showcased with artwork. Digital photography by Don Diddams is featured in the lobby and in guest rooms. The ceiling of the lobby features a flowing colorful print by local textile artist Debbie Sun. Sun’s creations are also featured in guest rooms where the crisp cotton linens are complimented with a bed sash and accent pillows and in the casino. The overall color scheme of the hotels interiors is natural, calming and subtle with bright accents. The exterior of the hotel is a bright yellow to pay a special nod to the other historic buildings in Christiansted that are also yellow. Caravelle Hotel is walking distance from the seaplanes of Seaborne Airlines and 20 minutes from the airport, which welcomes direct flights from Atlanta, Miami, Charlotte and neighboring islands including Puerto Rico, St. Thomas, and Anguilla. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix

Address: 44A Queen Cross St, Christiansted 00820-5020, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Price Range: $164 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravelle On St. Croix Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansted
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I loved my boardwalk room.I was over a bar all week, and hardly heard a thing!”
 of 5 bubbles StephenH1, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the deluxe room. They come with the harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles EmaniE_13, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request water view and pay the extra few dollars for it the view in the Morning is fabulous!”
  • Another view from room
  • view from room
 of 5 bubbles ivyc123, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I loved my Harbour View Room!”
 of 5 bubbles Garden131, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking boardwalk may be noisy during peak season. We were there in slow month of August.”
 of 5 bubbles cooljewel2, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay