We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alegria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alegria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Start your review of Alegria
 Click to rate
Miami, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My stay at Alegria was Amazing. Very helpful staff!!!!! I had a really nice room it was awesome. Located right next to the beach. This resort is a excellent location has such a scenic spot overlooking the Caribbean sea . Airport only 5 mins away from the airport. I will be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimadele26
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had a great time during my stay at Alegria Hotel. When I arrived at the hotel the ladies behind the frontdesk helped me out very good and the check in was done in a few minutes. The hotelroom is spacious and very clean, I felt very comfortable during my stay. The location of the hotel is perfect, it's just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RutgervD
Ontario
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 5 nights, room 501 on 5th floor. I booked on Expedia, the room seemed reasonable until they add the taxes which worked out to be $ 300 per night Canadian. We needed some where near our friends staying at the sonesta maho so I booked it anyway. I would agree with another persons review regarding the $...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelldog
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The proximity of Maho beach and the airstrip are one of the many advantages that this accommodation has. A must for plane spotters. Nearby you can find several good bars and restaurants . A private closed parking is available to visitors free of charge. The room was spacious and clean. The staff polite and helpful. All of our needs were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jirayr K
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Jirayr, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a "quick getaway" from the cold, back in the US. I booked it at $150nt(USD) and it was worth the price. From the beginning, the hotel seemed great. Upon check-in, we received two glasses of champagne. We also received a complimentary upgrade on our room. However the upgraded room took a really long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mstjohnson83
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Johnson, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to...

Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last year and I must say Algeria has improved, but they have a long ways to go still. Personnel are doing a much better job at customer service; friendlier, more helpful and accommodating than previously. However, rooms are cheaply furnished, showers may not work, you have to go to the front desk to request a hairdryer, and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallie m
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Sallie, Thank you for taking the time to complete out our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Our staff will Always be available to help you and do their very best they can to achieve your expectations. Please note that the $200 security deposit not just covers the hair dryer but also applies to the pool...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a four night stay at Alegria. I specifically booked it to be next to the famous beach at SXM Airport where you can hang out at the bar or on a small beach and watch planes take off and land at St Maarten Airport. The hotel is very close and was clean and fine for a resort hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClintPage
Karen H, General Manager at Alegria, responded to this review

Dear Clint, Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding the location of the hotel, the facilities, and the staff Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an...

Charlotte, NC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the Alegria Hotel through our timeshare contact. We decided to invite another couple, not knowing what facilities the hotel offered. Our unit was a two-story unit, with each floor having a door to the outside. During the day, each couple did their own thing, so if one wanted to leave early, it did not disturb the other. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AviationWriter
Philadelphia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed by this property, I don't know how it has high scores. The rooms are spacious but dated and musty. There is rust in the bathroom and the grout is dirty. No hairdryer in the room. The pillows are paper thin and the blanket is something you'll find at your grandmas house. To get a towel you need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
Oranjestad, Aruba
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1. if you charge a security deposit, you should check the room and give written proof that the guest gave you the room back in good order, just like how the car rentals work when you bring the car back. Inspecition of my room was refused during check out. This means that if later during that day the housekeeping breaks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BertVermaas

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.3 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
14.0 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
387 reviews
12.2 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
737 reviews
4.4 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alegria is waiting for you to discover its world of happiness! Our compound overlooks the ocean at Maho Bay, adjacent to Maho Beach, the world-famous, white-sand beach where you almost can touch the airliners landing at Princess Juliana International Airport. Located on St. Maarten's southern coast, our resort includes two pools, a swim-up bar, spa services, fitness center and Wi-Fi. We offer a variety of room accommodations including premium rooms, which overlooks the ocean, with a king size bed, one-bedroom suites, a pair of two-bedroom penthouse suites with over 2,000 square feet and standard king and double rooms. Nearby you will discover restaurants and casinos, 18-hole championship golf course, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. It's all here. And Alegria is just a short taxi ride from the island's capital, Philipsburg, and numerous beaches. Check-in time is at 4 pm. Checkout time is until 12 pm. A $200 deposit will be taken at check-in in the form of credit card authorization or cash deposit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alegria

Address: 2 Beacon Hill Road, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Price Range: $256 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alegria staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Alegria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach view”
 of 5 bubbles kimadele26, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Floors 3 and 4 are attached as a two-floor unit.”
 of 5 bubbles AviationWriter, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away, or inspect room before committing.”
 of 5 bubbles KnifeandForkToGo, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the pool MAY be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles bres130, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Anything top floor in the 4th floor or 5th floor has a great view. Room 409 & 502 had great views of the beach, pool and hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles nRiches266, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5