We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hacienda Tamarindo

Orbitz.comUSD 214*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 214*
USD 214*
USD 214*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 546: English reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I visited the Island with a group of friends and had a great time. Also good for a romantic getaway. You need to rent a Jeep to get around freely. Friendly service, quaint property. Would recommend it and want return soon. Very good breakfast! Must eat out! Great adventure trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquel C
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you came with friends and enjoyed both the island and Hacienda Tamarindo. We look forward to your return visit so we may once again treat you to our Hacienda Hospitality.

Southampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went with my husband last December to the Hacienda Tamarindo for 5 days and 4 nights. The Hacienda was a smaller, non-comercialized hotel, with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a tropical feel with a tree growing through the middle of it. There is game/ computer room that has a computer your can use with internet access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elc20132013
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Hacienda Tamarindo and your experience in Vieques. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and the breakfasts. I am sorry to hear that you found the room noisy. Sometimes we have guests who have loud voices and don't realize how they carry. The hot...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights for part of my honeymoon. The room was nicely sized with many windows, but unfortunately the screens meant to keep out bugs were poorly attached and the gaps in the edges let in lots of mosquitoes, flies, gnats, and moths. My husband got a lot of mosquito bites while sleeping, so we started applying several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret K
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your honeymoon experience at Hacienda Tamarindo didn't live up to your expectations. We had a lot of rain in early September and early October and it seemed to bring out the mosquitos and other bugs with a vengeance and we did have some difficulty keeping up with their control. I do appreciate the comments and...

Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent two nights at Hacienda Tamarindo in Casita Linda and we were all thrilled with the experience. We arrived late at night and were greeted by the ever helpful Pamela, it was dark and we had no idea what our surroundings looked like, in the morning we were pleasantly surprised to walk out to the wraparound porch for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen a
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. I know that it takes much more effort to write a good review than a bad one, and we appreciate that effort. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We love our staff and always enjoy hearing that they have been helpful and provided good service to our guests. I...

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Included with room price: delicious breakfast, 24/7 pool access, beach gear-(beach chairs and cooler), computer, printer, wifi, board games, library, beautiful views. This hotel room was authentic as there was no tv and no AC. However the open windows gave a nice breeze with the ceiling fan running and we woke up refreshed from the fresh air. We would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank slbrown2
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for that great review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and took advantage of all Hacienda Tamarindo and Vieques have to offer. We hope you will come back for a longer visit.

Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a continental US antique Bed and Breakfast feel to it with a nice view of the ocean. Very nicely decorated although not the decorations I would expect to see on an "hacienda" which would typically be more of a Spanish style. Staff was really nice. Our room even thou not impeccably clean (shower needed some scrubbing) had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisandra2013
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. I am happy to know that you received good service. Unfortunately, it has rained a lot lately, but then it is hurricane season and we should expect that. However, it does encourage the mosquitoes in spite of our efforts to...

Miami
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We are leaving Hacidenda Tamarindo today, but it will be difficult to go. The view is 2nd to none, the view is wonderful, the grounds and gardens are beautifully kept, the staff is very simpatico, the breakfast is terrific, and the rooms are very comfortable. They make everything so easy - the pool is also great for the end of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaydreamerTraveller
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

WE are so glad you booked here, and that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review. We look forward to your next visit when perhaps Burr and I, as well as Ivan and your husband will be able to share a beer, and toast your return. We are away, so...

Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights in January and I've been meaning to write a review for a while. We had previously stayed at the ritz in San Juan and we planned on coming to vieques for a one night stay to see the bio bay. When we got to this place we extended our stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ElephantTusk
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Wow! We love that you loved it at Hacienda Tamarindo, and we do hope we will see you back here. It's very kind of you to share your experience. We really appreciate it.

Chatham, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Three nights at the Hacienda Tamarindo in late August were superb and relaxing in every way. The rooms are fantastic, comfortable with a lovely decor, and the whole property has a great feel and ambience. Breakfasts are delicious and hearty. The pool and grounds are beautiful, with wonderful views. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the owners have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simon L
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

You are very kind, and we certainly hope you will return. We really love having guests return who enjoy Hacienda Tamarindo and Vieques. Thank you, too, for taking the time to write your great review.

Crofton, Maryland
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Spent 3 nights at Hacienda Tamarindo in July, 2013 on our first trip to Vieques. We bought the Vieques Paddleboarding package that also included a discount on our airfare to the island. It cost us more money to fly to Vieques, but we can truly say that it was worth it. The flight on VAL was a blast because we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gail G
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

I can't say how much we appreciate our guests who take the time to write reviews of their experience at Hacienda Tamarindo. Yours is a perfect example of, "everyone makes mistakes". Thankfully, we were able to remedy the situation. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope we will see you again.

696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (337)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (300)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Caribbean Deluxe Room (42)
Viewed
Caribbean Room (39)
Viewed
High Standard Queen Room (40)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
7.8 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
366 reviews
5.1 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,787 reviews
74.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
95.8 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.6 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
224 reviews
49.6 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $266 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hacienda Tamarindo staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hacienda Tamarindo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 23 overlooks the ocean.”
799Peter56, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a view are worth the extra price.”
, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is in a separate house. Involves walking uphill to breakfast.”
TravelerPhiladelphia, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a room with a patio(room 1). Room 5 has a balcony and there are a few rooms that share the common areas as their patio.”
BobW60, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can get the ocean view rooms, the views are breathtaking.”
347dusting, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 214* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 214
CheapTicketsUSD 214
Expedia.comUSD 214
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates