We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hacienda Tamarindo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 542: English reviews
Orlando, FL
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in March 2013. We originally planned to spend 5 nights on the main island of Puerto Rico. After reading up on Vieques, we changed our plans to 3 nights in San Juan and 3 nights in Vieques. The moment we arrived on the island, we knew this was going to be a special place and we were already...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mdmOrlando_FL
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you took the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor. We try to provide our guests with the kind of vacation experience we would like to have. It sounds like, in your case, we may have succeeded. We very much look forward to hosting...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Hacienda Tamarindo is a solid hotel on the Island of Vieques with a great location and accompanying amenities. The rooms are large, but the bathrooms could do with a makeover and a really good grout cleaning. That said, the shower is large with good water pressure. A fan in the bathroom would be a welcome addition. As mentioned by others,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chictraavel
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your taking the time to write your informative review. I am sure people will find it very helpful. The showers are in the process of being updated. Unfortunately we have to close to do it and we began this year by closing for 21/2 weeks in October to begin that process. We hear you and take...

New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I just got back from Vieques and we can't say enough good things about our stay at the Hacienda Tamarindo. The staff was fabulous, the breakfast was great, and the whole atmosphere was perfect!.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jolene J
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We need to hear when we aren't doing our job, but we LOVE to hear it when we are. We hope to see you back. Happy holidays.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I read a lot of the reviews before choosing this hotel for a one night stay in November 2013. We were coming for just one late night kayak on the bio bay. We needed a reasonable room rate for 2 rooms. Although I wanted to stay at the W, it was just too expensive. I was a little nervous that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HighonSugar
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write that amazing review. To address your one concern, we were in the processing of having new screens made to replace damaged ones, and that has been done. We are all glad to know that you enjoyed your experience with us. It's our job and our mission. Happy holidays.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Be careful. Although the hotel is scenic, security is non-existent. During our honeymoon in September 2013, our rental car's passenger-side wheels were stolen from our rental car while it was parked 15 feet from the hotel in the designated parking area. We really hate to think this was an inside job, but there is really no way to tell. I...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank jrjax1968
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you had such an unfortunate experience during your stay on Vieques. We do offer assistance to our guests with car rental reservations so we know they will be dealing with reliable agencies who have insurance, offer insurance to their renters, etc. In this case you made...

Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visit the hacienda for the second time and like the first one it was PERFECT! This time I even talked to the owner Burr and express my gratitude of such a wonderful place. If you are searching for a quiet,couzy,magical place with top customer service well this is the only option! We even like it better than the W...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JDRR
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We love having repeat guests so that we get an opportunity to get to know you, and make each visit feel like your home away from home. We hope everyone who visits Vieques and Hacienda Tamarindo will enjoy the experience, and it is such a pleasure when we hear that guests like...

Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I visited the Island with a group of friends and had a great time. Also good for a romantic getaway. You need to rent a Jeep to get around freely. Friendly service, quaint property. Would recommend it and want return soon. Very good breakfast! Must eat out! Great adventure trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquel C
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you came with friends and enjoyed both the island and Hacienda Tamarindo. We look forward to your return visit so we may once again treat you to our Hacienda Hospitality.

Southampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went with my husband last December to the Hacienda Tamarindo for 5 days and 4 nights. The Hacienda was a smaller, non-comercialized hotel, with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a tropical feel with a tree growing through the middle of it. There is game/ computer room that has a computer your can use with internet access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elc20132013
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Hacienda Tamarindo and your experience in Vieques. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and the breakfasts. I am sorry to hear that you found the room noisy. Sometimes we have guests who have loud voices and don't realize how they carry. The hot...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights for part of my honeymoon. The room was nicely sized with many windows, but unfortunately the screens meant to keep out bugs were poorly attached and the gaps in the edges let in lots of mosquitoes, flies, gnats, and moths. My husband got a lot of mosquito bites while sleeping, so we started applying several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret K
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your honeymoon experience at Hacienda Tamarindo didn't live up to your expectations. We had a lot of rain in early September and early October and it seemed to bring out the mosquitos and other bugs with a vengeance and we did have some difficulty keeping up with their control. I do appreciate the comments and...

Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent two nights at Hacienda Tamarindo in Casita Linda and we were all thrilled with the experience. We arrived late at night and were greeted by the ever helpful Pamela, it was dark and we had no idea what our surroundings looked like, in the morning we were pleasantly surprised to walk out to the wraparound porch for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen a
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. I know that it takes much more effort to write a good review than a bad one, and we appreciate that effort. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We love our staff and always enjoy hearing that they have been helpful and provided good service to our guests. I...

696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (337)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (300)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Caribbean Deluxe Room (42)
Viewed
Caribbean Room (39)
Viewed
High Standard Queen Room (40)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
7.8 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
359 reviews
5.1 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,766 reviews
74.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
95.8 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.6 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
219 reviews
49.6 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Box 1569 | Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $236 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hacienda Tamarindo staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hacienda Tamarindo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a view are worth the extra price.”
, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is in a separate house. Involves walking uphill to breakfast.”
TravelerPhiladelphia, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a room with a patio(room 1). Room 5 has a balcony and there are a few rooms that share the common areas as their patio.”
BobW60, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can get the ocean view rooms, the views are breathtaking.”
347dusting, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 is a very roomy king suite and has a balcony with ocean view”
travelnow47, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5