We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 833: English reviews
New Boston, Michigan
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We arrived at this hotel as scheduled and were immediately told there was a problem with our room, that the king bed room with the plaza view was no longer available. We were told that it was a problem with booking.com that they did not send them all the required information (how did they know that we were suppose to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Mrs Watkins for having the time to comment about your recent stay at our property Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan. We are really glad you enjoyed our fantastic location and the service from the friendliest staff in all Old San Juan. Regarding your situation when you arrived, we did have a problem with your original...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2015

The positives are that the location of the hotel is excellent and the people who work there are nice. Negatives - Our room had no cover on the transom window which gave out onto the hallway so the room was light all night long. The transom window was also broken. The safe was broken There were not enough outlets so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you Valerie for taking the time to write your impression about your recent stay at Old San Juan. We are really glad you enjoyed the remarkable location and the friendliest front desk staff in Old San Juan area that we have. However I can assure you that we are much more than just that We are deeply sorry your...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

We arrived in San Juan on The 19th about mid day. We of course were told our room was not ready and they would store our baggage. As has been said in other reviews, this is not exactly a secure area, but our bags were fine. We were finally able to check in at 3pm and were given a room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GatorSteve
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

We are really sorry GatorSteve for your experience but as you have established this situation is not our fault. You can not blame us for the noise on the street Not coming back to us is your call but maybe you didn't know we have quieter Interior Queen Bed Windowless room where noise is minimum. We assure you that Hotel...

Reviewed 22 March 2015

We stayed here before joinng a cruise ship. Our bags were delayed by the airline. The next day we asked the airline to bring our bags to the ship. We left the hotel with our contact information just in case the bags were delivered there by mistake. the bags were delivered there and the hotel did not bother to contact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Sorry Christopher but we are not responsible for bags missing in the airport. We do have your information but the luggage came after you were inside the cruise and we are not allow to keep bags in the hotel when our guest leave. So we needed to give back your bags to the airline Delta , they were the one...

Reviewed 20 March 2015

We arrived at Hotel Plaza de Armas mid evening and were greeted by Pedro, who was a most pleasant concierge! He was so friendly, helpful with our luggage, and gave us directions to several different places for dining and music. This place is centrally located, close to great restaurants as well as interesting places to visit. The rooms were clean,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
Reviewed 18 March 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Plaza de Armas for one night after delays caused us to miss our flight to our final destination. We picked this hotel for its value and its proximity to the many historic landmarks in Old San Juan after a very quick search on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a bit dingy and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewTraveller79
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thanks a lot NewTraveler79 for taking the time to write your impression about your stay in Old San Juan. We are really glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our location, value and staff. The majority of our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet which is a little wider than the average room in this area and they...

Brainerd, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Good location for staying in old San Juan. Right next door to the State Department and Plaza. Very safe area. Easy to walk to all the sights and lots of good restaurants. The WiFi was only suppose to be available in the public areas, but we were able to get good access in our inside, windowless room. The staff was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakegirl56401
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We stayed one night after a cruise. It's a two star stay and a decent price but its old. The rooms have 12 foot ceilings and the rooms are all tile which means that you hear every conversation, every door close, and everything on the street. The staff was awesome and ok for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trent T
Montezuma, IA
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We have stayed here before and loved the hotel and hospitality. We had one minor issue this time - we had no hot water. There was none Saturday night and then again Sunday morning. Otherwise, they were very accommodating. We had to cancel two rooms due to flight issues and we were given one of the rooms in place of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stella2626`
Kentucky
Reviewed 11 March 2015

This hotel was in Old San Juan, very good location, very friendly and helpful staff. The elevator is very old and small. We used it to go up but used stairs to go down with our luggage because people were stuck in the elevator. Our room was windowless which I did not like. The place needs some work but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jadajag

487 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (257)
Viewed
NQ1 Room (38)
Viewed
NT1 Room (40)
Viewed
SNK1 Room (52)
Viewed
SNK2 Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
911 reviews
0.3 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
745 reviews
0.4 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
257 reviews
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#6 of 46 in San Juan
157 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $139 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fourth floor balcony room is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles LaraWatson44, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles cesar362, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the rooms on the 4th floor if you can. Those had balcony with view.”
 of 5 bubbles TaylorG594, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Windowless room are better value. The plaza view rooms have more cons than pros.”
  • Plaza view room
  • Plaza view room looking to balcony
  • Bathroom
  • View to plaza from room balcony
 of 5 bubbles roaming_kiwi58, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go with ground floor so you do not have to use the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles CX239238, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5