We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 815: English reviews
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had communicated in advance with staff to confirm I was arriving late, they were great to talk to on the phone. When I arrived I was welcomed and checked in quickly, but t went down hill from there. Room was old and need of renovation. Used the toilet then found there was no soap in the bathroom. had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank CX239238
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

We are greatly sorry about the housekeeping situations during your stay. Room ameneties are detailed in all sites. As for the mosquito situation we take this issue very seriously, we have no comments towards this on record thank you for bringing this to our attention we value our guests opinion. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can't really say much about it since we had checked in at midnight and checked out around 8am. We were so tired that we went directly to bed. What I do remember was that the bathroom was very pretty and that it had a small elevator (only me and my husband and our small carry ons fitted). The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stood at. Ants on the floor, furniture was dusty, top of refrigerator was rusty, hot water took long to come on, no phone in my room, elevator extremely slow. Not worth my $118! 👎

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelmercy
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

I am very sorry for your experience, did you point out your dissatisfaction with your room to the hotel staff? More 

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Aguas Buenas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Hotel have nearby Restaurants, Supermarket, Fast Foods, Pharmacy and attractions. The must is Casa Cortes with your ChocoBar. I recommend this Hotel because the staff are very nice and his Manager is gentle with us and the price is super economic.

Helpful?
Thank Marantua
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. consider us on your next stay in the island. Hotel Plaza de Armas surely has the best staff, service and location :) More 

Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff here are great! The location is also great for staying in Old San Juan. Our room was too far away from the modem to receive wifi. Our TV did not work, but it was a satellite dish so what do you expect? They definitely need an upgrade of their facility, but for staying a night or two in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janie M
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

thank you for reviewing our property, wifi is only guaranteed in common areas of the hotel and all tvs work, if you would have pointed it out to any of our front desk employees we would have been glad to help you with it. Thank you once again for your review. More 

Indianapolis,IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed in Old San Juan before but in another hotel. This time we opted for Plaza De Armas and almost immediately regretted it. I will say the staff were quite nice and helpful but that doesn't make up for a hotel in serious need of an overhaul. You almost feel like you're pulling up to one of the many... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank No_to_barkers
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

We are sorry about your experience. As for the air quality in the room you would have pointed it out to out staff and at least had given us the opportunity to correct it. Surely it was that room in particular because we rarely get allergy complaints. But thank you once again for reviewing out property More 

Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night (04-Nov-16); had read the reviews; didn't "over-expect". Front desk people very nice; and accommodating. So, when something doesn't work; gently but firmly request that it be "made right". Biggest tip: request a room with thermostat-controlled A/C. It's a hassle to either boil or freeze. Next tip: make sure you test that the hot water works before accepting... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. We are happy you were satisfied with your stay with us and hope you will stay with us on you next visit to the island :)... we will keep your requests duly noted. More 

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This place was really nice, soft beds, clean rooms, air conditioner worked great, but one huge problem- the maids steal. We had money stolen from us at this place, and the management did nothing about it. We left one morning to go out and walk around, went to buy something, and my husband realized he left the money in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank molly h
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for your interest in our hotel, however the manor in which you describe the incident is not the way it occured. You claim a $100 dollar bill was stolen from your room and we gave you the option to make an official claim with the Police Department which you declined. We are sorry of your perception of the... More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Stayed in this hotel during Christmas time 2015. The hotel is a little old hotel in the middle of Old San Juan across the government offices. Can be a better hotel once be cleaned better and some updated to be done in the rooms. The prices are competitive for the time of hotel it is today and can do better... More 

Helpful?
Thank condesa69
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

thank you for reviewing your stay with us, consider us in the future on your next stay in the old city in the island :) More 

Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Great location, no need of a car. Room and bathroom was clean. A/C worked great. Some rooms have a balcony were you can see around. Elevator is slow but in excellent condition. Employees are truly great. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank MECruzGon
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Be sure to consider us on your next stay in Old San Juan! :) More 

508 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
NQ1 Room (38)
Viewed
NT1 Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
SNK1 Room (52)
Viewed
SNK2 Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#33 of 46 in San Juan
884 reviews
0.3 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
690 reviews
0.4 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#40 of 46 in San Juan
243 reviews
0.4 km away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
468 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $128 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go with ground floor so you do not have to use the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles CX239238, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a first floor room, if available, so you don't need to take the elevator and you will get wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles janiem871, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request room with thermostat-controlled air-conditioner”
 of 5 bubbles RobertP625, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in lower rooms as have to take stairs to your room. The elevator sometimes do not work.”
 of 5 bubbles condesa69, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“it can't really get more Quiet than it was lol”
 of 5 bubbles TheGlobalGrassHopper, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay