We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

930 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 823: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you want high-class this isn't your place. However, the staff was absolutely amazing and made our stay very accommodating. It was clean, the bed was decent and for the price it was amazing. Right in the heart of everything and very easy to get around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taylor G
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, consider us in the future on your next stay in Old San Juan :)

christchurch
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 night at the Hotel Plaza De Armas at the very end of December. It was very disappointing. I had read some poor reviews of the windowless rooms, so I booked a king bed room with plaza view, as the location was exactly what we wanted. This is a copy of my confirmation: Room Type: Suite King Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roaming_kiwi58
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

thank you for your review, any and all feedback are appreciated. I apologize for the crazy check in, we were short one crucial housekeeping staff member and things were not running as smoothly as usual. By no means is that our regular check in procedure. Iron, ironing board, hairdryer and ice are available upon request. As for the noise of...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan. It is not anything fancy, but it is perfect for being in Old San Juan for a few days. It is affordable, cute, and central to everything: The cruise ports, shopping, supermarkets, and great restaurants. Specifically, Barrachina (where they invented the first pina coloda and even hold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole O
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, its always great to hear from satisfied guests :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice little hotel right in the middle of Old San Juan. The hotel was clean and the room was good. Can't beat the location right next to the department of state and plaza de armas. Loved the 1921 elevator

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julio M
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, its always nice to hear from happy guests. Consider us in the future on your next stay in Old San Juan.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and spacious, and even had a little balcony overlooking the Plaza, which had live music a time or two, and always things and people to watch. The best thing about this hotel was its location, in the heart of Old San Juan. The wifi was a bit spotty in the hotel, best in reception area. The attached...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara M
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, its always great to hear from satisfied guests. Consider us in the future on your next stay in old San Juan :)

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed for one night but am sorry to say that we didn’t enjoy it. It took over an hour to check in and yet there were only about four people /families in front of us! What was especially annoying was that when we reached the front of the queue the lady seemed exasperated with us before we opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyCruiseFan
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, especially pointing out our housekeeping deficiencies which we do take very seriously as it is our priority. As for the check in process, I do apologize for the "hectic" aspect of it and as you well mentioned we were down one crucial staff member, our housekeeping supervisor, with...

Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't comprehend how such a a poverty can be classified as an hotel. It's not even at level of a hostel. Dirty hallways , disgusting , the streets sidewalks are cleaner. Old airco units which makes noise like a generator . You ask for ice and the hotel's staff give you the look as he need to get it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alon C
Tatiana A, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am greatly sorry you were disappointed, as it is our goal that every guests feels welcome and pleased. However, the hallways you mention (like the one in the picture) to be dirty are actually not dirty just old and unpolished (maintenance sweep it daily), we are currently treating them so they...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 12 December 2016

If you want to explore the Old San Juan and need a simple acomondation in a center location that's your choice. Stayed in a single room and just sleep there really, but I had a clean room and fresh towels every day and bed was pretty comfortable. The elevator is quite claustrophobic and slow so use the stairs for free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MargaritaTheGypsy
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

thank you for reviewing your stay with us and even better that you were not put off by the alternative to our historical elevator :)

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Well we stayed here for one night. The place is so hot there is no central air in the lobby. The humidity is crazy enough in Puerto Rico. The beds were super hard and this place is just out dated. I am not a fan and will not be going back. It's very old and needs plenty of work.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Santacruztrainer
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are constantly updating our facilities to better our guests experience, none the less I must mention we in fact have central a/c in our lobby. Sorry to hear you will not be coming back to our property.

Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I had communicated in advance with staff to confirm I was arriving late, they were great to talk to on the phone. When I arrived I was welcomed and checked in quickly, but t went down hill from there. Room was old and need of renovation. Used the toilet then found there was no soap in the bathroom. had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CX239238
Tatiana A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review

We are greatly sorry about the housekeeping situations during your stay. Room ameneties are detailed in all sites. As for the mosquito situation we take this issue very seriously, we have no comments towards this on record thank you for bringing this to our attention we value our guests opinion.

513 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
NQ1 Room (38)
Viewed
NT1 Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
SNK1 Room (52)
Viewed
SNK2 Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
893 reviews
0.3 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
716 reviews
0.2 km away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#13 of 46 in San Juan
129 reviews
0.4 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
562 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $132 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the rooms on the 4th floor if you can. Those had balcony with view.”
 of 5 bubbles TaylorG594, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Windowless room are better value. The plaza view rooms have more cons than pros.”
  • Plaza view room
  • Plaza view room looking to balcony
  • Bathroom
  • View to plaza from room balcony
 of 5 bubbles roaming_kiwi58, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go with ground floor so you do not have to use the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles CX239238, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a first floor room, if available, so you don't need to take the elevator and you will get wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles janiem871, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request room with thermostat-controlled air-conditioner”
 of 5 bubbles RobertP625, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay