We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Idle Awhile The Beach

Show Prices
#19 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 363: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outstanding location right in the heart of seven mile beach with great access to all the beach has to offer but at the same time a peaceful little hideaway. Rooms are neat and perfectly functional, lovely big beds with good mattress. Staff are helpful and attentive without being pushy, made some great recommendations for local dining and trips. On site... More 

Helpful?
Thank SparklehorseEngland
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review of your time spent at Idle Awhile Beach. We are appreciative of your comments on our rooms, beach and our staff. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Kerry-Ann More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beyond all expectations, beautiful natural setting , and that's before you get to the beach. Impeccable rooms, clean and fresh, open air rooms fitting for the cool Negril breeze. But the best part about Idle Awhile is the people!! Attentive to details, and above and beyond approach to guests needs. Trust me , travel the world but if in Jamaica... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrice B
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Patrice, We appreciate you sharing your review of your time spent with Idle Awhile with the Trip Advisor family. Thank you for your recommendation and for your comments made on our rooms and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you home on your next trip to Idle Awhile. One Love from the Idle Awhile Family. Kerry-Ann More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I with our son and his fiancee recently spent a short break at Idle Awhile. What a superb choice. We had a suite which was enormous. Bedroom, bathroom, living room, kitchen and terrace. A short walk took us to the bar/restaurant and the beach. A good menu and drinks.

Helpful?
1 Thank archie j
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Archie & Pat, Thanking you for taking your family to stay with us at Idle Awhile. We appreciate your review on our property and for sharing details of our suites. Again I thank you and we look forward welcoming you home on your next visit. Warm regards, Kerry- Ann More 

Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our room, right up front on the 2nd floor. It had a vintage island vibe, with a huge patio, Master BR, Living area that included a daybed type lounger, as well as a full kitchen. It was more space than my husband and I needed, which proved to be a boon on the one rainy afternoon we spent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimble4020
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kimble4020, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your time spent with us at Idle Awhile Beach. We appreciate you telling the Trip Advisor family on the unique features of your accommodation. And also for recommending our property. We look forward to welcoming you home on your next trip. Warm regards, Kerry-Ann More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This small boutique hotel was excellent. The rooms were perfect size with a nice patio for afternoon cocktails. The beach space and was small and but extremely nice, Gorgeous calm water. My only complaint are the other guests. It seemed like they had been going their for years and 'owned the beach chairs'. They always sat in the same spot... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pam D
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pam, We appreciate you sharing your review of your time spent with us at Idle Awhile Beach. You manage to capture the calm relaxing atmosphere of Idle Awhile. We apologize for the experience you encounter with other guest staying at the resort. We are however happy that this did not ruin your stay and look forward to seeing you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I hate to write this review because I want to keep Idle Awhile The Beach a secret. It is just the perfect getaway. We find ourselves pulled back each year for an extended R&R vacation. Don't go there if you want action, activities and noise. Go there for a break from the world, the beach, the ocean and the sunsets.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henry Y
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor family and not keeping it a secret. We are especially thrilled that you shared information on the ambiance of Idle Awhile. We look forward to welcoming you home each year. See you soon... Warm regards, Kerry-Ann More 

Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Idle Awhile on the Beach brings to mind the saying, "Don't judge a book by its cover", this beautiful property has everything you will need for a vacation "off the beaten path". Located on the famous Seven Mile Beach in Negril and tucked away behind lush tropical gardens, you have nature, sand and modern rustic living. Each room has a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maggie196127
Kerry Ann S, Manager at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, We are delighted that you have taken the time to share the details of Idle Awhile Beach unique features that makes this place so special. Its' natural vibes and charm creates the perfect location for a relaxing and laid back vacation. We are looking forward to your return. Warm regards, Kerry-Ann Saffrey More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I absolutely LOVED Idle Awhile. They say, 'welcome home' when you check in and i truly truly felt like i was at home. the rooms were beautiful with pretty porches to hang out on in the morning and at night. The grounds were right by the beach and the beach was so clean!! My husband and I hung out there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima B
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Fatima, We are delighted that you have chosen to write a review of your time spent with us at Idle Awhile. It was absolutely our pleasure welcoming you home. Thank you for emphasizing how at home you felt with us. We appreciate your comment on our beach, grounds and our staff. See you on your next visit to Idle... More 

Northern VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Idle Awhile is on a narrow strip of beachfront-to-road property, so most rooms have no view, but it is just a few minutes to be right smack in the middle of the sandy Negril beach. The rooms are immaculate but concrete and boxy with a covered outdoor patio --- ours had a view of the dense green foliage. (We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelingGrandma66
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Traveling Grandma66, Thank you for your review on your vacation at Idle Awhile. We do apologize that we had to relocate you from Idle Awhile Cliffs which had originally booked. The safety of all our guest means more to us than anything else. It can get pretty bad on the cliff during a hurricane. We do apologize for you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This vacation was better then anything! The staff were very friendly and we made a lot of friends. Our hotel room was elegant and comfortable and had the highest ceiling I've ever seen in a hotel room before. The ceiling was also unique. Instead of being flat, it was tilted upward, like the roof of a country house. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maysaa B
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Coco, We are delighted that this was such a wonderful experience for you. It was our sincere pleasure to have you stay with us at Idle Awhile. Thanks for taking the time out to highlight the interior of our rooms, restaurant, Chill Awhile, and the beautiful beach. We feel excited and looking forward to you and your family returning... More 

749 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (517)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (113)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (156)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (3)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Whitehouse Suite Upper Level (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.8 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 km away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Negril Tree House Resort
5.7 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 84 in Negril
936 reviews
1.2 km away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Price Range: $270 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idle Awhile The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Idle Awhile The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Awhile Hotel Negril
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Idle Awhile The Beach staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Tenafly, New Jersey
West Bend, Wisconsin

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Idle Awhile The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor front room had vaulted ceilings and a view of the ocean through the palms.”
 of 5 bubbles Kimble4020, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms on the Beach side of the property are set back from the road, so road noise is minimum.”
  • One of the lovely suites.
  • Safe haven
  • Cool and breezy Patio
  • Fresh, crisp and comfortable!
  • Comfortable suite life
  • Spacious, elegant bathroom
 of 5 bubbles maggie196127, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want an ocean-view, ask for it. Most do not have views”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingGrandma66, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The villas are truly amazing! If you're staying for a while, stay there!”
 of 5 bubbles 617rhiannac, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend an upper level or ocean view room. Only reason is for this recommendation is for the privacy. .”
 of 5 bubbles eddineg2016, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay