We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Occidental Caribe

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Occidental Caribe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Occidental Caribe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,426: English reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel was everything I could ask for, the people and staff were amazing and helpful. There was 10 in total that came on this family vacation and it was incredible. The beach was amazing and the atmosphere was awesome. I would stay here again without hestitation as I know any of the company I went with would as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheilafaubert
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Sheila, Warm Greetings and thanks for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you with us, Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope you will decide...

Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My family (in-laws included) and I stayed at this resort in 2006 when it was still Breezes. This was my families first experience with an all-inclusive resort. Since this time I have travelled to Cuba and Mexicoa and stayed at 4-4.5 star resorts every time. My In-laws have been down South 10 times since then and still this resort is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vinyljunkie69
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours, ad especially coming from our valued repeat guests, delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. Please allow...

Trincity, null, Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Don't know where to begin ...got in at the hotel on 29 July at midnight ...there were two guys at the reception area trying to check in everyone which was taking forever because they seemed sooo disorganized ...no welcome drink or any kind of warm reception ...not much of their staff speak English either ...felt like we had to beg...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cheryl B
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again...

Chambly, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Check in was so slow. Room not ready, no assiunless extremely patient. I was wondering who was on vacation, us or the staff. The food was good and very plentiful. Coffee was hard to come by at times. Simon and Christian, waiters at the buffet restaurant were a pleasure. Otherwise, we often wondered if it was because we were not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bergevin
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback. We have read thoroughly your comments because they are very important for us as a responsible and professional hotel chain. On behalf of all our team, we would to extend our most sincere...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 August 2013

"My sister and our families just got back from our first visit to Punta Cana and we have never been so happy to be home after a vacation, if that's what we're going to call this. We were picked up at the airport by a shuttle, along with other people all going to different resorts. Ours was the last on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AustinMoore
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Austin, Thank you to take your time to write and share your review in Tripadvisor. Checking your words we can appreciate you didn’t have a pleasant stay in Barcelo Punta Cana and we couldn´t fill your expectation about our property. We genuinely regret that you felt disturbed by the presence of the local groups. Please be informed that we...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My experience at this resort was horrible! The amount of problems we faced at this resort are countless. We arrived at the resort at 9pm and did not check in until 11pm. The wait time is ridiculous, the staff are very disorganized. In addition to the wait time, we did not receive the rooms that we requested AND because we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BSR L
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all thank you for having chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve...

New Boston, Texas
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I just returned from Barcelo DR yesterday and must say I had a great time. Before my family and I left, we were a bit concerned about this resort due to some recent reviews. The negative reviews had me afraid to even follow through with my plans--negative comments about check-in, rooms, staff, cleanliness, etc. Please do not believe all that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank melfar0613
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud...

Haledon, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our group of 52 people not counting kids went to the "Resort" for my sister's wedding. What a horrible place to have a destination wedding. it was nothing like we all expected.The rooms were dirty, no working A/C. toilet did not work properly, leaky ceiling in bathroom. I had also someone come in my room at 8 am and when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank celso c
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Celso, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor. We are sad to read that we couldn’t fill your expectations regarding our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service, in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of all our guests. We take all guest feedback very seriously; therefore we appreciate all...

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were at this hotel from July 7th to 14th. We were a group of 19, 17 adults and 2 children. We had to wait almost 7 hours to get our rooms. My husband and I are handicap and we were given a room in the third floor, a double bed which I refused and the elevators weren't working so...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dramos125
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Barcelo Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. At Barcelo Punta Cana we work continuously every day to improve our facilities, being your comments very important to increase the hotel value. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We've been back from the D.R for about one week now. we spent 6 nights at this resort, and while it wasn't great it wasn't all bad either. First of all we checked in 3 hrs late, due to flight delay, and our room still wasn't ready. Further more, they had no clue WHEN it would be ready. By this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kay C
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Kay, First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Barcelo Punta Cana. We are happy to see that there are elements of resort that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service...

8,222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7959)
Viewed
Dining (499)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1886)
Viewed
Room/Suite (685)
Viewed
View from Room (372)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (157)
Viewed
Bathroom (169)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1097)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (41)
Viewed
6:29
Videos (13)
Viewed
Other (3040)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Adult Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (9)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Deluxe (35)
Viewed
Jacuzzis (PRE-RENOVATION) (4)
Viewed
Quiet Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (9)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Suite (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
30.6 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
910 reviews
5.7 km away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#19 of 25 in Bavaro
536 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
1.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
5.9 km away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range: $159 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo
Hotel Style:
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Caribe staff and other travellers.
488 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (488)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Caribe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is not the place for you.”
 of 5 bubbles VanessaB931, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Building 2 – facing the water/pool (2 to 3 floor)”
 of 5 bubbles johnbE7524OB, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the renovated section.”
 of 5 bubbles stevesP7433CB, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a suite, as it will be a little quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 36edward, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother buying an "oceanfront" room because I had an incredible view of the main pool and beach from the standard suite.”
 of 5 bubbles genor2015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5