We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Bachata
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,249: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel seems scruffy and in need of redecoration. There are too many loungers around the pool in a relatively small area, some are located where your view of the pool is obscured by a hedge screen. Bar staff in stage bar only seem to serve those who tip them and have an arrogance that is distasteful. Other bars were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CJMNLJ
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts once again for your vacation. We are very disappointed to find that this time your experience did not live up to what you usually expect from us. As a global brand, we strive to maintain consistent levels of quality in our hotels throughout the world. We were very surprised to...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to the Riu Bachata after staying at the one in Punta Cana and I thought it was very average in comparison. The scenery is beautiful, but not as striking. The hotel itself doesn't reach the star level of the other one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrys R
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Gloucester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in was ok, but took ages for the luggage to arrive to our room, so we hit the bar. We had travelled with my parents (my mum has difficulty in walking), requested to be close to all amenities. We were not next door either.... One day we had to wade through water to get my parents some food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tabntrace
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel once again for your holiday and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We regret to read this time your stay did not live up to your expectations. Regarding the food and our premises in general, we can assure you that the health and safety of our guests is...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got back yesterday after 2 weeks here only had 4 or 5 days of sunshine 😢😢. I have stayed in over 10 rius including the bambu in punta Cana as well as Jamaica Cape Verde, so pretty much knew what to expect from a riu hotel. Food was good in main restaurant wasn't too keen on speciality restaurants there isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leanne A
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel . Brilliant , outstanding and great quality . Superb value for money . Clean , so clean, rooms kept nice and cleaned daily . The staff are so nice and kind, attentive . Well worth tipping these lovely hard working people . One person stood out for me Salami - entertainment staff. He...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kellianne77
Shawano, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

So overall, we were happy with our experience. A few things: There's a lot of smoking. We've encountered that before at resorts, but this seemed to be the most at places we've stayed at. The fact that we had so much rain may have contributed...you're still able to get away from it, but you may find your breakfast / pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carey G
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your trip to Punta Cana. We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary. We regret that during your stay the weather was not as nice as you expected. First of all we would like to apologise...

BLYTH
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok so I'll let you know how I personally found my holiday returned this morning. I have to start by saying we had all in about 3 days of sunshine in the 2 weeks obviously not the hotels fault in any way but crikey 3 days , the rain sometimes was in biblical proportions CHECK IN hassle free , bags...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alisha22002
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall vacation. Since gastronomy has always been very important for our hotel chain we are glad that you were satisfied with the food offered at our main buffet. But we would like to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We got back last night, we had a rainy week but had fun anyhow. I wouldn't call it a 5 star but a decent 4star and a good deal for your money. If I had any real complaint it would be that I felt the alcohol was weak. For the most part everything was OK, food, entertainment, rooms and beach....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Riu bachata not very happy while there,sent email in advanced to ask for central area as disabled, also to book a'lacart meal for our( ruby ann) also told them on arriving still no joy.said mini bar re-fill every other day,done only once in week,flies everywhere,some people said they saw rats near the kitchen,smart t/v in room didn't work,ran out of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jackiedee40
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Bachata, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. As a service minded hotel chain, it is disappointing to hear that you encountered inconveniences in our property as mentioned in your review and that it caused your holiday to be less enjoyable. We are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

So we were apoplectic about weather concerns before we left for Puerto Plata and tried every which way to wiggle out of our non-refundable one-week vacation, but we actually had a pretty good time. The weather was awful when we arrived on Thursday November 17. That night the front entrance was flooded and you had to take off socks and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Noisynewyorker

4,902 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4333)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (974)
Viewed
Room/Suite (289)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (729)
Viewed
Dining (191)
Viewed
View from Room (173)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (31)
Viewed
9:48
Videos (9)
Viewed
Other (1890)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (554)
Viewed
Amenities (200)
Viewed
American Standard Room (75)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Children's Pool (3)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Pool 2 (25)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Junior Suite (91)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
14.9 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 44 in Puerto Plata
554 reviews
0.2 km away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#12 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4,918 reviews
15.3 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 44 in Puerto Plata
6,304 reviews
15.3 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4,977 reviews
13.3 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 44 in Puerto Plata
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Inside the Riu Resort, along with ClubHotels Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo * Main building plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * Surrounded by 50,000 m2 of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 25 m / 81 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bachata

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: $157 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bachata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bachata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Bachata Puerto Plata
Riu Bachata Dominican Republic
Riu Puerto Plata
Bachata Riu
Club Hotel Riu Bachata
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ClubHotel Riu Bachata staff and other travellers.
713 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (713)

Questions? Get answers from ClubHotel Riu Bachata staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room near to the pool, other rooms are a long walk to pool, restaurant and entertainment area.”
 of 5 bubbles MarknBecky, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 100-block building is far from the lobby, but right at the ocean & worth the walk!”
 of 5 bubbles Noisynewyorker, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 119 offers limited sea view at no extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles Scalliwags, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“see or harbour views”
 of 5 bubbles karonp69, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor as when it rains some of the ground floor entrances have a tendency to flood”
 of 5 bubbles lisaj762, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay