We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,007 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,114: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My husband and I have been to quite a few Riu properties and this was not disappointing! I was worried when reading reviews but we had a fabulous time. I could nitpick the resort to death, however it is in a poorer country and it was actually better than I had expected. Our room was in the Riu Garden which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MRSBOHEMIER
Tisdale, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well this is our story of our trip . It started out right after we bought our tickets. The itinerary then showed that we would have to pay a fee to get into the Dominican and another fee when we left. I don’t remember seeing anything about this on your website! Imagine our surprise also when it said that we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tickedoff2017
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well just got back from 2 weeks in this hotel it was my 2nd visit and i wasnt too dissapointed apart from a week of rain but that didnt bother us too much. 1..the dreamliner is an amazing plane would highly recommend it felt like it was a much shorter flight i will be using again asap. 2..the check in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank samjane67
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To ALL people from UK Whatever hotel you're going your review are always NEGATIVE I looked at reviews every single nights and you are the only one complaining constantly. Please refrain to your reviews and STAY HOME instead of distributing every hotels... It's getting old and always seem the same person. Get a life

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Sue W
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

SAFE: was included in the cost (usually have to pay). ROOMS: clean and made up every day. TV was old and didn't work very well, very few English channels. Fridge was stocked with water, beer and soft drinks. Room had its own "bar" with three bottles of liquor. Bathroom was clean and had enough towels. No hair dryer. Downside: one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry C
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Merengue, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content. We are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not turn around...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I completely question the rating system. By no way is this a 4 star. Riu Merenge has 3 properties in a row. The Village, the garden and Bachata. Well the village in a 1. We went as a large family 10 and I was lucky enough to somehow get the Garden. My other family stayed at Riu Merenge Village. Wow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry K
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Merengue, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Issues to note! this is no joke! Believe me when I say We're not picky! All We want is clean, functional and edible food. 1- mold in our room! we woke up the first morning with sore throats! (we asked to change rooms... we were turned away! 2- no hot water for 3 days! Again requested another room ... turned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel S
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Merengue, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. As a service minded hotel chain, it is disappointing to hear that you encountered inconveniences in our property as mentioned in your review and that it caused your holiday to be less enjoyable. We would like to clarify that room requests are...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I think Thomson has over-rated this hotel at 4 T. It definitely wasn't our kind of place but I'll try to give a balanced and fair review. We went to dive for the whole two weeks and we had torrential rain to begin with so diving wasn't an option. This meant we spent more time in the hotel than we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Merengue, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There were 6 adults and 3 kids on our family vacation. 40 minutes drive from the airport.We had 6 sunny days out of 7. This is our 3rd stay here. '04, '09 and '17 It is older style hotel-bungalows. Well maintained and clean. We participated in daily activities. Kids had daily activities too so they enjoyed. Pools were clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kyriacou2000
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I always use Trip Advisor when planning my holidays and noted there were mixed reviews on this hotel. I was a little concerned at some of the reviews but the holiday was booked so no choice. This was supposedly a Four **** Resort and RIU have a good reputation. Perhaps a *** Star rating and price would be more appropriate....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Denise M
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at ClubHotel Riu Merengue, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content. We are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not turn around...

5,970 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5440)
Viewed
Room/Suite (425)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1370)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (758)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (46)
Viewed
View from Room (210)
Viewed
Dining (247)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (2328)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (504)
Viewed
Amenities (173)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (82)
Viewed
Riu Merengue Village Children's Pool (4)
Viewed
Riu Merengue Village Pool (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (102)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
14.7 km away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
665 reviews
0.2 km away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#10 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4,861 reviews
15.2 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#11 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,051 reviews
13.3 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,445 reviews
15.2 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Located in the Riu Resort, near ClubHotels Riu Bachata and Riu Mambo * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 15,000 m2 / 18,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Intl. Airport * 300 m / 990 ft. from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Merengue

Address: Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: $145 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Merengue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1007
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Merengue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Hotel
Club Hotel Riu Merengue
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Riu Merengue Dominican Republic
Riu Merengue Puerto Plata
Rui Merengue
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ClubHotel Riu Merengue staff and other travellers.
337 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (337)

Questions? Get answers from ClubHotel Riu Merengue staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say look at the Bachata side but I saw them fumigate rooms there aswell!”
  • That was just the first one we killed
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bungalow 2 -near pool-lobby area.”
 of 5 bubbles Kyriacou2000, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think you get what you are given, saw several trying and they got short shrift.”
 of 5 bubbles denisemW6877TN, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 107 - a building right next to the lobby and pool. Everything was quiet after 8:30 pm.”
 of 5 bubbles daniellea434, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this place if you care about your vacation!!”
  • in the bathroom
  • Right outside the room
 of 5 bubbles MadanA_13, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay