We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garraway Hotel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Garraway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Garraway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 50: English reviews
Trinidad & Tobago
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Spent nine days at this hotel. The staff offered exceptional service, answered all my queries and assisted in whatever I asked of them. The room was large and very comfortable, ac worked well, room was cleaned every day. Lovely view of the harbour from my room. The hot water was hot, contrary to a review I read below. The hotel...

2Thank Gregory_H_S
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Reviewed 8 May 2015

I stayed in the Garraway for four nights, because the organizers of a workshop put all participants there. I had no influence on this choice. After reading some of the reviews, I contacted the hotel to enquire about the availability of some amenities and services of importance to me. I never got an answer. My first impression of the 4th...

1Thank Lucian_View
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Working in Dominica for quite some time has resulted in many nights spent at the Garraway hotel on the waterfront facing the cruise ship dock. The house was built in 1996 and has been in a dire need for complete overhaul for many years. The food at the hotel restaurant is of average quality and more authentic local restaurants can...

Thank Lifrarpylsa
Reviewed 16 March 2015

I travel extensively throughout the Caribbean, and this hotel has to be one of the worst I have stayed at in 20 years. No hot water, when I complained they said "that's as hot as it gets". The fish i ordered for dinner Dolphin, was anything but, completely un eatable. The carpet seemed dirty and had a smell to it....

Thank Al S
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2015

I stayed here for several weeks in 2012. The hotel provides good basic accommodations. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The bar in the hotel has some awesome karaoke nights (amazingly talented local people!). Our room faced one of the main streets and things would get quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights though. Had access to the roof...

Thank Andrea O
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2015

I walked a lot around Dominica and then sat down in the lobby of this hotel having asked for brochures from the receptionist as I was taken with Dominica and was looking for a potential the future holiday place. At the same time I was given the wifi password and was looking at my emails when all of a sudden...

1Thank chip273
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Reviewed 31 December 2014

My husband and I and daughter along with other family members stayed at the Garraway for the Christmas week. It was a decent stay. One of the best aspect of the hotel is the location - right on the Bay front and I believe all the rooms face the front of the hotel so there is a water view and...

1Thank Valerie G
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

It is very unfortunate that this gentleman refused to comply with hotel policy which he insisted on flouting by refusing to patronise the bar in return for the free use of hotel wifi. It is surprisingly strange that after walking around he chose to sit in the hotel lobby and only then found it to be 'seedy.' His account of...

Christiansted, St. Croix
Reviewed 23 November 2014

One night was all I needed. This hotel is located directly across from Fort Young which is far superior for just a little more money. The bed sheets in the room were worn and looked dirty. The water pressure was low and the “In Room Wi-Fi” didn’t work. When I complained that the Wi-Fi wasn’t working (the wireless router was...

2Thank Erik H
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are...

San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewed 23 August 2014

There were not many hotels to choose... Dominica is a small country with only 72,000 people, they have 9 volcanos (3 of them active) and everything is surrounded by mountains. For nature lovers is the right place. In my opinion, the Fort Young Hotel is the number one there, but it was fully booked so I got Garraway, which was...

2Thank MariaSalaverria
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On our trip to Dominica we had yo stay in a hotel for one night. The Garraway had vacancy, it was a great choice. The staff was very receptive, warm and friendly. We were checked in quickly, escorted to our room, which was very spacious. The hotel is located right on the water front, which is not a reflection of...

2Thank Anthony J
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations. We hope that we can again provide you with the excellent service of which we are very proud when you next come to the island. I will certainly convey your compliments and comments to our Staff who continually work hard to meet the standards of excellence we set ourselves....

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (30)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (11)
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
826 reviews
1.7 km away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.8 km away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
483 reviews
1.9 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
15.8 km away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garraway Hotel is perfectly suited for the business and leisure visitor who wish to have easy access to the city of Roseau and its environs. It is strategically located on the historic Bay Front named after the Caribbean's first female Prime Minister,the late Dame Mary Eugenia Charles. Comprising 31 rooms with 20 single/double standard rooms and 11 suites (all air conditioned plus having standing fans), it provides comfortable accommodation for singles, doubles and families who wish interconnecting rooms. We have added wifi services to our free internet service. Our local cuisine caters for a variety of food choices for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. We offer karaoke entertainment every Friday evening and can arrange tours to the many natural sites and attractions which have made Dominica well known as the Nature Island of the Caribbean. Please come stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garraway Hotel

Address: Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: $110 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garraway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Garraway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garraway Hotel Roseau
Garraway Hotel Dominica/Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garraway Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Reading, Pennsylvania
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Garraway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view from my room overlooked the Bay and was a wonderful spot to view sunsets.”
brownecameron, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 302 good two double beds”
69BigAL, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Look for one I on the west . may see a sunset”
darroux33, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If they still have karaoke on Friday night it is not a good idea to stay on the second floor, above the bar.”
Lifrarpylsa, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel”
AlS098, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates