We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Peninsula Varadero

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Peninsula Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,097: English reviews
Start your review of Melia Peninsula Varadero
 Click to rate
Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family visited the Melia Peninsula over New Years (beginning of 2017). There is a list of things that went terribly wrong on our trip. I list at the end of this review. Since returning from home, I have been trying to get in contact with the General Manager of this resort. I went through my travel agent and Air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy K
MPV_General_Manager, General Manager at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Amy K, We so much regret your experience at our resort had lead you to write this review. It shows we have not been able to fully meet your expectations and we heartily apologize for it. It is a fact that there are still several issues in which we need to keep on working for all our guests to...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed there about 14 yrs ago. Grounds are about the same and the buildings are better than other resorts. Only thing the meal hours are a bit late for kids as are the shows. But he enjoyed

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hartmut R
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Hartmut: Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero. I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We have a staff that work in order to satisfy and to fulfill the expectations...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very poorly maintained rooms. Dirty shower, smelled of drains, electric sockets hanging off the wall, random holes in the walls, poor food hygiene in the buffet, uneven, unsafe walkways. Some of the staff were friendly but reception and customer service staff really unfriendly. A lot of work was being done during our stay but the last thing you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ellie425
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear ellie425: Greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were discussed with the...

Penetanguishene, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a mixed review .This is our 6th trip to Cuba and the worst ever.My wife and I booked an Elegance room thru Air Transat at the Melia Peninsula Varadero. We looked at a few resorts in Varadero that were 4.5 star and above and we liked what we saw on the Air Transat web site for this resort.We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bluejay28
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear bluejay28: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. We are deeply sorry you have had those inconveniences at Meliá Península Varadero.You should know that comments like yours...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had reservations for 5 rooms ,they did put us aside trying to send us to another hotel of lower standard.After 2 or 3 hours ,and buses loaded with tourist,I got 5 US Passports,magically everthing change.We were all Cubans

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo S
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer.You should know that we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a better stay with...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is an older one so the grounds are beautiful with mature trees, flowers, etc. There are 4 à la carte restaurants but you are only allowed 2 unless you are Elegance Club which allows you one more à la carte and one sit down supper for the Elegance Club. We enjoyed the Cuban, the Italian and especially the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Andrea: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. You should know that comments like yours are not common about our hotel and we are deeply sorry to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel, needs some work to keep visitors safe. The wooden bridges in use ( some were closed off) are in need of repair. They are missing parts of boards, some boards raised and therefore uneven, wood split and weak in spots. Buffet ok but could use some variety. Went to two a la Cartes, Cuban and Japanese these were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Connie H: Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero! It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your personal experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed an amazing holidays with the family of Meliá Península. Your remarks were discussed with the heads of the envolved Department to...

Edmonton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bed is on the harder side, pillows are not standard sized. If you need to work while on vacation WiFi was non-existent for two days and was very difficult to get logged on in the lobby. Food wise, buffet was okay, you can always find something to eat but fruit is limited to the same every day. Omelet station was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank knord04
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear knord04: Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero. I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We are deeply sorry that during your stay you had problems, but we know that...

Powell River, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The grounds were beautiful, as was the beach. The staff are friendly, considering some of the absolutely rude guests. Rooms booked were not what we got. Many requests from our group to get what was asked for( over a year ago) Food was cold in the buffet, but that was partially improved after a discussion with inspectors. Buildings in poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sid& Lorrai... A
director_general_mpv, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Sid& Lorrai... A: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. You should know that comments like yours are not common about our hotel and we are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were discussed with the heads of each Department involved to guarantee that our guest’s...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll keep it simple... PROS: - Beach Beach Beach...plenty of shaded trees and the sand and water is amazing...no rocks, very clean, no sea weeds...one of the best I've seen in Cuba. - Friendly and very nice staff. Thanks Andy (beach bar)...you were awesome :-) - Food was good, even the buffet, lots of variety. Best 'a la carte' restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan E
director_general_mpv, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Dan: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. You should know that comments like yours are not common about our hotel and we are deeply sorry to...

4,953 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4924)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1089)
Viewed
Room/Suite (441)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (927)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Bathroom (127)
Viewed
Dining (450)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (153)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (29)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1570)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
7.7 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,762 reviews
8.3 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,186 reviews
3.9 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#12 of 63 in Varadero
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
7.0 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
5,848 reviews
0.7 km away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $193 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#27 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and other travellers.
390 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (390)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms not bad ours was always clean”
HartmutR218, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't rely on photographs in brochure or on website.”
ellie425, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book at a different resort”
bluejay28, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take your chances”
sidamplorrainea, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very important to upgrade which only costs on average an extra $30. each person.”
henriv55, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5