We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Plaza

ElvolineUSD 113*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 113*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 504: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Plaza
 Click to rate
Rönnäng, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Avoid this place to any price. Just expensive and old. We can't close our door at the room and the breakfast was a joke. The bar was not able to more then 3 of the cocktails in their big menu. And also them was a joke. Only reason we stayed here for two night was because the location and this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Håkan A
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry that you took this opinion of the hotel because we worked to provide a service with the quality required. We appreciate your communication to improve our service.

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was disappointed with this hotel. Having travelled to Cuba extensively I find the Cubans friendly, engaging and very helpful. Not at this hotel. No customer service at all. Very slow or no service in the lobby bar and in the restaurant upstairs the staff were busy checking their phones as wifi was accessible. It is too bad because the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank suescanning
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear customer, we very much regret your opinion but we thank you because the hotel estaff works to give a service of the required quality and to be able to satisfy the expectations of the client.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I appreciate that things are tough in Cuba and that the hotel is old but when you are charged $200 per night you expect a bit more than glad wrap for your bathroom window; tiles so cracked they cut your feet; and electric sockets hanging off the wall exposing dangerous wires. On top of this the staff were sour and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RCDaly
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear customer, we very much regret your opinion but we thank you because the hotel estaff works to give a service of the required quality and to be able to satisfy the expectations of the client.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is good however everything else is dreadful. The staff at reception are not helpful and the woman that manages wifi cards and international calls is the most miserable and rude person we have ever met. The drinks and food were also poor quality, do not stay!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cannonball2011
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very sorry that your stay at the hotel has not been what you expected, but we thank you for your communication because the working group of the Plaza Hotel puts all their efforts in providing a service with the required quality

Long Beach, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Plaza Hotel (built in 1908) is old but if you want a trip back in time come here - the rooms are adequate but the people are wonderful - sitting at the bar with the piano player playing "a kiss is but a kiss" I thought Humphrey Bogart would be coming thru the doors any moment. The location in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank squinn46
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review we are very happy that you have felt good in our hotel, we hope you can return soon.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We paid a lot of money to stay in the Plaza Hotel in the heart of Old Havana, reputedly a beautiful colonial building servicing as a "luxury hotel". The building probably was beautiful in the 1950's but little has been maintained since then. Our party booked 3 rooms which were in disgraceful condition. Lights didn't work, no hot water, dribbling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DericPW
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear customer, we are very sorry about your opinion about the hotel and its services, we appreciate your communication, as the staff of workers in general strive to provide a service with the required quality.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hotel that was no doubt lovely in its heyday. The vaulted ceilings of the lobby, the tiled floors, stained glass skylights and classic facade all show promise and hark back to a bygone age... Now, however.... The rooms are small, dingy, with antique aircons, doors that won't open, windows that won't close... Some of these things are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony M
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear customer we are sorry that your stay at the hotel has not been completely satisfactory but we thank you for your communication because the hotel workers strive to provide a quality service

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Smelly, old, dirty, what else... just terrible! Needs renovation in every part, From lobby, to restaurant to rooms. The rooms are smelly, dirty, falling into pieces.... dirty sheets.... broken toilet ..: Just avoid it. I would be more comfortable in a tent in the middle of a garden that in such room... And the price you pay for such a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 846Italiangirl2007
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear customer, we thank you for your communication since the hotel workers work at all times to provide the service with the quality that our customers deserve. We were very sorry that the stay at our hotel was not up to your expectations

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was probably good in its day but it is now very tired and run down. Hotel rates in the old town of Havana are high but even so the money being charged here is very poor value. And the service is very patchy. Stay somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are very sorry that your stay at the hotel has not been good for you, but we thank you for your opinion, because the staff work hard to provide quality service

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Sure it's a little worn down, but that's what Cuba's all about. If you just want to stay in a resort without having to leave, and do nothing, this hotel is not for you. But if you want to experience Cuba, this is the place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke M
Relaciones Publ... H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review

We appreciate your opinion, the hotel staff work at all times to provide the service with the required quality.

1,195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (993)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (314)
Viewed
Room/Suite (187)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (285)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (199)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Double Room (19)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
1,550 reviews
8.8 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 79 in Havana
1,581 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#44 of 79 in Havana
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#23 of 79 in Havana
715 reviews
2.5 km away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 79 in Havana
4,203 reviews
8.9 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Ingnacio Agramonte 267 | Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Price Range: $145 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Havana
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Plaza staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Under no circumstances should you stay in any of the rooms at this hotel unless you are writing a thesis on bad customer service.”
DericPW, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Contact bellman ahead of time and promise $100”
hholman2016, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“street side is very loud and windows do not always close entirely”
vssc1, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“avoid this hotel no rooms we saw were acceptable”
StaffordshireHelen, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I can only suggest that if they weather is hot you might want to verify the a/c actually works before accepting a room.”
Barb527, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Elvoline
USD 113* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates