We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

5.7 km from St. John's centre
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,068: English reviews
Start your review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are 7 days into our 10 day stay at Hawksbill. This is my partners 29th visit and once again we are more than happy with our stay. There have been major improvements since last year, especially with the rooms, the restaurants and the grounds in general. The beaches as always are a pleasure and the service is exceptional. This...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rileymark6
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first trip to Antigua and my husbands first to the Caribbean. We were not disappointed.. We wanted a relaxing holiday in the sun and that is exactly what we got. The hotel is noted as a 3* and I agree with some previous reviews that there are areas that need improvement and updating, which in some areas...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lindsey B
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had never been to the Caribbean before and really only wanted sun, sea and sand in our dreadful February. We got that! This is a bit of a strange one to review. A game of two halves. The good half first. The location is simply stunning. One 'old timer' said 'The best location in the Caribbean' which I am...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kinglynne
Sandhurst, Berks.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated on without doubt one of the best locations on Antigua. It is simply stunning - which is why we go back. The Club Rooms on Royal Palm Beach have had a bathroom refurbishment - (but why you would install a bath for holidaymakers on an island that suffers with water shortages is beyond me). We love...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trudie D
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resort team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are pleased that you found our unique location and tranquil atmosphere featuring four beaches to be amazing. And our service team with a combination of a few members of the former team, combined with the new work very well together....

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are several classes of room, we booked a superior sea view room in the block because it is close to all the amenities but later changed to a sea view bungalow so this review details both rooms. Superior Sea View Room What a shock when we arrived; the outside of the block looked like a slum and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 4-go-travelling
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team acknowledges your feedback on trip advisor. First of all, we sincerely apologize for the mistake of taking you to a room which was not ready for use. This particular room block is under repairs and we will investigate further to ensure no reoccurrence of this unfortunate mishap. We are pleased that the second room...

Cornwall, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a 2 week holiday. Lovely quiet location, with nice low rise accommodations. We had a garden view room (90) with a good view of the sea. We liked it didn't have air conditioning as you could hear the sea and wildlife at night, the ceiling fan was sufficient. Food was adequate, we didn't pay 5 star prices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank COXANDBUTLER
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the tranquil atmosphere, the comfy bungalow type accommodations, the tasty food and the genuinely friendly and efficient service staff. Your concerns in regards to the time keeping and the sun beds are duly noted. Additional...

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is unfortunately marred by an initial bad experience but overall we had a lovely peaceful stay in a magnificent setting with stunning beaches and sparkling blue seas. There are no noisy water sports, no televisions in the rooms and only wifi in the reception area. So you can escape the rest of the world for a time. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhilRF5
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts would like to thank you for sharing your vacation review on trip advisor. Please accept our humble apologies for the rather unfortunate incident whereby the mongoose entered your room. We are pleased however that you have enjoyed your stay with special mention of the friendliness of our service staff and good food. We take note...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from two weeks at hawksbill. Wonderful setting with four great beaches. Very quiet, no thumping music just the sound of the sea. Marvellous staff, all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. John the manager was very efficient and tried his best to make the holiday memorable. There are some teething problems with some of the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheltfemale
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are delighted that your vacation was a memorable one with special mention of our amazing service team, our good food quality and selection, a true Caribbean style bungalow type accommodation with all rooms being just a few yards from the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the weekend at this resort last yr for our 5th wedding anniversary. Overall I must say, we had a wonderful time and my wife really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one of the royal palm suits on the beach, a newly renovated room with a hot tub. In all fairness I must say that I liked the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Percival R
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are very pleased that you were satisfied with our bungalow type accommodation; our food selection and quality; our friendly and efficient service staff. We have noted your concern pertaining to the morning bartender and definitely will address accordingly. All guests...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure if I should write this review because I want, very selfishly, to keep this a little bit of paradise and not a hotel with no soul We arrived on our 5th visit to Hawksbill and were met at reception by a very welcome glass of bubbly and a warm 'welcome back' from the staff. We had a fabulous...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Gillie63
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review

The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor. We are delighted that your stay with us was memorable and thank you for the positive comments. Our staff, the tranquil atmosphere, our bungalow type accommodations only a few feet from the beach and our food compliments Hawksbill. The Resort is...

1,509 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1037)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (198)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (233)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
3:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (296)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (462)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (53)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Honeymoon Cove Room (64)
Viewed
Beachfront Club Room (53)
Viewed
Garden View Bungalow (41)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Sea View Bungalow (49)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
9.0 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
1,771 reviews
7.4 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.9 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
22.8 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,569 reviews
5.7 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Price Range: $258 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawksbill by Rex Resorts staff and other travellers.
82 questions
Ask a question
Lanzarote, Spain
london
6 months ago

See all questions (82)

Questions? Get answers from Hawksbill by Rex Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't expect 5 star and enjoy!”
 of 5 bubbles rileymark6, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the blocks are the largest and huge, but shabby and need updating. The bungalows are small.”
 of 5 bubbles LindseyB862, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't book the Sea-View Rooms for the time being. They are not ready yet.”
 of 5 bubbles trudied2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the Superior Sea View Rooms in the block”
  • Superior sea view room bathroom mirror is taped in with duct tape
  • Superior sea view room black mesh cuts out daylight (flash photo)
  • Superior sea view room broken state of the furniture
  • Superior sea view room newly painted - did they run out of paint?
  • Superior sea view room fithy shower tray (room just been cleaned)
  • Superior sea view room interior woodwork
  • Sea view bungalow bedroom
  • Sea view bungalow bedroom
 of 5 bubbles 4-go-travelling, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“best go fr the beach front rooms with air conditioning”
 of 5 bubbles PhilRF5, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5