We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brewers Lodge

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Brewers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Brewers Lodge
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited early evening for a bar meal. Very clean, well presented and prices were more than fair. Food was good but had to wait 45 minutes. The thing that put me off was the foul language being used in and around the bar. I'm no prude and can swear with the best of them but there is a time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will recommend all customers eat in the restaurant area unless they prefer to sit in the bar by choice.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We had one night stay a lovely welcome on arrival. Staff very pleasant nothing to much trouble. Asked if we needed taxis gave us the last train times. Rooms clean and warm. So overall very good.would definantely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kms169
Catherine B, General Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look froward to welcoming you again in future :)

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Had tickets for Wales v England , and struggled to get hotel in Cardiff .. but found the lodge on booking .com, £70 a night with a basic breakfast , toast, cereal , fruit ,coffee and juices. Was a bit dis jointed as the toaster and coffee machine is by the door of the main entrance and is a pain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinkey S
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, apologies again about the breakdown and if we hadn't have been so full we would have moved you to another room - glad you enjoyed your stay though and we hope to see you again soon (not winning through :) )

Hornsea
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Thought this hotel/pub/restaurant was absolutely lovely. We stayed in Bedroom 1 which was quite small but very clean and really good facilities. All the staff were helpful and very welcoming. Had two bar meals, fish and chips, lamb shank and mash, really tasty and very good value for money. Continental breakfast was excellent value and all fresh products.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in future :)

Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Friday evening , excellent meal, excellent prices - the service was great and one of our party had an allergy.The waitress went out of her way to reassure and check the ingredients to his satisfaction. Much better value,service and ambience than The Bumblebee. Locals give it a try you'll be pleasantly surprised.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chippers
BrewersLodge, Owner at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your evening at the Lodge and hope to see you again soon :)

Bishops Cleeve, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I had two stays during Jan 2017 1st one – in room 6, 9th to 12th Jan 2017 Faulty shower - no heat on 2 x reds setting only on 1 red. Small cubicle even for an average sized person. Mouldy bathroom ceiling. Broken vent in bathroom propped up by bin Ceiling light by wardrobe not working Mattress plastic cover...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
BrewersLodge, Owner at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Work is in progress throughout the building during January which is typically a quieter period and signs are displayed asking guests to bear with us while we try to improve the experience for everyone. It’s not usual for people to visits a bar/restaurant to eat at 5pm in the evening and no accommodation provider would guarantee quiet time in the...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Myself and 10 others had a crimbo meal 5 with l / d i have to say they could not do enough for us the food was fad the staff very helpful made it feel like home would deffo go back, The place is very clean and cosy well worth a visit thank you sooo much x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lew130
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Well, what can I say. Firstly, for people alien to the local community, using the satnav and assuming nothing beyond the cricket club, maybe Brewers Lodge need to advertise themselves more prominently. Having got to reception, earlish evening, we were treated by a lovely lady. Having got upstairs, our room was very cold, looked liked it had been recently decorated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki D
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we take all feedback from our customers very seriously. We have asked the local council if we can add an additional sign to direct customers to the property but they refuse as we already have a brown tourist information sign at the bottom of the hill and insist on the...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Myself and my partner visited brewers lodge on a weekday, we decided to have some lunch, we were very impressed by the prices, most meals are £5, I had the lasagne which was beautiful, my partner had the curry, he ate the lot, we will definitely be visiting again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Diane, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I have passed on your kind comments to our staff. Quality and Value is important to us and its nice to hear that customers appreciate our efforts. We hope to see you soon :)

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I had some concerns regards the room it was cold until the electric heater was put on, I was above the bar area which was noisy until 10.30 pm, but the new owners are working very hard to improve all the facilities and I could not fault my bedding, bathroom and linen which were spotless. Neat array of toiletries and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Torina S
BrewersLodge, Owner at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with and as always will use customer feedback to improve. Thermostatic heating will be added in due course but in the meantime we have put in place measures to ensure rooms are heated prior to guests arrival. Our bar and restaurant is...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwood
8.2 km away
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
7.8 km away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
7.6 km away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
15.0 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
1.9 km away
The Halfway House
The Halfway House
#6 of 6 in Blackwood
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a 16th century farmhouse, this friendly country inn is set in its own grounds, overlooking the small town of Blackwood, near Newport, with the Brecon Beacons within easy reach. Brewers Lodge was once owned by the family of the infamous Captain Henry Morgan. Today, this quaint building is brimming with country charm and its own wonderful unique character, giving you a warm sense of welcome from the moment you arrive. Just a short distance from some of the region's most beautiful woodland, the lodge is nevertheless within easy reach of the cities of Newport, Cardiff and Bristol. There are 15 modern en suite rooms, each with tea/coffee making facilities and satellite TV. Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout. Family run, Brewers Lodge is renowned throughout the local area for its high-quality food, first-class service and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brewers Lodge

Address: Gordon Road, Blackwood NP12 1DS, Wales (Formerly Monnington Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Price Range: $84 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brewers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brewers Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Brewers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good very helpful and pleasant owners and staff.”
kms169, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms over the bar!”
geoffg884, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For couples without kids....don't book”
199nikkid, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not over the bar area”
TorinaS, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
4 of 4
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates