The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Cherry & Pistachio Torte simply amazing. It does come any better than this even at top hotels such as the Ritz and Savoy Hotels,
Traveller (465)
Restaurant
Dining (42)
Sp
Pool & Beach (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
AU$236
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$236
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 3 hotels in Cwmbran
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

See why so many travellers make The Parkway Hotel & Spa their hotel of choice when visiting Cwmbran. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Greenmeadow Community Farm (1.8 mi), located nearby, makes Best Western Newport a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Cwmbran landmark.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and Newport Best Western makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and newspaper. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Cwmbran has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Page's Fish & Chips, Mr Chippy, and Maendy Fish And Chip Shop, which are serving up some great dishes.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Llanyrafon Manor (1.0 mi) and Cwmbran Stadium (0.7 mi), which are some popular Cwmbran attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

At The Parkway Hotel & Spa, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Cwmbran.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Taxi service
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitWales.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Modern

Location

Cwmbran Drive, Cwmbran NP44 3UW Wales
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Cardiff-Wales Airport
34.7 km
See all flights
Bristol Airport
35.1 km
See all flights
1,779Review13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,081
  • 403
  • 162
  • 72
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Erin wrote a review July 2021
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing spa break at the Parkway, 5 stars for everything!
The deal is such great value for money, I really enjoyed my massage and facial, both were very relaxing. The pool is lovely and a welcome break from this intense heat we are experiencing just now!
Our room was lovely, looking out onto the gardens and shepherd's hut, a great view to enjoy our champagne that came in the package
Dinner was lovely, we had the carvery and everything was very tasty. Every member of staff we encountered were so pleasant and helpful, we really were impressed with everyone we came into contact with. Especially the young guy on reception who only started 3 weeks ago and was training (didn't catch your name sorry!).
It was our first night away from our 4 month baby so was a special break for us, we really will remember it for a long time
Extra brownie points to the hotel staff for allowing me to store my expressed breastmilk in one of the fridges to save me chucking it all away! It really was a massive help!

We will definitely be back for another stay and won't hesitate to book the spa break package again after such a lovely experience
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TedSouthWales wrote a review Oct 2020
South Wales65 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We took advantage of the special offer for local residents during local lockdown. The receptionist was polite & professional & very apologetic that our room wasnt ready (I appreciate it takes longer during these challenging times!). Check in & out was seamless.
Room was spotless with views to the garden, bed very comfy.
Part of the offer was a bottle of champagne in the room, this was well chilled & enjoyable.
Evening meal and breakfast were very good, tasty food. The people working in the restaurant were very sweet!
My only observation is that service is somewhat slow in the restaurant. In the evening 2 couples that arrived after us had their order taken before us & I had to ask a young lady of our order could be taken. At breakfast we waited 20 mins for our order to be taken, the waitress had assumed the other waitress had taken our order. This can be easily remedied.
I'd definitely take advantage of this offer again if it continues.
I had a massage during the stay, lovely thetapist, great massage.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kerry Jennings, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear TedSouthWales, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay with us this weekend. I am please to learn that our team of friendly staff were able to make your stay enjoyable and offered the warm Welsh welcome that we are so proud of here at the Parkway. Our champagne break offer has been extremely popular and enjoyed by many during these strange times. It is nice to see so many of our local residents come out to support us and be able to enjoy some downtime. I do apologise if the service seemed slower than usual during your visit. I do believe that this was an isolated occasion due to the amount of last minute business that we were fortunate to attract. We have as a business had to adopt many different ways of working due to the many restrictions, and to ensure the safety of all of our guests and colleagues alike. Please be assured that as a team we are currently constantly changing the processes we follow to ensure that the guests journey is as streamlined and efficient as possible. I do hope that you are able to take advantage of our offering again and experience all the Parkway has to offer. Kind regards Andrew Herron Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sue cole95 wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booking in for a family meal on Thursday 8th Feb..Must say it was a fabulous experience .The hotel has been refurbished and updated since our last visit..everything now looks modern and stylish..It now has the feeling and ambience of a 5* hotel throughout..
The restaurant is well lit and spotless..We were delighted to be placed at a round table ...so much easier to communicate when 6 are out together..4 of us ate from the a la carte menu.and the food was so delicious we had 3 courses each...which is a rarity! 2 of our party preferred items on the bar menu but restaurant staff accommodated this with no issues..My grandson who can be a fussy eater claimed it was the best burger he had ever had and he's sampled many! Full marks to all the bar,kitchen and restaurant staff,the service provided was exceptional..Will certainly be returning soon
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen G wrote a review July 2021
Bushey, United Kingdom34 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 3-night stay at the Parkway Hotel Spa. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised as driving up to the hotel, you drive through an industrial estate but when you reach it, the grounds and appearance of the hotel are very attractive. The grounds are very well maintained and there is a lovely terrace with ample outdoor seating, with plenty of shade. We were hoping for air conditioning given the excessive heat we are currently experiencing but they don't have it however we were advised the rooms all had a fan! The reception area and lounge were stifling hot and felt sorry for the staff working in those conditions but knowing our weather it won't last long. The rooms were of a good size and because our rooms were in the shade for the latter part of the day, thankfully with the fan going all night, it wasn't too hot. The rooms are a reasonable size for 2 people but a little on the dated side. Unusually, no plug by bedside so couldn't charge phone. Bathroom a little on the cosy side and had a shower curtain which is very old fashioned and unhygienic so the hotel loses marks for that (in my opinion). Breakfast was adequate but the person serving on one of the days (older lady) used the same tongs to serve all the items ie sausage, bacon, mushrooms, hash browns so if you are a vegetarian, you would want to watch out for this. The eggs on one of the days had clearly been sitting for some time so the pached eggs were rock hard and the kitchen forgot to cook the veggie sausages asked for. The staff were all lovely and tried their best to get everything right but they all felt very new to the job. I know they had trouble with various members of staff being unable to come in due to being pinged so it was understandable. The hotel had good leisure facilities, pool was very welcome and given 45-minute slots which was adequate but to be honest there was never anyone waiting to use a lane. Had a lovely massage despite the head/face support being broken - it needs replacing! My only real gripe of the stay was we weren't told in advance that the restaurant was only open Thursday to Sunday which meant we had to go out or use the cafe which was a shame as we had seen such lovely comments about the quality of the food. Overall a lovely stay but a couple of things need updating and possibly a little more attention to service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lizzie W wrote a review Sept 2020
Cwmbran, United Kingdom38 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I do hope this was just a bad evening but will think twice about visiting again.

It was day 1 of face masks in Wales, masks worn until we were seated at our table, allowed to remove them whilst seated but need to put them back on when moving around, toilet etc.

No drinks menu and staff don’t know what real ales are on offer.
Orange Juice and Lemonade was offered to me in 2 glasses…..

Starters – food quality was exceptional, no complaints. Starters did arrive before the drinks though.

Mains – we opted for carvery, masks back on to queue.. tell the chef what meat you would like and then the veg gets loaded on your plate… almost too much to be honest with no regard for presentation.
Back at our table, the evening light had faded and our table became very dark so much so we couldn’t actually see what was on the plate!
Nobody came to check the food was ok or if we needed anything more…. Mask back on to hunt for a waitress. I asked for 2 more drinks, a gravy jug and could they turn the lighting up so that we could actually see…. Apparently all the lighting is controlled via an app on the iPad and it doesn’t work so nothing they could do! It was set to “romantic ambience” and best they could offer was 2 more tea lights.
Roast Potatoes so hard, knife wouldn’t cut through! Well I think it was the potatoes, couldn’t actually see them.

The table was only cleared of the mains plates, dirty glasses and bread plates were left behind.

Desserts were served without any cutlery and when the waitress did fetch forks and spoons, she just dropped in huge pile in the middle of the table!!

Finally, they tried to charge us for 6 x 3 course dinners, but there were only 5 of us… apparently it was because the table was set for 6?!?!

Anyhow… starter and dessert food is very good – credit to the chef. Waiting staff need training and they need to find an electrician.

I expect a higher quality of dining in a hotel like this, the decor suggests this is possible so maybe some rules around dress code for both staff and guests need to be reviewed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kerry Jennings, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Dear 308lizziew, At a time when the whole hospitality industry is trying to recover from being brought to its knees, it saddens me to read your review of your recent visit to us at the Parkway. Your visit to us was indeed on day one of face coverings being mandatory for all indoor public places here in Wales. Our team of staff have been wearing face shields for a number of weeks now to protect the teams and our guests alike. With regards to the carvery that you have described I would like to point out that there is indeed no queue for this option but tables are invited up to make their selection one table at a time. This is to ensure social distancing at all times and to avoid unnecessary wait times to make a your selection. I would also like to point out that we are guided by the guest on what selection of vegetables to put onto their plates and of course how much of each option. Having checked the CCTV footage and speaking to the team that was working during your visit I can see that one of our senior waitresses did come back with cutlery as her colleague was delayed momentarily and you very kindly told our waitress to pop the cutlery where it was. This is not something we would normally do, however, again we were guided by yourself in this instance. I do however agree that you did not experience our usual high standards and I sincerely apologise. Our lighting is centrally controlled and is set at an appropriate level so as to create a warming and intimate ambience. One that we feel is complementary of the surroundings and we have have had great feedback on this. However I will take your comments on board. I do apologise that your bill was incorrect upon presenting it to you. After speaking to the cashier on shift this was a genuine error on our part. One that was unintentional and rectified straight away. Overall I do not believe that you have experienced the true essence of the Parkway and I do hope that you can return in the near future so as this can be achieved. Kind regards Andrew Herron Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
victoriacox_wall wrote a review Sept 2020
Newport, United Kingdom245 contributions92 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a little gem! Set at the rear of the hotel in expansive greenery, very quiet and private. A beautiful little “hut” that is surprisingly spacious. A gorgeous little bathroom with luxury towels, toiletries and robes/slippers, there is also a tiny kitchen area with snacks, drinks (fridge) and Nespresso machine (wins for me!). Luxury bedding, lamps and range of tv channels. We went into the hotel for dinner, we should have booked the restaurant (my fault) but the bar food was ok, the chicken goujons a tiny bit greasy. The option of continental breakfast brought to the Cwtch was lovely and we enjoyed sitting outside with a coffee on an autumn morning. The outside chairs, fire pit etc were great, everything had been thought of and I would recommend as a couples treat!
Staff were great too, despite my booking mistake! Thankyou,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kerry Jennings, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear victoriacox_wall, I am so pleased that you loved the Shepherds Cwtch as much as we do here at the Parkway! It really is a little gem of a place to enjoy some chill out time and unwind. Our restaurant does prove to be very popular, especially on the weekends, and tables do fill up quickly but I am glad that we were able to accommodate you within our cosy lounge for dinner. It was lovely to chat with you whilst delivering your breakfast hamper and I look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back to the Parkway and our Cwtch in the near future! Kind regards Andrew Herron Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo Mitchell wrote a review Sept 2021
Canterbury, United Kingdom56 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful hotel on an industrial estate, it’s immaculate & well maintained, we booked a suite which turned out to be a room with an en-suite & 2 chairs, hardly a suite. For £370. For 2 nights, I feel robbed. First night, opened our door & Windows as it’s a warm evening, then went to eat in the bar because the restaurant was fully booked & we hadn’t made a reservation, our own fault. Bar food was ok & afterwards we returned to our room. A room full of smoke because the garden suites below have fire pits, 6 feet under our open door & only windows! I went to reception to complain because we stank of smoke & couldn’t stay in that room, I was assured the manager would be up to see us & even heard the receptionist tell the manager. An hour later I returned to reception as no one had been to see us, it’s now 22:15 hours & saw the manager laughing with the receptionist! When I asked why no one had been to sort this problem, I got no reasonable response, eventually after losing my temper, another manager moved us, initially to the room next door which was also above the still roaring fire pit! Then put us in a room on the opposite side, away from the smoke.
Who decided that fire pits were a good idea for guests when it floods the rooms above with smoke!
Second day, we were out all day to scatter my father in laws ashes, when we returned, we were told the restaurant was fully booked & once again ate in the bar, watching the restaurant for 2 hours, it was obvious it wasn’t fully booked! We again returned to our room to discover no chamber maid had been in, bed was unmade, dirty cups, glasses, towels still where we left them! This for a room costing £185 a night. So once again I went to reception, the phone in the room didn’t work, asked a young man on reception if I could have clean towels, cups, glasses & more water, I returned 45 minutes later to see how long it would be & to his credit, he brought requested replacements but left all the dirty ones.

Would I stay here again, absolutely not. Last time we visited the area, we stayed in a local premier inn , a fraction of the price, we will stay there again if we have to return!

Shambolic hotel which looks the part but is run by inept managers with ridiculous ideas about fire pits!

Photo is the fully booked restaurant, if you’d like to see a video of the fire pit , please ask.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kerry Jennings, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 Sept 2021
Dear Jojoclearly, I am shocked and upset to read your review of our lovely hotel. Our garden and junior suites along with our penthouse suites always receive such great feedback with regards to value for money. I am sorry that you felt frustrated due to the smell of smoke from another rooms firepit, upon returning to your room after dining in the bar. Whilst we do have garden suites that are advertised as having fire pit facilities available we always have the comfort of all of our guests in mind. We will of course take your feedback on board to ensure that we do not find ourselves in a situation such as this again. I am glad that the duty manager was able to move your rooms to the other side of the hotel. Upon investigation I can confirm that your room was not missed from being serviced. We have been severely short staffed within the hotel lately, especially in the housekeeping department and in order to maintain the very high standards that we have this does take time. At this time the room attendants were still working on the rooms but unfortunately had not reached yours yet at your time of return. Had you made your dinner reservation for your second night at the time of check in, when you were informed the restaurant was full on the first night, we would have been able to accommodate you. Unfortunately for you we are extremely popular as a dining destination and do fill up fast. I feel that your photo of the restaurant is a very unfair representation as this is purely a snapshot in time, whereas dining reservations and table usage is spread over a number of hours with reservations carefully planned in. As I have previously stated, we try to make each guest feel special and comfortable during their visit and all the team work extremely hard. I must also point out that we do not tolerate irrational shouting, rudeness or aggression towards any of our team members who are simply trying to carry out their jobs. Many of our guests this weekend have given amazing feedback for their visits this weekend, but I am sorry that this was obviously not the hotel for you. Kind regards Andrew Herron Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bharat p wrote a review June 2022
London, United Kingdom71 contributions75 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went there for two nights on 10/06/22 looking forward to unwinding and relaxing in the spa. The decor is dated, and the room offered was exactly opposite to what we requested (quiet location). The reception staff does not have local knowledge which one would expect if you are a new area. The worse thing is, on the second day around 6 pm the jacuzzi was unceremoniously closed (overheating thermostat sighted as the reason) There was a wedding party and wonder whether overuse of the spa may have caused this? The lady at reception asked the GM who conveyed to offer compensation, she even asked how much and I said it is to her discretion. Low and behold in at checkout the same lady (who seemed does not like people of colour) renaged on the promise and said what compensation? Hence my generosity turned into disappointment. At £140/night it is a grossly overrated and unclean place - it is better to stay at a Premium Inn at least it is reasonable and they do not make false promises. Enjoying a jacuzzi does make difference to someone like my friend who has chronic back problems which we did mention at check-in however the management doesn't care. The only thing good is the kitchen, food, and bar staff who performed well. AVOID at all cost in these high cost ogf living, it is certainly not a breathtaking experience
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jules3377 wrote a review Oct 2020
Cwmbran, United Kingdom457 contributions206 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a special occasion and so took advantage of their current lockdown offer for local residents with dinner, bed and breakfast for £130. I would really recommend this to anyone wanting a change. Champagne was on ice in our room when we arrived , the room wasn’t large but was perfectly clean and comfortable. We used the pool which was divided into lanes for distancing and felt quite safe.
We enjoyed a three course dinner in the lounge where we had first class service and the same at breakfast next day. There were only a few tables occupied and all food was brought to the table with no wait at all. Maybe it wouldn’t be so quick at weekends but we certainly had no complaints and will probably do it all again while the offer is running.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kerry Jennings, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Deasr Jules3377, Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you chose us to celebrate your special occasion. The champagne break that we have offered the local residents of Torfaen has really been very well received and it has been very reassuring to see the support shown to us. I have passed on to the teams your kind comments with regards to the service you have received and this has been gratefully received. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future so as we can build upon the fantastic experience. Kind regards Andrew Herron Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Figarro wrote a review Feb 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom14 contributions38 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived today for a nice long weekend unwinding and relaxing yo be told we are unable to have a robe and slippers so that myself and my Daughter can go to the pool in the morning.
I asked stay this was and informed that we did not book a spa experience? Not sure what this meant? I suffer with severe excema so I need to be extremely careful with what products I use so facials are out of the question, I have 2 slipped discs so a massage is out of the question.
I have booked an evening meal for Sunday at the restaurant so really disappointed with being told 'no sorry' 'you can't have a robe or slippers each 'and anyway they are all out now '
We have been to quite a few spa hotels in the UK and have always had robes and slippers left in our room on arrival
Oh well we will have to go to the pool in the morning fully dressed, very poor standards
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kerry Jennings, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Figarro, I am sorry that there was some confusion over the availability of robes during the dates of your stay. We do provide all residential spa guests with robes as standard. In addition they are provided for day guests that are booked in on a spa experience day with us. However these are not currently given to all guests that stay with us over night. We do of course aim to accommodate all guests with their requirements but unfortunately on the first night of your stay all of our robes were in use, as was explained by our reception team when this was queried. I am however glad that we were able to get robes to you on the second night of your stay, albeit after this review was posted. Kind regards Andrew Herron Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura H asked a question Jan 2020
Gloucester, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
What are the pool and gym opening times?
Answer from M U
London, United Kingdom42 contributions52 helpful votes
Sorry can’t answer this try emailing the hotel
Joanne M asked a question Sept 2018
Cardiff, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, Is there a hairdryer in standard double rooms?
Answer from Kerry J
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Hello, yes there is hairdryer in all bedrooms Kerry
jasmine19992017 asked a question Dec 2017
Newport, United Kingdom
Can we bring our dog.
Answer from Kerry J
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Unfortunately we do not allow dogs into the hotel, unless they are a guide dog or a medical detection dog. Kerry
Answer from Kerry J
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Hello, We have plenty of spaces at the front and back of the hotel so I'm sure you will be fine. See you Friday! Kerry
Answer from Kerry J
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Yes please, the Spa can get very busy. Contact the hotel direct to arrange treatments. See you soon Kerry
Shelley2166 wrote a tip 8 May
Pontypool, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No pool side slippers so would recommend bringing your flip flops! "
Read full review
Annemarie C wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Restaurant carvery is first class "
Read full review
Aussiecop wrote a tip Apr 2024
Newport, United Kingdom82 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re thinking of dining at the restaurant for Sunday lunch then it’s essential that you book at least 1 week in advance."
Read full review
Margaret W wrote a tip Mar 2024
20 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booking required for afternoon tea."
Read full review
philtheref wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cwmbran, United Kingdom26 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think seriously about the cost of drinks"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cwmbran area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$222 - AU$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western newport, newport best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesTorfaenCwmbran
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PARKWAY HOTEL & SPA (AU$222): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Cwmbran, Wales) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Cwmbran Boating Lake (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Greenhouse, Three Blackbirds Inn, and Oakfield Cantonese.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Parkway Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Parkway Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caerleon Roman Fortress and Baths (5.0 km), Caerleon Amphitheatre (4.2 km), and Tredegar House (7.8 km).
Does The Parkway Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Cwmbran HotelsCwmbran Hotel DealsHotels near The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars