We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,008 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 993: English reviews
Tauranga
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed for eleven days with family recently........two grandchildren included. Rooms 208 and 209 were perfect for us....right on the beach. Room staff were most helpful and chatty......especially Andre. (He needs an increase in wages maybe?) The staff all work hard to please everyone but there appears to be a shortage of trained staff. Stu the bar and restaurant Manager covers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lita-Tauranga
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Lita-Tauranga” Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Rarotonga – it is indeed an absolutely delightful family holiday destination. We have a great team of fun loving staff who do love...

Coromandel, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This place has so much potential but it is not four star by any shake of the rattle. Housekeeping - well I had to ring after 2 days as they hadn't been, and when they did come, they didn't clean or replace glasses etc, they just left them sitting dirty where ever they'd been left. Many of the menu items...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jolee416
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Jolee416” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We appreciate the feedback you have raised in regards to the standard of housekeeping and apologise for the inconvenience you have raised in this regard. Our Executive Housekeeper is actively working with her team to address the...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The good: Convenient location and amenities are suitable. The bad: The waitstaff are apathetic at best. Just take your order and move on. Then you wait 30 minutes for a bland, average, yet expensive salad. The reception is unorganized and also rather expression-less. The ugly: Housekeeping. Or lack thereof. It looked like they came in, made the bed, changed the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim D
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Jim D” We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you found the location and amenities suitable. A few steps from your room or suite at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa you can snorkel straight off the white sands...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 1.30am exhausted after a long flight. We were told we had to wait half an hour as our room wasnt ready - you have to be $^//$^/$#^ kidding me. Room service was random at best. We came back from the beach after sun down wanting a shower to find the maid cleaning the room. The night time...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank datavalue
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “datavalue” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We apologise for the delay in having your room ready. We experienced very high occupancies during your period of stay and it is vital that every room is checked thoroughly before being released to be occupied. We...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I wouldn't let my dog stay there! My husband and I looked at having our wedding here with a very large group guests to stay also, we never got a reply from them, so they missed out on a lot of business ! Anyway when we were in Raro after getting married a friend suggested we try there anyway so...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucy H
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Lucy H” We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We apologise for not providing a response to your wedding enquiries. It is indeed a pity that you did not get to have your wedding here with us as we cater to any size...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Since we got to the hotel our experience with the hotel was very disappointing. Although the hotel was not completely full and they had rooms available, if you ask for an early check-in (2 hours), they will charge you for that. Same thing for a late checkout. The Internet is overpriced and slow. I bought the 50 MB for 15...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MauOscarBlog
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “MauOscarBlog” Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach. Sanctuary Rarotonga is our newest sister resort and adult’s only boutique resort to The Rarotongan Beach Resort and Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. In terms of the concerns you have raised, we appreciate the opportunity to respond as below....

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We travelled to the Rarotongan to renew our vows with a group of family and we just loved it. The staff were friendly and attentive and the resort is quite large, it didn't take too long before were got into the swing of "island time" and were relaxing in ernest. We travelled with our two young children and they had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda W
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Amanda W Thank you for your wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the service our staff provided during your stay. We are pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Rarotonga – it is indeed an...

Christchurch
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We found the rooms to be quite small and housekeeping was an absolute shambles. Most days even at 5pm we hadn't been serviced or had fresh towels to clean the kids after a day swimming. The resort is quite dated and the food was not that good. A very poor selection of gluten free food. The staff gave my daughter...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kiwi_suit
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana kiwi_suit Thank you for your recent review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. In terms of the standard of housekeeping, we have addressed with our Executive Housekeeper, the issues you have raised regarding the standard of your room. To avoid future incidents of this nature, we have instituted and...

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have recently returned from this resort and we have to say the beach/lagoon is amazing with excellent snorkeling! The rooms were standard but the service was terrible, they are extremely under staffed, we waited between 1 - 3 hours each time we ordered a meal, whether it was lunch or dinner and up to 15 mins for a drink...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Holly M
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana “Holly M” Thank you for your recent review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in a beach bungalow for three nights before flying to Aitutaki. On returning we paid extra for the Sanctuary. I was disappointed because the breakfast was ordinary and you had sand floors which got into your shoes. No cooked breakfast it was extra cost. I would not rate it 5 star but they charge 5 star prices. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 915Margaret1955
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana 915Margaret1955 Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach. The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa is located on its own stunning private island Motu Akitua, on the Aitutaki lagoon. Indeed, our resort is situated perfectly surrounded not only by beautiful blue lagoons, but...

802 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (741)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (238)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
8.9 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.7 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Price Range: $187 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Balclutha, New Zealand

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid staying in any of the rooms here - I could have paid $700 for a week in 2 star accommodation that would be better than this.”
 of 5 bubbles BluesTraveller82, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden View room was close to beach, not far from Pool & restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles adio904, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get transport and eat elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles X7596VEnicolep, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all very run down and shabby.”
 of 5 bubbles carolcN2123BZ, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sound travels easily between the beachfront rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LeanneH1, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5