We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium

Save
Share
Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve Aroa, Aroa Beach Cook Islands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 161
View deal
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1140)
Pool & Beach (302)
Room & Suite (124)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Aroa Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
1416Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 355
  • 423
  • 269
  • 173
  • 196
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lisa S wrote a review Nov 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely disappointed with this hotel, organised to stay in August this year for 12 nights, however due to weather our flight was cancelled. I called the hotel immediately and they said if we cancelled straight away they would give us 100% refund. As there were no available flights within the week if our stay, we decided to cancel. After 3 months, we have still not received a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
PNikki wrote a review Aug 2021
Greater Wellington, New Zealand5 contributions2 helpful votes
While the resort itself is needing a lot of love and attention, it is still like staying in a movie. The pool is fantastic, staff lovely and helpful and the location right on the beach, with walk in snorkling is fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 7 Sep 2021
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, it is great to hear you had a fantastic time, and would gladly welcome you back should your travels allow. We are currently undertaking a progressive resort-wide refurbishment program including all guest rooms, public areas, equipment and amenities.
Read more
clydefc2015 wrote a review Aug 2021
Wellington, New Zealand3 contributions2 helpful votes
This is the worst resort we have ever stayed in. As previous reviews state, customer service is non-existent. Staff aren’t friendly or helpful. There’s no table service for meals. You have to order your food at the bar and at busy times this can mean waiting in a line for over 20 minutes. One lunch service I watched as no tables were cleared in the dining room for over an hour. Guests ended up clearing their own tables and placed their dirty dishes on an central table. When somebody did wipe down the tables they used the same chux cloth (without any cleaning or disinfectant spray) on all the tables. We’re weren’t given the room type we booked (interconnecting) and there was no explanation or apology. When we raised it we were made to feel quite awkward. The room was clean on the surface and the bed was comfy, but there was paint and gib pealing off in the bathroom, grime around the skirting boards and cracked glass in the ranch slider. It just felt old and dated. The food menu wasn’t the one posted online and most days there were a number of items that were unavailable. What was available was generally of the burger, pizza or deep fried variety. Really, really disappointing especially given the amazing location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our amazing location on the best snorkelling beach on the island. However, I am sorry to hear of your disappointment, which we would have been delighted to address for you at the time, if you had let us know of them. Our extensive menu provides a wide degree of choice from traditional favorites to island specialties'. If you have specific dietary requirements, our Executive Chef would have been delighted to do whatever we could to meet those requirements. To facilitate speedy service in the restaurant, we operate a buzzer system where guests are advised by our chefs the moment that their order is ready for collection. There is a restaurant manager on at all times that the restaurant is open and they would have been delighted to assist you with your requirements, if you had let them know at the time. Similarly, if you had a concern with your room, the resort has a Duty Manager available from 7am-10pm who would have been more than happy to address any concerns during your stay, and I would have also welcomed the opportunity to meet with you personally. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to share more detailed feedback.
Read more
Jason J wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Keep your expectations very low and you might just walk away with your sanity. Customer service doesn’t exist at this place, in fact we get the vibe the staff would rather we didn’t come at all. Photos are deceptive, restaurant resembles more of a food hall and the menu only ever seems to have 50% of the items available. On the upside we only have 2 nights left…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Kia Orana and thank you for your review, if you are still in house as your review states could you please come and see me, i would like to discuss your comments and concerns.
Read more
Casey B wrote a review Jul 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand44 contributions11 helpful votes
Stay was good but nothing to rave about. Our beachside room was made up once in the 7 nights we stayed which was only an issue for getting more toilet paper and emptied rubbish bins. Service was friendly and they genuinely wanted to make everyone’s stay pleasant. The resort was teeming with people and was well suited to families with children.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the kids club in advance if you wish to use it. The staff are super friendly and helpful and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Taylor, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review, we offer daily housekeeping services. If you had any concerns our duty manager who is available from 7am to 9pm would have been happy to resolves your concerns for you. I would also like to thank you for your comments about the staff, we will certainly pass this on. We would love to welcome you again should your travels bring you this way.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 100 - USD 193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rarotongan beach hotel aroa beach, the rarotongan beach resort and spa, rarotongan beach resort spa
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaAroa Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Which popular attractions are close to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Nearby attractions include Tik-e Tours (4.3 km), Cook Island Christian Church (CICC) (3.1 km), and Aroa Marine Reserve (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beluga, Tuoro Tapas Bar, and Antipodes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium have airport transportation?
Yes, The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.