We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palmazul Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palmazul Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewed 14 January 2016

What a beautiful view when you walk in the entrance! An edgeless pool at the shore of the Pacific ocean! Very inviting. The menu is very nice with great prices, but I was STUNNED at the price of the hotel! $179.00 a night? You have got to be kidding. I peeked in one of the rooms and saw twin beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jharper1234
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hi! As I understand you didn't actually stayed with us, I invite you to do so one day and that we can get those 4 or even 5 stars from you based on your experience with us and not only on the price. I am glad you enjoyed the food, as you said yourself it does looks like in the...

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

I went here for a university trip. It was delightful. The rooms were perfectly acommodated, very clean and espectacular view. The service team was always helpful. The pool area is very nice to spend time, too bad they "close it" around midnight. As a cooker, the food could be better but it was the best place we had after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Marie L, Thank you! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! As i understand you are a chef and your comment about the food will be taken very seriously, I hope next time you visit us we will be able to surprise you! Hugs Jessica Meza

Cumbaya, Ecuador
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I love it, the service is outstanding and the place is full of lovely service people, the food is amazing, in my opinion is the best place in Ecuador for vacations....congrats Palmazul......I'll come back soon....you're a unique team......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christian N
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Christian! Just tears of joy with your review! thank you for the motivation injection! Hugs Jessica Meza

Ecuador
Reviewed 28 October 2015

The location and the place are great. We have been in the hotel several times. But this last time was an unpleasant surprise. Everything is begging to be remodeled and fixed. It's way to obvious the owners do not want to invest a penny in the place. Nothing is left of a once luxurious hotel. Only the price of 180...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ananascaaa
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Anastasia, Thank you for your review, as we informed you in the email we sent 3 days prior to your arrival, we are fully aware that the hotel needs an urgent refreshment, in that email we are informing all of our clients about the plans we have for the end of 2016 to start the construction of a new floor...

Port Townsend, Washington
Reviewed 24 September 2015

This hotel is one of the few options in the San Clemente area. It is way overpriced. We ate at the restaurant several times and the service was incredibly slow, the meals cold by the time they reached our table and the food very overpriced and below average in quality. The building and grounds show signs of wear. It really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary Anne D
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Mary Anne, We are sorry you had a bad experience with us, we are considering your comments and doing some adjustments, I hope you give us another opportunity in the future and let us make it up for it. Hugs Jessica Meza

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 8 September 2015

First of all, the beach in San Clemente is fantastic. It is miles long an close to 100 yards wide at low tide. The fine grain, packed sand beach is great for walking, running or biking, There are not many quality lodging options and from what I saw Palmazul was the best. The physical facility is nicely designed with great...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PVTexas
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks you for your comments, we are working in improving the hotel and soon we will start a complete refurbishing that will be ready in 2017. I hope you give us the opportunity to visit us again and enjoy your stay as you deserve. Hugs Jessica Meza

Granbury
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

I was excited about spending time at the beach after leaving the Galapagos but was sorely disappointed almost from the beginning. Nice location. Close to San Clemente. The only area I thought was nicely maintained was the eating area. The staff who cooked the meals did a great job. Presentation nice and food cooked well. The rooms need serious updating...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mejpeg
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, as we informed you in the email we sent 3 days prior to your arrival, we are fully aware that the hotel needs an urgent refreshment, in that email we are informing all of our clients about the plans we have for the end of 2016 to start the construction of a new floor...

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We went on family vacation to San Clemente and we had the chance to eat in this hotel. The restaurant is very good, clean and very comfortable. The service is quite slow but the food is good. We tried a huge "bandeja" for four persons with shrimps, squid and fish, it was really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! it help us to improve every day! hope to have you back in the near future! Regards, Jessica

Kentucky
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We spent 4 nights, 5 days here and wished we would have stayed longer. We had the matrimonial suite which offered a kitchenette and living room, plenty of space with two separate patios. All the meals were beyond our expectations and the location was wonderful. Above all else was the service. Marcelo and Lis were so helpful, Marcelo with his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnP42301
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

John, Your review just brought me to tears! I am speechless and can only say thank you! You give us motivation to continue every day! hope you can visit us again, I would love to be your hosts personally jessica@palmazulecuador.com My warmest Regards, Jessica Meza

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 May 2015

I stayed at this hotel in Dec. 2014. I booked a three night stay but left after only one night. I tried to book a massage several times but was told there was no one available. I only received empty promises that someone would come eventually. The rooms were musty and the bed headrests and comforters had stains. The AC...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ana M
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Ana, Sorry to hear you had a bad experience, I would like to hear more about it to see in which way we can fix it, please contact me at jessica@palmazulecuador.com. Best Regards, Jessica Meza

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
16.7 km away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
107 reviews
16.8 km away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
93 reviews
32.1 km away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Manta
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
33.9 km away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#5 of 14 in Manta
57 reviews
33.9 km away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 14 in Manta
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, a sun-kissed shoreline awaits right outside your window. Enjoy service that seems to read your mind, and indulge yourself in our superb Cocomar Restaurant and Arena Spa. Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa welcomes you with beautiful gardens and a mix of distinct architecture that blends seamlessly with nature. The rooms are decorated not only with products made by Ecuadorian Artisans; but also with a sumptuous view of the sea; as well as having a mini-bar, balcony, elegant faucets, and amenities from L´Occitane. The hotel also boasts a semi-Olympic pool, bar, hammocks, tennis court, and exit directly to our private beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palmazul Hotel & Spa

Address: Av Quito s/n | a 500 metros al norte de calle principal via punta Bikini, San Clemente, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > San Clemente
Price Range: $264 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmazul Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmazul Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palmazul Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There isn't a bad room in the place. All face the ocean, overlooking the pool.”
118robl, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You have to try the BBQ!”
585jdd, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms need major remodeling”
Ananascaaa, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms are all pretty similar but higher floors have better views. Avoid the two rooms adjacent to the restaurant.”
PVTexas, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
J6222HQanam, 15 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5