We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pooley Bridge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pooley Bridge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pooley Bridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 359: English reviews
york
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have recently returned home after a 2 night stay in the Pooley Bridge Inn. We could reference the excellent location, but that's obvious! A lovely clean room/fantastic food (breakfasts and evening menu)? Yes, if course!! What we would like to record is the welcome and service from the whole team at the Inn. We have stayed in many hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bodyidol
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We as a team pride ourselves on making experiences special, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good things: 1. Friendly young staff 2. Great beef dinner 3. Pretty location Not-so-good things: 1. Worst room we've ever stayed in -- very grubby and shabby, with a sharply-angled low attic ceiling. Carpet was very dirty and I could put up better curtains, which with my DIY skills is saying something. Bathroom tries to make use of attic space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank furtho
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are sorry to hear your experience here was not a good one, we are constantly striving to improve accommodation and service experience and appreciate we do not get it right every time.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Never stayed here overnight, however we stopped for lunch today. I ordered the steak burger which was nice but a bit dry cos the bun was toasted. Hubby got the sea bass and langoustine, very small portion of the sea bass and the skin wasn't crispy so it was quite soggy. It came on a huge portion of beans which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovefoodcouple1
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, we are sorry to hear that you did not feel the food was satisfactory for the price, we pride ourselves on our excellent food and service and if you had informed a member of staff you were not completely satisfied with your meals we would of been more than happy to resolve the issue...

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went for a weekend with my wife, staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming. Room was generously proportioned and well furnished for the price, the balcony was excellent with amazing views. Really enjoyed the food, breakfast was especially good. Nice selection of beers. Will be back. Ignore the negative reviews, these are by townies who cant appreciate the natural beauty of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben S
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon.

durham
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited for one night as a birthday treat. The girls serving were all very nice , a special mention for heather lovely girl! Food very very nice. Atmosphere exactly what you want from a country inn. To the little touches. As it was andy's birthday heather prepared a special pudding for him completely unprompted and with compliments. It was awesome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank durham_7
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and would like to thank you for your lovely comments. We strive to give excellent service and make your time here all the more special by adding the little extras when we can. We are glad you both enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I think this pub has changed hands about four times in the last few years and I am pleased to say the new management has taken it back to a friendly, welcoming place. The staff behind the bar were very smiley and chatty and the food was great. Comfy sofas and dog fiendly - perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMM442014
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My partner and I visited the Pooley Bridge Inn over the Easter bank holiday. It was very busy which is to be expected however we felt that the staff were not very prepared considering it was one if the busiest weekends of the year. We both ordered the burger and chips costing around £12 each. After waiting quite a while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCavana
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your experience was not a good one. Firstly id like to address the issue you had with the staff. We are currently taking on new staff for the summer period as a result of this some may seem unsure of the running of the restaurant as they are in training. We all have to start somewhere, and...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We called in when passing through the area for lunch. The food was good with very generous portions. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was Extremely dog friendly. Exactly what we were looking for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eeyorelover
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again soon.

Markfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014

i must say at the outset that my wife and myself were not staying at the pooley bridge, we were staying just outside the village and wondering in to pooley to have a few beers and a meal in the evening. we were there for 4 nights and used the bridge for 2 of those nights. the food was well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raythediver
colne
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed last minute, food and pub both brilliant, we have eaten here before, as it's dog friendly. My opinion of room however was poor, bed was uncomfy and because staff are busy in the bar it's difficult to voice any problems with rooms, our tv didn't work so had to go to bar to ask for help. Rooms in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColneGeeboy

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
2.9 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
314 reviews
4.0 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
6.4 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 13 in Penrith
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,504 reviews
2.3 km away
Another Place, The Lake
Another Place, The Lake
#1 of 2 in Watermillock
792 reviews
21.8 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Lakeland Inn in the Heart of Pooley Bridge, open fires, outdoor courtyard, home-cooked food and 11 en-suite rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pooley Bridge Inn

Address: Main street, Pooley Bridge, Penrith, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pooley Bridge Hotel Pooley Bridge
Pooley Bridge b&b
Pooley Bridge Inn Penrith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pooley Bridge Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Aberdeen scotland
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pooley Bridge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 567zoe, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 at the front have a lovely Balcony !!”
 of 5 bubbles DebiS190, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms very clean but very dated.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingman227, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front balcony rooms are good value.”
 of 5 bubbles COLINT426, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The lower numbered rooms overlook the front courtyard, which may get a little noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles U8166PLjohns, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5