We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Camp Figtree

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Camp Figtree
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Camp Figtree
See the most recent reviews
Showing 321: English reviews
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We visited Camp Figtree for New Year's Eve. Lovely setting. Historical way point for travellers on the Zuurberg Pass in the 1800's, the building has been restored and extra buildings and tented accommodation added......but less than a dozen rooms in all so quite exclusive and quiet. Note there is no camping here, that was done in the old days and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kobijoy55
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful memorable stay over New Year and enjoyed the views and relaxing around the pool. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and the quality of our food. We hope to welcome you again soon! Warmest Regards Ingrid

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Big thanks to Jaco and the fantastic staff at Camp Figtree for a lovely stay over the New Year. Great location, hospitality and food. We did the morning game drive which also tremendous. Would definitely recommend to all travellers

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert C
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for your wonderful feedback - we are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us over New Year. Wishing you a wonderful 2017, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest Regards Ingrid

Copenhagen
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The combination of the beautiful scenery, the stillness and the friendly people who run the place was a dream. We didn't feel like leaving and even though we have been there twice , we will come again. Thank you !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ullag2017
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Ulla, It was such a pleasure welcoming you back to Camp Figtree and we are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay again. Wishing you all the best for 2017, and we hope to see you again one day. Warmest Regards, Ingrid

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We had a perfect stay at Camp Figtree last week. Wonderful hospitality and and a beautiful setting. The food in the restaurant was excellent and very good value. We loved sitting out on the beautiful deck at sunrise with a G&T and a book. The communal space is well designed so you can find a private spot or be sociable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosjenkins13
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Hi Ros, Thanks for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you had a relaxing and memorable stay with us. Camp Figtree certainly is the perfect place to relax with a G&T while the sun sets. We hope to welcome you again soon. Yours in Hospitality. Ingrid

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

My husband & I had a wonderful time at Camp Figtree. The Zuurberg mountain view was incredible! The staff were so friendly & helpful. We had a very comfortable stay & we would love to visit again soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meghanneh
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Meghan, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is fantastic to know you had a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed the wonderful hospitality our staff offer. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm Regards Ingrid

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 December 2016

On the top of a hill lies this exquisite 'camp'. A magnificent view everywhere you look and beautiful old house (restaurant) with fantastic large veranda furnished with comfortable seats, Persian carpets and antiques. Like being back in time a 100 years. Eveything was just perfect: lovely, caring staff, excellent service, delicious meals.. We stayed in the family suite which was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leoniev632
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Leonie, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Wishing you all the best for 2017, and we hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest Regards Ingrid

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I stayed at Camp Figtree for 5 nights and every day was worth it! On check-in, I was greeted with a smile and offered assistance with my bags. The setting of the lodge couldn't be better! Situated in the most tranquil environment with breathtaking views of the Zuurberg Mountains. Very close to Addo Elephant Park, yet just about an hour's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samkeliso_2016
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Many thanks for your detailed review - we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Warmest Regards Ingrid

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We upgraded our room to a Boardwalk Room as it was a special weekend away for us. I spoke to the booking staff before paying my deposit and was assured that the rooms were new and upgraded. Sadly this was not the case. We had bits of tiles missing in the bathroom floor, our white towels were stained, towels not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1234Col
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Colleen, Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and have discussed this with our management and maintenance departments, whom have made sure all issues have been addressed. We sincerely apologise for your overcharge and delay in your refund, this is by no...

A TripAdvisor Member
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely breathtaking place. A perfect setting within the Addo bush. Had a wonderful birthday dinner. Spectacular food and perfectly paired wines. The lamb rack was superb. Worth the effort of getting there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback, we are thrilled you had a memorable birthday with us. We look forward to welcoming you again one day. Yours in Hospitality, Ingrid

AMSTERDAM
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We had a fantastic stay in the luxury tent. A giant and very good bed, beautiful bath and shower overviewing the zuurberg mountains. Breathtaking! Made you feel on top of the world.The staff made sure that you had everything you would wish for, they were very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie V
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Many thanks for your kind feedback. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest Regards Ingrid

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
7.4 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
423 reviews
13.8 km away
Woodall Country House and Spa
29.7 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
7.9 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
21.9 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Camp Figtree

Address: Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Price Range: $228 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Figtree 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Camp Figtree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Camp Figtree staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All suites are excellent, but I think a tent would be great!”
  • Sundown from the furthest suite
GvanWyk, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appear to have a good outlook.”
Boardie234, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms and tented accommodation is a personal choice, all face the same view.”
kobijoy55, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our boardwalk room had a nice view over the mountains”
  • I think this is one of the new boardwalk suites or it may be a family suite
1234Col, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“In my opinion go for the tent rooms.”
JamieW_10, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates