We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Addo African Home

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Addo African Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Addo African Home
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

The rooms are so nice decorated. you can use the kitchen and the living room. The owner speaks German and French as well. Very nice breakfast. Next to it is a organic restaurant for lunch and dinner. Just cross the garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timo F
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thanx for the comment ;) Daniel

Reviewed 17 December 2015

This was our second time to Addo, first time to Aardvark, and we enjoyed it immensely. The setting is truly picturesque with multiple gardens and places to relax. The hosts are very helpful and there are even friendly dogs and cats to make you feel at home. All of the accommodation options are well maintained and tastefully presented. Aardvark felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knothomeeither
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

We have been here for 2 days. Our host, Roni, was very helpful and friendly. She gave us some very good recommendations on where to have dinner and immediately booked a trip for us at addo elephant park when we wrote her during our flight to South Africa. Breakfast was nice. We had everything we needed. Especially the banana bread,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Alexxx
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thanx for the comment... Daniel

Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Quiet set back bungalows . Well equipped with coffee tea and welcome lollipop ! Bed comfortable with and real clean rooms it is Africa so expect a spider every now and then. Breakfast was delicious with home baked bread. Friendly service and help for next trip. Place available to grill and sit around fires. Wifi free in great room. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thanx for the comments :D

Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Rooms were just lovely,the only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because of the close proximity of a busy freight line which runs through the night. The first night I noticed it but by the second I had tuned it out. Owners are helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant next door is superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K8_Gillespie
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thanx for the review. The train can be noisy at times, unfortunately not much we can do about it :( Daniel

Reviewed 17 September 2015

We were looking for a good self catering accommodation close to Addo Park. This was a real find. The accommodation was very comfortable Rondarvels set in a great open area complete with swimming pool. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. A great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete F
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, much appreciated ;)

Angers, France
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The Aardvark Guesthouse and Backpackers allows you to choose between privacy and comfort of the guesthouse, or social life and good prices of the backpacker. 12 minutes only from Addo National Park, on a direct road : had the comfort of a very good dorm, with all amenities, very close to the park, so no waste of time during my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valewie
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you had a good time with us. Addo is not the greatest town for shopping, it is suitable for basic groceries and it is always advisable to arrive with enough supplies. Hope to see you another time.

Reviewed 17 August 2015

We stayed in the safari Tents. It was awesome. The linen is so crisp and fresh and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had plenty soft fluffy blankets and lovely clean towels. The kitchen is bright and vibrant and very clean. The bathrooms are clean and very private. The lounge is cozy and full of cheer. We enjoyed an awesome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine D
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thanx for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon again. Daniel

Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We had a short (2 nights) but very pleasant stay at the Aardvark, good atmosphere, care in every detail, knowledgeable hosts, sumptuous breakfast. Garden beautiful and fitting for visitors with kids. Our son even got a present for his 10th birthday! And to top it off: Hazel's, the neighboring restaurant serves excellent food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pacvanderhijden
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Many Thanx.

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We stayed in a rondavel at the Aardvark. Both the room and the communal kitchen were clean, the bed was comfortable and we found the owner and staff very friendly. If the weather is nice, there is also a pleasant outside area. If you are planning on visiting in winter keep in mind that the rondavel can get quite cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMRome
AardvarkAddo, Owner at Addo African Home, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. It can be freezing cold during the night, don't forget that there are extra blankets and warm water bottles available. The garden furniture is made out of recycled wood and might look a bit rustic, the lounge chairs are a bit worn and in winter it is unfortunately impossible to find new ones. Hopefully the...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
1.5 km away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#12 of 22 in Addo
91 reviews
2.4 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
10.3 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Chrislin African Lodge
13.2 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
395 reviews
1.5 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self-catering accommodation offering the discerning budget traveller a comfortable and sociable stay.Stay in our en-suite rooms in the main house or our traditional thatched en-suite rondawels or dorm rooms. Relax in our stylish lounge or enjoy refreshments on our deck outside. Prepare your meals in the well-equipped communal kitchen or enjoy our outdoor braai facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Addo African Home

Address: Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Price Range: $33 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Addo African Home 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Addo African Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Addo African Home staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Addo African Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family rooms: fans Lodge rooms: air-con Tents look comfortable Beds comfortable/clean. Take bather (natural pool), mosquito spray & torch”
 of 5 bubbles rosemarys898, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suchen Sie eine andere Bleibe - if possible go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles GLu61, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Speak to the owner and he will advise on the accommodation best suited to your needs as he has a range to suit needs and budgets.”
 of 5 bubbles karenf237, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Perfect place for excursions to the Addo Elephant National Park”
 of 5 bubbles tren2016, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Leave it to the owners, they will go out of their way to please.”
 of 5 bubbles 276petef, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5