We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 206: English reviews
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Kings Arms and it never fails to exceed our expectations. Excellent service, fantastic food and wonderful rooms which was beautifully presented. We had a fantastic stay. Looking forward to our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Adam, we look forward to seeing you both again soon. The Kings Arms Team

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Recently enjoyed another visit to The Kings Arms, this time four of us stayed two nights. Previously experienced high standards easily maintained throughout. If you’re looking for a really nice place to stay in this part of the world, this is it. The rooms are very nice, quiet and fully equipped. The bar & restaurant are excellent, with local real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks again for you kind words, we pride yourselves on consistent high standards. We are please you all enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcome you back in the near future. The Kings Arms Team

Bath
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

I always enjoy the food in this comfortable country pub and hotel. I'm long overdue in terms of reviewing it on here! Good service in a really nice venue with delicious modern British food. The Josper oven cooked meat dishes are fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntWill
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad your meal at The Kings Arms, and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. The Kings Arms Team

Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Kings Arms for 3 nights Thursday through to Sunday and had a very pleasurable visit. The hotel is nicely fitted out with modern decor, pictures for sale and has a pleasant relaxed atmosphere. The facilities are modern and of a high spec. Ideally situated for trips into Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset. We dined at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jawalton00
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Kings Arms Team

Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

Met with friends at the hotel for dinner. The food was excellent. The service was exemplary. The Spanish man that served us was very good. The restaurant was a little cool for our liking but the heating was turned up when we asked. If you're in the area drop in, you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilBate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Nice amenities, pleasant place in a quiet area. Only problem was the fact that it was a little noisy during the day but it got better in the evening. The breakfast was excellent and the employees very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramsbircea
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016

My husband had booked for my birthday. Very friendly staff at the bar and in the restaurant. We both enjoyed our meals. My husband had steak which was strangely only served on a bed of rocket with a side of chips. Would have liked to have seen some mushrooms or vegetables so seemed a bit basic although he said it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleypuplett
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed you birthday meal. With regards to your husbands steak, it does state on the menu it is served with the rocket salad, chips and peppercorn sauce. We would have been more than happy to offer you a side of vegetables. We look forward to welcome you back to The...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

We went with friends who live locally. They were paying and it wasn't cheap! But it was possibly the best pub Sunday lunch we have ever had. We had two lamb chump roasts and two venison steaks. Absolutely delicious. We hope to go again even if we have to pay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Lunches. We look forward to welcome you back to The Kings Arms soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Very nice pub, good atmosphere in the front part of the pub. Pleasing and tempting menu. I had a very good roast beef and children both had a creamy chicken and mushroom pasta. Children both disappointed with the pasta which was dull and not what they expected. Worst of all was the service. Served by a young girl who did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff174
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We do apologies that you weren't satisfied with the level of service you received from us for Sunday lunch. We strive for a higher level of service, including silver service where you would have the waitress serve you the horseradish sauce, instead of leaving it on the table for you to serve yourself, or just thrusting it before you, for...

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We were a group of eight and all loved their starters. The mains were good but the general view was that the sauces/gravies and jus were not quite of the same standard. For example the asiastic pork had a hint too much soy in it, the hake was slightly overpowered by the sauce and duck just slightly overpowered in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We are always striving for perfection so your feed back is most useful. All of our sauces and stock are made fresh in house, and are individual to each dish on the menu. I hope we can welcome you back to The Kings Arms soon

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
5.9 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
577 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
31.4 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
640 reviews
7.3 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
211 reviews
13.2 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: $161 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay in the hotel, ate in restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles teresaa219, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had the room overlooking the front of the hotel which is on the main road, but traffic noise was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Guitartech, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the side and rear have the better outlooks.”
 of 5 bubbles 667viviennec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The room we had (number 1) had great views but was a little noisy but not obtrusive”
 of 5 bubbles chemics27, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ten lovely rooms; all fitted to a high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles adrianl232, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5