We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Panamint Springs Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Panamint Springs Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

606 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Panamint Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Calgary
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This place is just right for a quick overnight stop on your way through death valley. Ok so the rooms are old and there is no tv but it is clean and they have air con. The staff are amazing at the gas station and the pub (all part of the "resort")The guys at the gas station gave my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kimberley G
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Panamint Springs "Resort" is truly a rustic, Western-style motel as you find it described on their homepage. We (family: 50, 49, 15, 8 years of age) had a cabin room furnished with two King Size beds, a high-board, a table and a chair , all of them well-used but serving the purpose, which was for us to sleep after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
Long Island, NY
Reviewed 14 August 2012

First of all... This hotel is nowhere near a "resort". Our room was a cabin, decorated in 1960's style. There was nothing on the walls, the bathroom was horrible, and there we flies in the room because the front door didn't shut all the way. As we were in the middle of the desert, it was dirty and dusty... everywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia55555
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. I would like to address a few of your comments: Our establishment is called Panamint Springs Resort, because it was so named in 1937 when it was built. If you look up the word resort, it means "a place to which people...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Did an overnight stop here and found whilst things were basic, they were clean, the aircon worked fine, good shower and liked the make up remover tissues in the amenities. Staff very friendly, and we shared a wonderful tasty pizza with a view from the restaurant verandah out the front, looking over the valley area, very ambient as the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jubaanne
London
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I've stayed here before in the campsite in an RV, and then this year we came back to stay in the motel itself. The room was basic, but fine. The AC is a little noisy, but does a surprisingly good job of keeping the room cool and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and there's an impressive beer selection too....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim C
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and honest review. I'm glad you received your cord. We hope to see you visiting again in the future. The internet is a satellite connection, and can be slow during peak hours. After 11pm our bandwidth opens up, so the speed is much quicker.

London
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This review takes into account the remote location and incredibly harsh conditions with which the Panamint Springs has to contend. The term 'resort' is a misnomer, but you will find a clean and quaintly charming motel in an ideal location for exploring Death Valley. The staff were particularly friendly and eager to share their knowledge of the area. Dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank aforth
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and honest review! We hope you will return to visit us again soon.

Petaluma, California
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I've been traveling to Death Valley for years, and I've had a couple good experiences at Panamint Springs. I camped there a couple years ago (winter) on my way down into the valley. Last week, I spent a night in the motel, so I got to know the facilities better. I had a really nice time! The staff clearly take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara L
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you noticed some of the little touches. I hope you will return again in the future! All the best...

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were expecting this place to be in the back of beyond and knew they had no TV or pool, we had mixed feelings about it after the stay, the staff were very friendly but the room needed a lot of attention as already has been commented on by others, so many rules and "you will be charged if you.............."...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank witcheshouse
Management response:

We are very sorry to hear that you had mixed feelings about your stay here. We are the least expensive accommodation in Death Valley National Park, therefore are rooms are more rustic that the other accommodations. We are remodeling each room as we can, which will include a new vent system for the cooling system which can be closed by...

Winterborne Stickland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This "hotel" is clearly playing on the fact that it's one of only 3 in Death Valley. No TV (no big loss) No pool and a bizarre check in (in the gas station!) are all slightly annoying but no big thing. BUT the rooms are a shack with paper walls, the shower is a hose hanging from the wall and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scotttaylor1803
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do not advertise our lodging as being a hotel. We make it clear that it is a motel and the rooms are very basic. We also disclose on our website that the motel rooms were built in 1937, therefore the walls are...

Ben Wheeler, Texas
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just happened upon this place while driving through Death Valley, NP. Wow!!!! We had the best time....got to know the manager for the evening! He made us feel right at home!!!! Our room was soooooooooooooooo cute!!!! The manager made us feel right at home....great meal, great drinks....LOVED THE PLACE!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank westernstargal
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review! We try to make everyone feel at home. We hope to see you again soon!

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (125)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
55.6 km away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
5,161 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
12 reviews
94.6 km away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
1,568 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Panamint Springs Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bloomfield, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Panamint Springs Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a campsite”
 of 5 bubbles asdflksjlsdkf, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms on side with restaurant/bar.”
 of 5 bubbles drsusansmith2016, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 7 or 8 if you want to shower.”
 of 5 bubbles shaffer22016, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great value, stay in a mountain view cabin”
 of 5 bubbles MrsOC18, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an air conditioner unit and expect very basic accommodations.”
 of 5 bubbles 183MaryF, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5