We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ballathie House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ballathie House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 638: English reviews
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The meal that we had was 5 star! The hotel its self was warm and inviting. I would not hesitate to return or recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrewjames86
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed on 8th November,dinner was simply excellent the venison cooked to perfection and the wine list extensive service was 5 star. The room was ok but nothing special but cosy and warm the shower was a disaster no hot water typical of older buildings such as this but still not acceptable As I was shooting the next day guns were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank les241059
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night at the Ballathie country hotel in a standard room. First impressions of the hotel on arrival were very good, beautiful building & foyer. However the room was very disappointing & tired looking. Room was equipped with everything you need, but one of the taps was constantly dripping in the bathroom. The room was far too warm &...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EnzoMillemiglia
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Enzo Millemiglia, Thank you for visiting Ballathie and also for taking the time to post your review. I was naturally concerned and disappointed to read that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion, as you will see from the majority of the feedback which we receive this is not normally the case and many customers are...

Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On 5th November 2016 I attended Ballathie House Hotel for a wedding. It was so cold outside but the hotel was a comfortable temperature. The service was exceptionally good, nothing too much trouble and anything we asked for was promptly delivered. The rooms I saw were spacious although we found it difficult to close the bathroom window in one room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan B, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed both the exceptional service and of course our award winning food. It is indeed a wonderful time of year to be visiting the hotel sitting on the banks of the wonderful River Tay on the Ballathie Estate...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

This weekend I stayed at Ballathie House Hotel for the wedding of my niece. The wedding itself was marvellous and the hotel did an amazing job on the day of the wedding. Things went wrong when I went to my room which smelt damp when I first entered it. When I went to bed things got worse. Not only was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AntheaChrisD
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AntheaChrisD, Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ballathie. I was naturally delighted to hear that you had enjoyed the wedding which you were attending at the hotel. I have read through your other comments and I am sorry that disappointed in yor overall experience, I have...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This hotel is situated just outside the small village of Stanley and is about a 15/20 minute drive north of the city of Perth, It is situated in its own grounds which are very well looked after with the river Tay flowing gently near by. We were allocated a room in the main part of the building which was fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom M Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Ballathie. I am delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful food which we are extremely proud of and has been awarded many accolades over the years. Our hard working and talented team offer excellent food and service which keeps many of our loyal...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Great place to spend a relaxing time away. Beautiful location in well kept grounds beside the river.Afternoon tea is fabby and evening meal is superb. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 62kate
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 62kate, I was so pleased to read such a wonderful review following your recent stay with us here at Ballathie. It is indeed a fabulous place to relax and get away from the hectic day to day routines of modern life. We are extremely proud of our talented and hard working team at the hotel and we are very...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

There are two wonderful things about this hotel - the beautiful location and the food ! Otherwise it was disappointing and not up to four star status as advertised . The restaurant staff are excellent and professional , but bar staff and reception staff are unfriendly and offhand . We were with a group of couples and all had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dunfion39
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dunfion39, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Ballathie. I was naturally concerned to read the negative comments that you have made regarding certain aspects of the service as well as the condition of some of our décor, I will of course investigate these matters and discuss with the...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We were in a standard double room which was first class and very comfortable. Our dinner was first class. The staff were delightful and our breakfast delicious. Would recommend to anyone wishing to visit this part of Scotland to use Ballathie House as an overnight stay or longer. Many fishing folk staying for the last week end of the season...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaMac8
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LindaMac8, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read that all of the hard work from our talented team had been recognised. We are so fortunate to work in such a fantastic hotel which is set in the magnificent Ballathie Estate here on the banks of...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Had a wonderful weekend here for family birthday. Private dining, afternoon tea and Bed and Breakfast. Food was excellent. Beautiful setting. Nothing negative to say will definately go back. Staff were all very attentive and helpful, helped to pull off an amazing surprise birthday celebration

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabul0us4
Gail S, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fabul0us4, Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your recent stay with us here at Ballathie. We are so pleased that you chose Ballathie as the venue for your family gathering and I am delighted that the setting, food and service were all to your satisfaction. I do hope that you will find...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
14.6 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,039 reviews
8.5 km away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
263 reviews
31.9 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
10.7 km away
Murrayshall House Hotel
29.7 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Price Range: $137 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballathie House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ballathie House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 19”
 of 5 bubbles les241059, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check your rooms before settling in...”
 of 5 bubbles 802janb, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“View of river”
 of 5 bubbles 62kate, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were in room 1, cannot fault it”
 of 5 bubbles fabul0us4, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift”
 of 5 bubbles Margaret4431945, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay