We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Castle Inn

    Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RN, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Show Prices
    Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (86)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (9)
    Overview
    • Excellent30%
    • Very good27%
    • Average14%
    • Poor16%
    • Terrible13%
    Travellers talk about
    “sausage” (106 reviews)
    “dog owners” (22 reviews)
    “love dogs” (12 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Pool
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (537)
    There are newer reviews for The Castle Inn
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 536 reviews

    Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

    I visited here with my Dad and Sister who were visiting from North Yorkshire for the weekend (they know a good country pub when they see one!), we stumbled upon this gem on our way down the jurassic coast, the pub is thatched and in...More

    Thank Mrandmrsmcb
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 30 October 2017

    Dear Mrandmrsmcb, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. The whole team have read your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that the next time you are in the area you call in to see us again.

    Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

    Called in on a dinnertime for a spot of early lunch. Now before I complain the guy behind the bar was great so not levelling my moan at him. Right onto my moan the whole pub looks grubby and tired the seats we sat on...More

    Thank Telfordmon
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 30 October 2017

    Dear Telfordmon, I am sorry that your visit to us was obviously a disappointing one. We have only very recently taken over at the Castle and are still very much operating with what we inherited at that time. We are due to close for a...More

    Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

    Saw this place having spent a day walking, we just intended having a quick drink as we had our dog with us but ended up staying for dinner. Our dog was made very welcome. Had a really lovely veggie curry and also free sweets as...More

    Thank 7wonderss
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 30 October 2017

    Dear 7 wonders, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments back to the team and also informed chef of the kind feedback which you have provided. We hope to see you again soon.

    Reviewed 26 October 2017

    I recently found an old photograph of my mother standing outside the Castle Inn with the then landlord and landlady. this was taken approx 42 years ago and i wanted to take a photo of myself standing in the same place my mum once stood.....More

    Thank Jayne B
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 27 October 2017

    Dear Jayne B, I am so pleased that we got to see to see the old photograph, the whole team love seeing old photographs of the Castle and it was lovely to be able to take a new picture for you in the exact same...More

    Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

    We called in here today on our way to Lulworth cove. It’s a very pretty, old pub with low beams etc. The food, which we waited ages for, was sub standard. My 7 year old wouldn’t touch the sausages. And the chips were rotten. The...More

    Thank Caroline C
    Response from Graham I, General Manager at The Castle InnResponded 27 October 2017

    Dear Carline C, please accept my sincere apologies for what was obviously a disappointing experience for you and your family. I will share your comments with the team and Chef. I am in the process of organising some form of baby changing facilities which we...More

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 103 - USD 167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Dorset >
    • West Lulworth
    • Also Known As
    • The Castle Hotel West Lulworth ,
    • The Castle Inn West Lulworth, Dorset
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (86)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (9)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (58)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all West Lulworth Hotels
    Limestone Hotel
    482 reviews
    .29 km away
    West Lulworth House
    31 reviews
    .30 km away
    The Smuggler's Inn
    495 reviews
    9.16 km away
    Springfield Country Hotel
    574 reviews
    10.61 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Limestone
    420 reviews
    .29 km away
    Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant
    924 reviews
    .84 km away
    The Boat Shed Cafe
    152 reviews
    .90 km away
    Brody's
    120 reviews
    .85 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Jurassic Coast Activities
    481 reviews
    .41 km away
    Stair Hole
    58 reviews
    .98 km away
    Lulworth Outdoors
    36 reviews
    .89 km away
    South West Coast Path- Lulworth Cove & The Fossil Forest Walk
    106 reviews
    .41 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Jennifer M
    26 October 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Nicola B | Reviewed this property |
    12pm I think
    1
    Vote
    Nicola B
    5 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from owain12 | Reviewed this property |
    I was told it was sold, let's hope the new owners spend some much needed money on the place. It was very bad & in need of total refurbish & modernization. Can't even begin to describe how bad the place had become.
    1
    Vote
    Nicola B
    22 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 11 answers
    Response from Pete M | Reviewed this property |
    No. I don,t think so.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Rustic Inn"
    Read review
    "No.2A is the best room."
    Read review
    "avoid room 16"
    Read review
    "Choose a room in another establishment."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing