We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Crab Claw Island Road Bynoe Harbour, Crab Claw Island, Northern Territory 0844 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (217)
Dining (30)
Pool & Beach (30)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Property amenities
Free wired internet in the business centre
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
Crab Claw Island Road Bynoe Harbour, Crab Claw Island, Northern Territory 0844 Australia
Getting there
Darwin Airport42 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
211Reviews8Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 56
  • 27
  • 19
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KHeane wrote a review Apr 2022
Barwon Heads, Australia6 contributions
+1
We were welcomed by John and his amazing team after a failed attempt at an overseas trip to Singapore due to missing travel documents. We could not have been more looked after, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had all the right equipment for our girls solo fishing trip, the delicious breakfasts were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they made everything very fun!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The ocean front bungalows are a must. As with everywhere in the tropics keep up the insect...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Mandy S wrote a review Aug 2021
Queensland, Australia30 contributions27 helpful votes
We came here on a day trip from Darwin and unfortunately arrived 20 mins after the kitchen shut. The bar staff were sooo lovely and sad for us they organised someone to cook up the most delicious fish and chips. What troopers.. so kind. I cannot recommend this place enough for food, service and amazing service and of course the view
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Beeramundi wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia9 contributions3 helpful votes
Spent 6 nites in a beachfront cabin. Whilst adequate for three blokes to stay would not say there is a lot of room. Has a bar fridge kettle and shower, toilet and basin the the ensuite.Suited us as we fished, sat on the balcony, used the pool and restaurant. Only slept in the room. Prices for food and beverages were reasonable. Was expecting to be more expensive. Food we had was great. Large meals. They have a catch and cook offer. We caught some crabs and fish and had them cooked for us with chips and salad. Would recommend this service. Saves cooking, cleaning dishes and makes for a relaxing evening eating to spoils of the day. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed to be a problem. Special mention to Josie (short for Josephine) who was on most nites we were there. The chef Tracey (?) your food was sensational. We hired a boat and did some fishing. Great way to see the harbour even if you don’t fish. Nothing better than a day on the water. This is not like the overseas resorts in Bali and Thailand. It is great for what it is. You can fish or just lay around and relax whilst everything is done for you
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sus wrote a review Feb 2021
Angle Vale, Australia20 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights at Crab Claw Island had a little trouble getting in with the wet weather however Wayne was a champion and went above and beyond by making sure we made it Breakfast was provided and we ate at the restaurant for lunch and dinner The meals were exceptional the Chef does a great job with plenty of variety The wildlife on the island is fabulous the views exceptional and the staff were all friendly and full of knowledge Will definitely visit again next time we are in Darwin
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Belinda R wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
We normally go to Crab claw in the dry season and camp though wanted to go in the wet season so stayed in semi waterfront rooms with 2 other families. Yes they are basic but that is all you need as long as they are clean and they were. Thank you to John and staff again for an amazing getaway. Food was amazing as usual, staff are friendly and accommodating. Only thing was my 8yr old didn't get to see Pinky the wallaby but we will be back soon.. Thanks again... Belinda Riordan
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Alison W wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
Lovely staff (including wallabies), good accommodation and great food: Grilled local prawn salad in a crispy taco basket were delicious We are not fishos, but looked like they enjoyed themselves too. Recommend 4WD or boat to get there - or perhaps helicopter. As Darwin locals we will go again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Emily wrote a review Nov 2020
Launceston, Australia16 contributions21 helpful votes
We (five friends) rented two cabins for a weekend away. The good things: - great location, ocean views, wildlife (peacocks & wallabies) - loved the restaurant area, open & breezy - friendly staff. We had an issue with one meal and not only did the chef offer to replace it, he gifted us a bottle of bubbles to compensate - two swimming pools, so you can follow the shade - cute, elevated cabins with nice verandas and shady trees Things to consider: - last 12km in is unsealed (but fine for 2WD) - cabins have kettles and bar fridges, but not other cooking facilities. Also no crockery, cutlery or glasses (although apparently you can borrow these from the bar). - there’s not a lot to do if you’re not a fisher, so you need to embrace the relaxed vibe - the air con in my cabin was effective, but very loud and shook the walls a little Overall, we enjoyed our weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DodgeyAus wrote a review Oct 2020
Loxton, Australia352 contributions43 helpful votes
I can't comment on anything else aside from the fact that it's a lovely setting. However, the beers were warm. I did ask whether they had anything colder, but basically a shrug and that's all there is was the response. Care factor seemed pretty much zero.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Roodenrys, Other at Crab Claw Island Resort
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hi Dodgey, thank you for leaving feed back. This is not how we want to operate. It is essential that one can purchase a cold beer in the tropics and that if the beer that one has purchased is not at the required temperature then proper steps are taken to replace the beer with a cold one and that restitution is made. I shall be talking to the team. Next time your out this way swing by and I'll buy you a cold one, in the mean time please accept my apologies.
Read more
Cara5tar wrote a review Oct 2020
Palmerston, Australia31 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Had a lovely view of the ocean from the dinning area. Breakfast was included. Food was amazing and well priced. Just a nice place to get away for a few days. (Family) Room was large with 3 single beds and a king. New a/c. Private small bathroom with toilet, tiny sink and shower. Large fridge and kettle in room! Will be returning. Need to take high quality insect spray!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from John Roodenrys, Other at Crab Claw Island Resort
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hi Cara, Thank you for taking the time to review Crab Claw, we appreciate the feedback
Read more
Jason L wrote a review Oct 2020
Darwin, Australia136 contributions68 helpful votes
As a local we had been talking about going to Crab Claw for a while, so took a cruise to have the buffet lunch. As we lined up to get our lunch, I asked if the sauces were diary based (as wife is intolerant to diary) but was ignored and got no response, so wife took no risk and hardly ate anything. I ate the seafood and chicken and ended up with food poisoning that night, went o the doctor the next day which was confirmed as food poisoning. Would not recommend Crab Claw, especially with the rudeness of the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Roodenrys, Other at Crab Claw Island Resort
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hi Jason, Thank you for leaving feedback. All I can say is that I'm sorry that you had a bad experience at Crab Claw. Most people love our food and we get many many more positive comments than negative, in truth we are very proud of our restaurant and we have won several gold plates. As far as staff being rude goes we most definitely don't encourage this behavior in fact quite the opposite. As to your specific complaint, There is only one sauce option on the buffet, it is a creamy garlic sauce that is part of the creamy garlic prawns and rice dish. there are no chicken dishes in the seafood buffet lunch. Ingredients in the buffet lunch include: Porterhouse Steak Grilled wild caught Barramundi Battered Threadfin salmon Garlic prawns and rice 3 different salads Chips and wedges Oysters natural Whole cooked prawns Cake and fruit salad
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 152 - USD 195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crab claw island hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndCrab Claw Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crab Claw Island Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Crab Claw Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Crab Claw Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crab Claw Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Crab Claw Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.