We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1-25-33, Takadanobaba, Shinjuku 169-0075 Tokyo Prefecture
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Takadanobaba
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tama Ryokan provides basic accommodation for a reasonable price in a central Tokyo location. It is about 3 minutes walk from the Yamanote line, and literally seconds from the Tozai subway line. It is also convenient to the Internet - we have a WiFi throughout the building, and 24-hour access to one desktop computer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
131Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 56
  • 9
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tammy H wrote a review Nov 2019
Bethesda, Maryland80 contributions7 helpful votes
This is a very old traditional family house. There are strict rules to keep the house clean and maintained. This is a family home where the owners decided to open up their home for a hospitality business. If you cannot follow the rules or keep an open mind about other cultures then this place isn’t for you. The rules include: -no street shoes in the house. House slippers are out in the foyer for guests to use. -no house slippers on the tatami straw mats. The mats are fragile and can mold easily. Don’t get water on them, no water bottles on them, and nothing heavy on them. Keep that in mind when you have your luggage. You’ll have to carry it into the closet -open the doors with dry hands. These doors are made out of paper -Keep your luggage as far into the closet as possible. The closet door is made out of paper. Luggage sticking out can damage them -switch into the bathroom slippers when using bathroom -there is a shared toilet upstairs and one shared toilet downstairs. -They have one shared shower downstairs. This is an old residential shower so don’t expect an American hotel shower. I stayed three nights and had a very comfortable and uneventful stay. This place doesn’t offer food, other than snacks when you check in. They do have a hot water pot and tea. I saw a small fridge and microwave outside my room, but never used it. I think those are for the guests. She will show you how to unfold the futon. Since the blanket is nice and fluffy, don’t lay on top or put anything on top of it. The futon is a typical Japanese bed. If you are a side or back sleeper, this bed might be too hard for you. I read that Japanese people like hard beds better because it hardens your body. There is a space heater and A/C unit in your room. I always try to support local business owners. The owner was very nice and spoke English relatively well. It’s well priced for the area. I appreciate the owners allowing us to open their home to share the Japanese way of living.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jastin wrote a review Oct 2018
ロンドン16 contributions9 helpful votes
What an awesome accommodation! This is very traditional Japanese hostel in family atmosphere. I love Japanese culture so I felt like a heaven. This is an old house so you will just need to be careful a bit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Anna I wrote a review Jul 2018
11 contributions1 helpful vote
First of all, our stay was comfortable. Ms. Eiko-san toured us where the bathroom, shower room, restroom for men and women and told us important rules to follow. The ambiance of Tama ryokan had a traditional feel to it. Paper thin walls, sliding doors, tatami mats, fresh flowers prepared by Eiko-San. Loved the organic feel of Tama Ryokan. If you don’t like stairs, try to request a room near the bathroom/shower room to avoid walking up and down. (I had a hard time walking up and down due to a knee injury from another incident.) Shampoo, bodywash and towels were provided. Oh, and Tama Ryokan is cash only. The website only takes the number of credit card for reservations. Tip: read fine print. Second, There are plenty of places to eat around here. Tama Ryokan is near Takadanobaba station where the setting of Astroboy takes place. Takadanobaba is about a 10 min walk from the Ryokan. Once you step out Tama Ryokan there are bars, grocery store, soba restaurant, yakitori places around. Location is a win-win for sure. Third and last, if you cannot follow rules of Ms. Eiko: If you have issues using slippers, being loud and rude. Do not stay here. Ms. Eiko works really hard by herself maintaining the ryokan. I remember walking down the steps and noticed a rip on the paper wall due to guests who were not careful. Makes me shakes my head because Tama Ryokan is a delicate home. Eiko also gave us a parting gift and we gave her one as well. Arigato!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TamaRyokan, Director of Sales at Tama Ryokan
Responded 24 Jul 2018
We do have signs in the foyer about cash-only payment, but in fact offer other options. They do, however, need to be arranged. For example, we can email you an invoice that can be paid via Paypal. We do wish we could be more comfortable for guests with mobility issues, but the building is old (parts of it are from the 1950s) and some comfort issues really aren't solvable without putting up a whole new building. That's a project we'll never be able to afford at the rates we can charge for our humble accommodations.
Read more
RNBKK wrote a review Jun 2018
Bangkok, Thailand319 contributions65 helpful votes
Being in Japan, one got to try the older local guest-house style. Close to the Takannobaba station, on a side street, the place is typical converted house into a Ryokan. The lady owner/manager is very particular and will tell you all how to behave in a Japanese house with paper walls! Just great! The comfort is so so but the experience is very valuable! And the neighborhood just a couple of stations from Shinjuku is perfect and priced much lower…
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: This a Japanese style place with tatami only and share bathroom facilities… Don't go there is...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Dee D wrote a review Apr 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
My mother and I had the pleasure of staying at Tama Ryokan earlier this month. Michael was incredibly responsive during our booking process and communications were easy and smooth. We wanted a truly authentic and traditional experience in Japan so we really wanted to stay at a ryokan. We found that in Japan, for the very authentic and traditional places, language can often be a barrier (we speak no Japanese at all). Michael comes to the rescue as he speaks better English than my mom and I combined, yet the ryokan itself is as authentically Japanese as you can imagine!!! We felt very lucky to have found the cultural experience that we really craved for, and at the same time having had the comfort/security of knowing that language would not be an issue during our stay. Upon our arrival, the hostess treated us very kindly. We actually enjoyed learning about the rules around the house because to us, that was all part of the cultural & learning experience. The rules were a great insight into how a real Japanese family lives and you can tell a lot about how thoughtful the culture is through its rules. What a rare, fun and interesting experience to take part in a different culture firsthand for few days. The hostess gave us welcome gifts, which was such a thoughtful gesture of hospitality. We also got complimentary cakes (the brandy cake was so delicious that we later bought some for ourselves!!!) The room itself was fun, charming and comfortable. I loved the sliding doors and tatami mats, and the blankets were heavenly comfortable!!! The location can’t be beat. Lots of great food around and it is an easy walk to the train station. On the day that we were checking out of the ryokan, I received a pleasant surprise that I never ever would have imagined. The hosts actually offered us a discount off of the rates that I had agreed to pay, without me even asking, because we had agreed to pay a higher cherry blossom season rate (which season ended early so we weren’t able to see much of the cherry blossoms). I really thought that even at the higher rates that I agreed to pay, the place and the entire experience was an incredible bargain already, so I felt like the gesture from the hosts was such a testament to their sincerity and incredible integrity. Both my mom and I were really touched by the honesty, transparency, thoughtfulness and generosity of the owners. Their sincerity really made a strong impression on me, which is the impetus for this review (I rarely ever write reviews). This was my third trip to Tokyo (my mom’s first). I had previously stayed at the large international chains (Grand Hyatt in Roppongi Hills and Hyatt Regency in Shinjuku) while paying way more than what I paid at Tama (and I remember nothing from those places because they weren’t memorable). Tama, on the other hand, was fun, authentic, quirky, genuine, comfortable and unforgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 41 - USD 99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tama ryokan hotel shinjuku
LOCATION
JapanKantoTokyo PrefectureTokyoShinjukuTakadanobabaShinjuku / Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tama Ryokan
Which popular attractions are close to Tama Ryokan?
Nearby attractions include Takadanobaba District (0.3 km), Jazz Spot Intro (0.09 km), and Waseda Shochiku (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tama Ryokan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and baggage storage.
What are some restaurants close to Tama Ryokan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trattoria Dai Paesani, Narikura, and Cafe - Today is my life!.
Is Tama Ryokan located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Takadanobaba.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tama Ryokan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Tama Ryokan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nezu Shrine (4.9 km), Tokyo Central Railway Station (6.3 km), and Yasukuni Shrine (3.9 km).