HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae

1-3-2 Tokuicho, Chuo, Osaka 540-0025 Osaka Prefecture
Traveller (246)
guest room
Room & Suite (167)
Cocina
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#2 of 7 ryokans in Chuo
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Live in Osaka the way you want, with the castle just around the corner. Families, groups, and single travelers looking for a bit of space are bound to find a guest room they love once they see our wide selection of spaces. Many rooms are even equipped with their own separate kitchen rooms. Choose one of the rooms with a tatami mat area and relax at home, just like the Japanese do!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese

Location

1-3-2 Tokuicho, Chuo, Osaka 540-0025 Osaka Prefecture
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Itami Airport
12.8 km
See all flights
Kobe Airport
27.2 km
See all flights
Tanimachi Yonchōme
4 minOsaka Municipal Subway
418Reviews17Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 191
  • 90
  • 30
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mr Parks wrote a review Jan 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom553 contributions214 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll hold my hands up to say we had reservations about staying here at first after looking at reviews. I'm glad we picked it as our base for 5 nights. People are whining about the walk. The fact is that it will take you longer to get out of Tanimachi 4 Chome Exit 4 from the green Chuo line than it will to walk from exit 4 to the hotel. Fact. It's honestly not far from the station...maybe 3-4 minutes at a decent pace. First impressions of the hotel were great and the reception staff very friendly although had limited English. They did have written instructions in English for you though and tried their best. Amenities such as razors, cotton buds, packets of shaving foam and combs were freely available on a desk beside reception for you to pick up as you want. There is no housekeeping service but you can exchange towels at reception and get replacement bin bags.

We stayed in room 204 (twin non smoking) which is a corner room and it's huge! Bathroom is a bit of a squeeze though. You get sandals and a Japanese robe ( which you can exchange at reception for a clean one). The room looks modern and has an adequate balcony. We had to use Google translate for the air con remote though. Shower pressure is good and is powered by a water heater which we never had any issues with. The kitchenette is adequate and has a small fridge freezer, 2 ring electric hob and an air fryer. Under the TV there is a kettle and microwave. What more do you want? Downstairs there are 3 vending machines and a coin laundry. A 30min wash is 200 and each 30mins of drying is 100. After 8pm reception closes although is contactable by phone for late check in's or any issues. You simply hold your room key up to the reader to gain entry.

Overall if you are happy to take your own rubbish out and go and change your own towels at reception then you can't go wrong. We filmed the room for our vlog on Parks Travel Guide so feel free to find it for some footage.

If this review has been useful then please give it a helpful vote!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa wrote a review Apr 2007
Glasgow, United Kingdom460 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with 2 teenagers , myself and my partner. The hotel itself is accessible, the area is very business oriented so not much in the way of nightlife but made a good base for seeing Osaka and for day trips in the region. Beds were comfortable and apartment was clean. It did have a slightly stale smokey smell, but not too bad. We had a room with a double bed and there was a twin room with 2 beds for the kids. Additionally a fold out sofa if more sleep space was needed. Kitchen has the basics but we didn't use it much as eating out was reasonable. It was handy for breakfast.
The staff was very helpful, but little english is spoken. We missed the interaction we had with other guests in other types of accomdation, but it did have a good degree of privacy.
Hotel has laundry and internet facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2007
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from wm-otemae, フロント オフィス マネージャー at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 14 Feb 2012
Thank you very much for your stay. Did you enjoy in Osaka? As you say, this is business district and there are a few shopping shops. If you get on subway, you can go every downtown within 20min. We'd like to make an effort to improve our service. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DJ241077 wrote a review Aug 2014
Mumbai, India26 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Ofcourse the Location & The Kitchen is a big plus.. I have 2 complients this time
This time I stayed the longest 10 days. Normally its just 4~5 days.
I was surprised that they want to charge for change of Bedsheets even once in 10 days.. Though cost is not much. But Seriously.. Then why do you give complimenty Towels & Gowns & Bathmats & Soaps & Shampoos & Brush & Toothpaste & Shaving Kits & So on... You do so because you know that these are basic services expected... Its Hygine.. Well You could provide fresh change of Bedsheets & Pillow cover & Duvet cover for every 3 days stay at the time of check in.

Another This time the place was really not cleaned properly before my check in. The Bathroom Corners had dust. The Exhaust was holding huge previous dust which was visible. The Balcony was so so so dirt & filled with Dust. This is not Japanese way of doing things.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: They have different type of rooms.. And for 1st time travellers the website is little...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ホテルマイステイズ大手前, Reception staff at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 31 Jan 2015
Thank you for staying our hotel. Sorry,we didn't ready to clean your room . We try to keep clean rooms with clean staff. We are looking forward to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CraigLeeR wrote a review Oct 2015
London39 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It was approaching midnight when we checked In after a long, tiring day. Within moments I was Itching at the sides of my waistline and a small bump appeared on my face too. Me and my wife brushed It aside as heat rash even though my ankles begin Irritating me too. Feeling very fatigued we had a snack and soon retired for the night.
The next morning my wife Informed me that she was also Itching during the night and had not slept as a result.
We arose to discover multiple bites, my wife had around 12 marks which were 1 cm In diameter, Itchy and painful. The weather was around 28 degrees but my wife could not wear dresses due to the unsightly bite marks on her legs. The bite marks have been Identified as being caused by bed bugs, they were visible and Irritable for over a week.
The room Itself had a very dingy atmosphere to It and we could not wait to leave. Even the corridors make you feel uneasy as they are narrow, dimly lit and reminiscent of a decrepit high rise council estate block.
Fortunately we only spent around 9 hours In this establishment. I have received an email response from the manger, literally a bare bones sorry and they will endeavor to see that It does not happen again. There was no offer of recompense whatsoever.
As far as I'm concerned the room was not fit for purpose and we only needed It for a single nights sleep.
Hotel Mystays Otamae Is a disgrace In comparison to the other hotels we used In Japan. I would never consider this hotel ever again and I certainly don't recommend It.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ホテルマイステイズ大手前, お客様担当マネージャー at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 1 Mar 2016
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for staying with us. First of all, we are very sorry that you had bad experience at our hotel. but if you have good chance to stay here, we are looking forward to seeing you. Regards Shinichi Watanabe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Selbiqee wrote a review Dec 2011
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia52 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed for 4 nights in their Quad 2 bedroom apartment. Though not luxurious (as expected), apartment is very clean with toiletries, towels, robes, and slippers are provided. The bed and pillows are comfortable (I slept like a log!) and the kitchen though small, is well equipped and even have a rice cooker for rice eating people like us! The Tanimachiyonchome subway station is about 5 mins stroll away. Use Exit 4 which is nearer to the apartment but if you have big luggages, you can take the elevator at Exit 1 and cross the road facing the Family Mart. Osaka Castle is just 15-20 mins walk from the Apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from wm-otemae, フロント オフィス マネージャー at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 14 Feb 2012
Thank you very much for your stay. We hope you had good experience in Japan. If you have a good opprtunity, please come to Osaka again. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fitz wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is tired and old. All of the doorways into the rooms and inside the rooms are only about 5 foot 10 so if you are taller than this you will be hitting your head. We were given a smoking room (I didn't even know they still existed!) which stunk of smoke. When we requested a different room they said there were none available and then said there was one but we would have to pay extra. The staff were very unhelpful and did not seek to assist us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shinichiw17, マネージャー at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 11 Jan 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae, and we appreciate you taking the time to post your review about us. We are sorry to learn that we did not live up to your expectations, despite the fact that you selected our hotel among many others for your stay. Your reservation (smoking room) can be changed to a non-smoking room free of charge if one of the same grade is available; otherwise, you can upgrade for an additional charge. We appreciate your kind understanding. Once again, we apologize for your disappointment. All of our staff are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel to bring you a better hotel experience on your future visit to Osaka. Sincerely, Naoki Kikuchi, Manager, HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AEG18 wrote a review Sept 2015
Vancouver, Canada6 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed because we had no other option, everything else was booked due to silver week. Paid over $100 for worst room, old apt turned hotel room and had a dirty bathroom. had an old kitchen that made the whole room smell of stale oil. Hallways made me feel like i was in jail. Totally Depressing. Beds were fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ホテルマイステイズ大手前, お客様担当マネージャー at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 1 Mar 2016
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your staying with us. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel. If you have a good chance to stay here, we are looking forward to seeing you. Regards Shinichi Watanabe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SingaporeJacy wrote a review Dec 2014
Singapore, Singapore83 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 weeks again in Dec We arrived close to midnight when the main reception was already closed but checkin was a breeze..We requested and stayed in the unit we had last year, a unit with 3 rooms and enough personal space for the 4 of us.We liked having the fridge, microwave and cooking facilities as we often buy food to cook or needs heating up at night. With 2 big boys who have big appetites, it was absolutely useful, The apartment is clean and while there is no cleaning service everyday, there is a vacumm cleaner. To change towels, you need to bring it to reception. Having the washer and dryer downstairs was extremely useful.While there is no wifi in the room,I need only plug in my wireless portable router in the room which allowed us to use our personal devices The staff are very helpful to any request.
The location is a 5-8min walk from Tanimachi Yonchome Exit 4. From here, its easy to get to Umeda, Namba by subway.For shopping nearby, you could take the subway to the next station,Temmabashi, where there's a nice Keihan Shopping Mall with nice restaurants too. Alternatively, you could walk from the hotel. Within the vicinity, there's the Curry rice shop, Toku udon and rice and many small eateries, 7-11s, Family marts etc.There's also a small Aeon Supermarket nearby.
This hotel gives good value and we will definitely stay here again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ホテルマイステイズ大手前, Reception staff at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 31 Jan 2015
Thank you for staying our hotel. We 'll try to provide to make you more comfortable during stay here. We are looking forward to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hal J wrote a review Oct 2014
San Francisco, California981 contributions332 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This little hotel has been recently renovated and offers great value for the price.

The room is most well appointed with everything in it's neat little place...bathroom is small
and sink faucet ingeniously also fills the tub. The warm option for the toilet seat is a unique plus.
Beds are comfortable and sliding door to terrace offers fresh air as well as the opportunity to it out, but no view except for another building.

The neighborhood is filled w/ street level boutique shops, cafes. and numerous restaurants of various ethnicities.

It' not near Umeda or other flash 'hoods but you can wake up and easily walk/hike up to the castle before coffee or brekkie.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Osaka on a budget or staying for a week or so
and want to conserve hotel night dollars.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book in advance on their web site...know that there's limited front desk personnel both after...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ホテルマイステイズ大手前, Reception at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 24 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for using our hotel always and for taking the time to post your comment. We are pleasing to know that you had a good stay and enjoyed Osaka. And we are greatly honored by your words. Even when you came next, as you can spend comfortable in our hotel, we will maintain the cleanliness. We are looking forward to welcoming you and to see you next time at the Kansai region. Best regards, Reception staff: Inoue
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel M wrote a review Sept 2014
LA, United States38 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a cheaper hotel that is mostly setup for long term business travel. They have lots of extended stay guest. Since this is a budget hotel the room won't blow you away but everything is nice. They have wired internet and for $5 you can get a private wifi router for it, which worked great. The laundry room is pretty solid and we did a number of loads there without any issues. The bathroom is small but excellent. The location is pretty good it is by Osaka castle which is a short walk away and along with the gardens a great way to spend a day. Then it is also near a subway which we used to bounce all around Osaka checking out restaurants and bars. We also, used the metro to jump over to Kyoto and Nara for day trips (I highly recommend Nara). The neighborhood is nothing fancy itself, but it does have some restaurants and some tiny standing only bars that are pretty cute, which get hoping with salary-men at the end of the work day. no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ホテルマイステイズ大手前, reception at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Responded 10 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comment. We are pleasing to know that you had a good stay and enjoyed Osaka. Your comment excites us and encourages us to give better servise. Osaka is a very good stay place for tourist of Kansai region. We are looking forward to welcoming you and to see you next time at the Kansai region. Thank you very much. Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chuo area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$54 - AU$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
weekly mansion osaka at otemae hotel osaka
LOCATION
JapanKinkiOsaka PrefectureOsakaChuoBay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
109
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MYSTAYS OTEMAE (AU$54) - 2024 Prices & Reviews (Chuo, Japan) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Which popular attractions are close to HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
Nearby attractions include Yamamoto Nohgakudo Theater (0.02 km), The Statue in front of the Osaka Chamber of Commerce and Industry Bldg. (0.3 km), and Wakamiya Shoko Inari Shrine (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taqueria La Fonda, Fujiya 1935, and Boulangerie & Cafe Gout, Yotsuya 4 Chome.
Is HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Chuo.
Are any cleaning services offered at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Osaka Castle (1.1 km), Osaka City Central Hall (1.4 km), and Osaka Prefectural Nakanoshima Library (1.5 km).
All Chuo HotelsChuo Hotel DealsHotels near HOTEL MYSTAYS Otemae
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars