We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Spice House, Mirissa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (720)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (59)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 49 small hotels in Mirissa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Foot massage
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa 81740 Sri Lanka
The Spice House, Mirissa
790Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 674
  • 82
  • 18
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Linda J wrote a review Feb 2024
Shanklin, United Kingdom85 contributions9 helpful votes
This is an amazing place. A hotel with bungalows in the superb gardens surrounded by jungle. We stayed for a week in one of the garden bungalows, which was great. From the seating area just outside the bungalow, the jungle is literally yards away and monkeys can be heard and seen swinging through the trees. The bungalows have one main room with a bed, aircon and a fridge, a toilet with basin, a separate shower, and one main bedroom. It was pretty rustic - the shower was cold - but climate is so hot that isn't an issue. We had breakfast with other guests, on the terrace of the house/hotel which was really good. Mirissa Beach - which was wonderful - was a short 300SLR tuktuk drive away. There are loads of restaurants on the beaches serving excellent and very reasonably priced food. A great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sara P wrote a review Feb 2024
Canterbury, United Kingdom17 contributions7 helpful votes
The Spice House was an amazing find. It’s a beautiful house in fabulous green garden surroundings. The staff were amazing and helpful. We had a lovely en suite room, a comfortable bed, a fridge, and a balcony all over looking the pool. The house is thankfully back from the road which is very noisy and busy! Breakfasts were delicious too.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Mirissa is a busy area and the road is noisy but the beaches are lovely and away from the traffic.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lars H wrote a review Feb 2024
Nacka, Sweden9 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel helpt by arranging transport from our arrival in Colombo, very helpful after a long flight. A very friendly and warm staff receceived us and was very nice in all aspects. Location is quiet with a peaceful pool and a weellkept garden. Away from traffic but with proximity to the beach. As us being first timers in Sri Lanka and in Mirissa it was immensly helpful to get advice. We loved it and the dog Ginger!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Jackson, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa
Responded 3 weeks ago
New bookings please email - thespicehousemirissa@gmail.com for the cheapest rates, always 10% cheaper than booking.com Hi Lars, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review for us. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka. Best wishes, Phil & Wathsala
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard H wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions
A lovely property with a friendly and laid back vibe. Well equiped rooms -most with balcony and overlooking an extensive tropical garden and inviting pool. We didn't eat there but it was an option with owners/hosts providing great Sri Lankan food. English owner Phil and his lovely wife were most helpful and gave us great dinner venues to try. They also fixed a reasonable cost driver to take us to the Wild life park and onward to Ella. All in all a faultless stay and great value for the quality provided. Vey handy to explore Mirrisa beaches, Whale watching and Wellygama beach.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Jackson, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa
Responded 3 weeks ago
New bookings please email - thespicehousemirissa@gmail.com for the cheapest rates, 10% cheaper than booking.com Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review for us it really is much appreciated. Kind regards, Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House, Mirissa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RalfJeanMaurice wrote a review Dec 2023
Amsterdam, The Netherlands8 contributions3 helpful votes
Wow, what a little gem this is. The spice house itself and our room (separate from the house) were amazing. We loved the overall atmosphere that the place has. It really felt like a little, quit oasis and a great place to unwind and relax. The room was nice and clean with a lovely balcony. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was very good. We only stayed one night and regret not having booked more nights.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Jackson, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa
Responded 3 Jan 2024
New guest enquiries please email - thespicehousemirissa@gmail.com phone 077 3510147 for the cheapest rates. 10% cheaper than booking.com Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us it really is much appreciated. Kind regards, Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House, Mirissa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steph1586 wrote a review Dec 2023
England, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
We absolutely loved our time here. The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfy. Breakfast is really lovely, selection of fruit, fresh juice, toast, jam and your choice of eggs. We loved watching the monkeys from our balcony in the trees. The guest house is close to all amenities and tourist attractions including coconut tree hill and swimming with turtles. The hosts were lovely! Anything asked was never an issue. Thank you so much both for a wonderful stay. If we come back to mirissa, we will sure to stay with you again! Steph and alex
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TheSueBird wrote a review Dec 2023
London67 contributions48 helpful votes
Quiet, lovely spot tucked off the main road, with a beautiful, lush garden and pretty pool. Feels like a little oasis. Beautiful rooms decorated in the Sri Lankan style, with pretty artefacts and four poster beds. Great service and absolutely delicious breakfast included.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Jackson, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa
Responded 3 Jan 2024
New enquiries please email - thespicehousemirissa@gmail.com phone - 077 3510147 for rates 10% cheaper than booking.com Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. As always it really is much appreciated. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and hopefully we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Archie P wrote a review Dec 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We cannot fault the owners who were helpful with advice on activities and where to eat, and were clearly supporting the local community. The main villa also looks lovely. However, we wanted to flag a few pointers (especially with solo travellers in mind) for future guests. We were put in the second villa - not the main spice house. To reach this you either need to walk through a boggy jungle for five minutes or through a side alley filled with guard dogs and strays. This is fine in the day, but pitch black at night and pretty frightening. One evening at around 10pm we walked home through the side alley (the recommended path from the owners) to be met by four snarling dogs. We felt threatened and turned back to the main street to try the second entrance to the property. There was then someone available to guide us home with a torch through the jungle route. On our next evening we arrived back later and walked through the jungle alone with phone torches as no one was at the property to guide us. It’s not what you want when simply trying to get home, and we’d worry for someone doing this alone. We both have dogs and are comfortable around strays, but even one of the workers when we flagged this story the next morning admitted that some of these dogs can be aggressive and that he has thrown stones at them before to keep them at bay.. During the night we were kept up by very loud dog fights down the alleys where the villa is located. In the morning (from 8am) we were woken by loud construction works on a new property adjacent to where we were staying. The reviews are so glowing on here for those staying in the main property, but as guests in the second villa we left feeling a bit disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Jackson, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review. Just to clarify for future guests the actual "boggy jungle " is dry for 10 months of the year & is only a 10 second stretch, the walk from the main house through the property to the villa takes 3 minutes through the back garden, jungle & a paved road. We can only apologize for the stray dogs but unfortunately it is a fact of life in Sri Lanka & there is not much that we can do about it - we do support dog charities that do sterilisation programs but it is a nationwide problem. We do have a night watchman who is available to escort you home of a night time, I am sorry that this was not pointed out to you during your arrival welcome. I have impressed on the Manager the importance of this. Likewise we do also have tuk tuks that we use who we can call to pick up or drop you at the villa if you do not want to walk the garden route. We can also only apologize for the lack of street lights in this country. Once again thank you for raising some points which I have passed on to the relevant people. Kind regards, Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House, Mirissa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SecretKent wrote a review Dec 2023
Rye, United Kingdom98 contributions71 helpful votes
There are some positives: Sri Lankan breakfast was lovely, the waiting staff are kind, and it’s close to Turtle Beach and the infinity pool that comes with the villa rooms. Tuk tuks to take you around the property. However, no hot water in the shower each morning, and no umbrellas available to walk to breakfast (10 min walk to house from the villa or tuk tuk ride). The website must have been written pre-covid and needs updating. There was no chef for food (except breakfast), they do not take credit cards and require cash payment. Overall it is probably fair value for money but not for me - I stayed in other Sri Lankan properties in the same 2 weeks who had solar heated water and never woke up to a cold shower.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Jackson, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review. To address your negative points we do have solar hot water in all the bathrooms but unfortunately during your stay there was a lot of rain so unfortunately the water didnt always have time to heat up. If you had let us know we could have used the electric hot water system during that time. We are sorry that this was not noticed by the staff. We do have umbrellas but during monsoon times we cannot replace them quickly enough as unfortunately guests do not always return them after borrowing them. We have only ever accepted cash or bank transfers for payments this has not changed. Im sorry but you have exaggerated the distance from the villa to the main house, it is a 3 minute walk through the garden & jungle, 5 minutes along the road or during rainy times if you let us know we can send a tuk tuk to collect you. Once again we are sorry that you were disappointed during your stay and wished that you had raised the points while you were here so we could have addressed them at the time. Kind regards, Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice house Mirissa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan E wrote a review Dec 2023
31 contributions3 helpful votes
Where to start! Phil, his wife and team are absolutely amazing. We absolutely loved our stay in the rooftop room at the villa which had such an amazing pool looking out towards the jungle. We woke to the sound of monkeys, peacocks and the bread van daily and loved it ❤️ Nothing is too much trouble and the team were always so friendly and helpful as were Phil and his wife. Only a 5 minute walk away from the beautiful Mirissa beach, Coconut Hill and Parrot Rock. We'd highly recommend staying here if you're thinking of visiting Mirissa. Thank you so much for a fabulous stay ❤️ Ian & Susan xx
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mirissa area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$112 - AU$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the spice house hotel, mirissa hotel mirissa
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceMirissa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SPICE HOUSE, MIRISSA (AU$112): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sri Lanka) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Spice House, Mirissa
Which popular attractions are close to The Spice House, Mirissa?
Nearby attractions include Turtle Point (0.2 km) and Coconut Tree Hill (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spice House, Mirissa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Spice House, Mirissa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a mosquito net, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Spice House, Mirissa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Spice House, Mirissa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Turtle Bay Beach Restaurant, 101 Restaurant, and Tipsy Turtle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spice House, Mirissa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Spice House, Mirissa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Spice House, Mirissa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spice House, Mirissa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kushta Raja Gala (6.2 km).