BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park

9351 Main South Rd, Cape Jervis, South Australia 5204 Australia
Camp kitchen
Traveller (140)
Huon Room
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Cape Jervis
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park is located on our farm near Cape Jervis, gateway to Kangaroo Island, on the southern tip of the Fleurieu Peninsular. Enjoy our stunning views of Kangaroo Island and Backstairs Passage while staying in one of our rooms or cottages or in our caravan park.We have a variety of different accommodation choices from our budget rooms, ensuite rooms, self contained cottages. As well as powered or unpowered sites with hot showers & toilets.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Free wifi in the business centre
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

9351 Main South Rd, Cape Jervis, South Australia 5204 Australia
172Reviews1Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 61
  • 49
  • 15
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sunshine629366 wrote a review Feb 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodation in the homestead area was very acceptable, however we were disappointed with the camp kitchen it was the filthiest kitchen I have experienced and it is supposed to be a Big 4. There was a sign stating “you use it you clean it” and that’s fair enough. However there was no detergent, cleaning spray, cloths and no hot water. Oops wait there was a lump of steelo wow.
If a proud owner/manager leads by example and allocates cleaning materials, then people will clean after they have used the camp kitchen.
On cleaning how does one clean wash dishes in the Homestead rooms when there is only a small hand basin. Why can’t there be a dedicated plastic wash dish left in the rooms with the soap and cloths. Does this mean the dishes and cups don’t get washed by previous guests
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sally Miles, Owner at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park
Responded 19 Feb 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We welcome all feedback positive and negative. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Homestead room. We are sorry you did not find the camp kitchen acceptable. I can assure you that all our campground amenities and facilities meet a BIG4 standard. We do not leave leave cloths in the camp kitchen as it is quite unsanitary for cloths/tea towels to be used between guests as the camp kitchen is checked and cleaned only once daily. There is most definitely both hot and cold water supplied to the kitchen sink in the camp kitchen. All rooms are also supplied with equipment to wash dishes, including detergent, fresh sponge + cloth and clean tea towel. Which are all replaced between guests. These items can be found under the bathroom sink and/or in the kitchenette. Again we thank you for staying with us and hope this clears up any concerns.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
margaret l wrote a review Mar 2020
Elizabeth, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a bit worried after reading reviews but were very pleasantly surprised by our accommodation. We stayed in the accommodation not the caravan park so can only comment on that area. Our villa was clean and spacious especially for 5 adults. The area was large enough that we did not feel that we were tripping over each other, with lots of windows for natural light. The staff were very friendly and helpful, there was plenty of cutlery cups and plates. accommodation was well spaced so that we felt like we had plenty of room not with neighbors right next door. Parking was next to the villa so no problems there. there was a lot of bird life around in the trees and it was really good to see some black cockatoos. Pleasant and peaceful stay before boarding the ferry to KI
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MARIAN W wrote a review Feb 2020
Clare, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the old shearer’s quarters which are now stylist en-suite accomodation with basic kitchen facilities. And aircon. Perfect for our needs for 5 nights. Great meals in the restaurant available most nights. Ideal before catching the ferry to KI or exploring the Fleurieu Peninsula.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jake M wrote a review Jan 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The only good thing about this place is the view of the ocean that is it.
For a start it’s a shame and disgrace on big4 holiday parks to be so run down and out dated. It’s an old farm house turned into caravan park. The showers are tiny and pressure is shocking water just drips out. The showers and toilets are very rarely cleaned and are filthy. The powered sites there is barely any grass. No drinking water for powered sites all bore water.
When it comes to sleeping you can’t because of the noise of the cars and the birds. All in all it was a terrible 4 days.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trippy wrote a review Feb 2020
Ipswich, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, where do I start.
This is my first review for the 3 years we have been on the road, with most of our time has been in caravan parks, but I have to say something of this place.
Toilets and showers are a disgrace, very old, just thrown together, not cleaned, and tiny, leaking showers to try and wash yourself in.
Sites are uneven with no drinking water and even the rain water tank tap in the camp kitchen is brown and undrinkable.
For all of the above reasons, this park is grossly over priced and will try not to honor the Big 4 discount, as they did with us, (gave excuses that "you already got a in house discount), so make sure they honor Big 4 discount.
The view of Kangaroo Island from this caravan park is great, but sadly its the only positive thing that I can say about this park.
The Corella's are unbelievably noisey, so I suggest to bring ear plugs if you do choose to stay at this park.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob H wrote a review Oct 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
There are a number of cottage-type buildings in which you can stay at this site, and we stayed in the Railway Cottage. The first thing we noticed upon entering this cottage was the immense number of dead flies and other insects in every room, on every surface. Along with the flies was the dreadful smell, which has been mentioned in other reviews. It was really awful and we couldn't ventilate the cottage properly because there were very few windows with fly screens - and none of the doors had fly screens either. Having cleaned up the flies and opened a couple of small windows, our next experience was that of being in a fish bowl! There was an almost continuous stream of people (presumable other guests) walking past our cottage, and all able to see in 'as you do'. So then we were in the perplexing situation of having either the public gaze, or total lack of any view because of pulling down the blinds. Added to this, when we asked if we could have an evening meal we were told on the day that we were staying, that they had a private function that night, therefore we concluded that guests were both secondary and not necessary to feed. This resulted in our driving a 60 km round trip to Normanville to eat. I am sure that it is the responsibility of any hotelier to ensure that guests are fed, or at least have access to food, prior to having the entire restaurant removed for a private function.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't stay in the Railway Cottage!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sally Miles, General Manager at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Hello Bob, thank you for taking the time to contact us about your recent stay on our property, we do appreciate all feedback so we can keep improving our property. We were very surprised to hear of the fly problem in your cottage, we do inspect all the rooms before the guests arrive to make sure everything is lovely so we can only assume they arrived after inspection. As we are located on a working farm we do experience fly waves from time to time especially when the weather warms up, we are sorry that this occurred. We have been working towards some new window furnishings for a few months now and they are due to be installed soon and this will make it a lot nicer, there will be a privacy blind and also a blockout blind, this should eliminate the goldfish bowl feeling hopefully. We always encourage guests to book in early for a meal if they require one as we have had restricted numbers due to COVID for quite awhile now and also closed for the occasional private function, we do have a local hotel that offers meals every night for those guests we cant accommodate and we also have food available for purchase in our shop. We are sorry you didn't report your problems to the staff during your stay and give them the opportunity to assist you to make your stay more enjoyable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JaxyBabe wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 2 weeks. You can get unlimited wifi in the office. Amazing view of Kangaroo Island, but thats all thats great about it. Theres absolutely nothing to do here, besides go to KI.

I watched the "cleaners" go into the cramped up toilets. All they did was take a rubbish bag out of each toilet and leave. They NEVER cleaned them. The toilets/showers were disgusting, dirty and small. The showers were SO small that you can hardly turn around! Not to mention the terrible smell in the womens showers/toilets because they wouldn't call someone to empty the full period bins. So as it got hotter, you can only imagine the smell!

☆Very overly priced for what it is!

The sites are small and oddly shaped.

They try to prevent people to claim their Big 4 Membership discount. They kept claiming you have to pay full price to get your discount. That they can't allow it because of "in house" deals. This isn't the case, definitely push them to give it to you. They're not honoring what Big 4 memberships really are.

☆If I had to recommend somewhere else to stay, stay at the Rapid Bay Campground! $10 a night, beautiful views, grassy sites, amazing snorkel!☆
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline wrote a review May 2020
Greater Adelaide, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Discovered this little hidden gem of a place that we had driven past for years on our way back home to Kangaroo Island. Stayed here twice within a week due to not been able to get home to KI due to really rough seas. I don"t travel well so we booked a room. We had both times a lovely ensuite room next to reception. First time was in Huon room., this second time we had Oregon. Both gorgeous. Well presented, clean, great facilities. Food available even though the Pear Tree Bistro was shut due to COVID 19. Awesome food. You can also get frozen meals that have been made fresh and then made available to heat in your room. Awesome staff so welcoming and friendly. Beautiful property with various cabins and camping facilities. We plan to make this a regular stop over. Caroline & Peter
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mitch136 wrote a review Apr 2022
Adelaide, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the ‘Stables Cottage’ for one night before heading over to KI. We loved the place, although we used a Stays voucher and stayed during the week we found it reasonably price. Staff we dealt with was very pleasant and helpful. The accommodation was clean, tidy and comfortable. Nice kitchen area and wood fire. The Stables are situated in a quiet area of the park which made you feel like you were away from everyone. Bed was big and comfy. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The restaurant was operating so if looking for a place for dinner there is the hotel about 3 mins...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sally Miles, Owner at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Thanks for your lovely review Paul! It was a pleasure to host you and we are so so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyn_traveller13 wrote a review Dec 2020
Terrigal, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 1 night here in December before caching ferry to KI. Very noisy as heaps of cockatoos nesting in trees! Only commenting on the camping option.
Unfortunately there were 40km winds but luckily I was in a van- poor people in tents as fully exposed to elements. As per previous reviews, amenities block is a demountable, very small showers and I could only manage a very quick wash as water temp could not be regulated and very little water, and only 1 hook to hang things with very dirty wet floors.
I travel a lot and I would have to say the camp kitchen was the poorest I’ve ever seen although it did contain the bare essentials- gas tops (very old), bbq, microwave and toaster. And a sign stating that the kitchen is only for cooking, not eating!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANNIE5118 asked a question Mar 2016
Gawler, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is Wi Fi connection at Cape Jervis Caravan park?
Answer from Mrsjuliad
Victor Harbor, Australia162 contributions62 helpful votes
If possible stay somewhere else, this was the worst place we ever stayed in.
Paul N wrote a tip Oct 2023
Brisbane, Australia130 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t rely on the restaurant as it was not operational during our visit."
Read full review
Mitch136 wrote a tip Apr 2022
Adelaide, Australia269 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant was operating so if looking for a place for dinner there is the hotel about 3 mins drive away with a takeaway shop"
Read full review
Bob H wrote a tip Oct 2021
64 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay in the Railway Cottage!"
Read full review
Gene R J wrote a tip Oct 2019
Silver Spring, Maryland10,132 contributions997 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come in the warm season."
Read full review
Brian N wrote a tip May 2018
Sydney, Australia27 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Different types of accom available, we stayed in the shearers quarters which was a self contained cottage and couldnt have been happier"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Jervis area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$168 - AU$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaCape Jervis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG4 CAPE JERVIS ACCOMMODATION & CARAVAN PARK (AU$168): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Heysen Trail (1.9 km) and Morgan Beach (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at BIG4 Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars