We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dunbrody Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
Cork
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the end of November. Check-in was very straightforward & welcoming though we were forced to park a bit away due to the small car park. Room was compact but then again, given the age of the building there isn't much the owners could do. Ate in the restaurant & had a really enjoyable evening. Between...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boo___Boo___Cork
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We started off a bit rocky in that I went with my sister and they gave us a double room instead of the requested twin room. But other that that little mishap which was rectified this house is a gem of a place. The staff, for me, are its biggest selling point. So friendly and chatty that you do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NaomiBu
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Dunbrody High class recommended for dinner At the main bar the fish and chips were excellent so was the Hake ( though a bit small) Small issue no rice for a high quality resort, pasta was offered has a replacement but very dry no sauce of any kind aioli or tomato sauce, etc. Instead of 90% they could of got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yves P
Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I recently attended a Masterchef Cookery Course for 5 days in Dunbrody Cookery School. Our Tutor for the course was Julien Clemot, an expert in his field. He delivered the course with enthusiasm and expertise, and made the course very interesting and appetising. We stayed in the Hotel and must compliment all the staff for their efficient friendly service. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo492013
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I ate in the Dunbrody Restaurant a couple of months ago and I left feeling annoyed and disappointed. The starter, main course & dessert were very nice, but the petit fours were extremely disappointing; in fact just plain awful. There were 3 of us at the table & we were given (thrown) a plate of 4 miserable truffles that tasted...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Aoife_H_1
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aoife_H_1, Thank you for your review of your meal with us over two months ago. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the starter, main course & dessert. It is quite upsetting that you did not elaborate a little more on this instead of focusing on the petit fours so much. Do not get me wrong of course I...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just back from Dunbrody and a memorable weekend with my fiancé. Had been looking forward to visiting here for a few months so we decided to head as a treat and weren’t disappointed. We had dinner on the Saturday evening and the food and service were really excellent. Friends of ours were also visiting during the day at a Cookery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave S, Thank you very much for the lovely review of our hotel here at Dunbrody Country House. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that we had to offer and thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to see us again soon. Best Regards, Paul Mernagh General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from Dunbrody House and overall were disappointed. We had booked through the Blue Book website, as we had vouchers and the offer was a check in of 2pm and check out at 2pm the following day, with a complimentary room upgrade, subject to availability. Unfortunately we didn't check beforehand if we would get an upgrade. When...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravellingGalDublin
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravellingGalDublin, Thank you for the review of your stay with us recently. I am sorry that you did not get the upgrade that you expected, 99% of the time we are able to upgrade our guests booked through the Blue book however on this occasion we were completely booked out. It does state at the time of booking that...

Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the hotel. The drive into the hotel from the main road is very badly maintained. We arrived after a long journey to find no one in reception. After 5 minutes a pleasant girl arrived and checked us in. The rooms are ok. Could do with a bit of an update as...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Patrick S
Dublin
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here recently and we were disappointed with the overall experience. When we arrived at the 'reception' there was noone to greet us after our 4 hour drive to get there. Somebody finally did come after we asked another hotel employee. We were immediately showed to our room and asked did we want Sunday papers that would be added...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sarah2909
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went for Sunday lunch to celebrate my mothers 80 th birthday . The hotel on arrival on a dreary Sunday was warm and welcoming , we were early so we're shown to a lovely small room where we had pre dinner drinks. The staff at all times were efficient helpful and friendly , and our 4 course meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelley B

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
8.1 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
11.9 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,201 reviews
6.0 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
36.3 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
957 reviews
16.4 km away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Price Range: $202 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunbrody Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dunbrody Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best ever dessert!”
 of 5 bubbles DeiseAoife, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear have nice garden views. The Local pub on site good food more casual. Try the beer from their own on site brewery.”
 of 5 bubbles 147simono, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had a ground floor room, with a door affording direct access to the big lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipRaible, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay there but the lunch was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 768colinc, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 206 overlooking the garden with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles t1lagram, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5