We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Carnaween House

    Naran strand, Narin-Portnoo, Ireland
    Save
    May 7
    May 8
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narin-PortnooSee available hotels in Narin-Portnoo
    Traveller (35)
    Dining (10)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Similar nearby hotels
    Sandhouse Hotel
     
    Caisleain Oir Hotel
     
    Harvey's Point
     
    The Abbey Hotel
     
    Overview

    • Excellent66%
    • Very good14%
    • Average13%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible1%
    8 Mar 2017
    “Great place”
    19 Feb 2017
    “Weekend Break”
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Restaurant
    Free Internet
    All hotel details
    Similar nearby hotels
    Sandhouse Hotel
     
    Caisleain Oir Hotel
     
    Harvey's Point
     
    The Abbey Hotel
     
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (75)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 75 reviews

    Reviewed 3 May 2016

    We went there for lunch yesterday. Seldom does one have such a great menu that it's difficult to choose what to have. I had the blue cheese, pear and rocket salad for starters and a fish pie for main. Both were absolutely delicious. Great food...More

    Thank RosB__11
    Response from Carnaween, Owner at Carnaween House

    Dear RosB Thank you so much for taking the time to review Carnaween. We are delighted you had a great lunch and look forward to welcoming you again! best Jude and team carnaween x

    Reviewed 10 September 2015

    Carnaweenhouse was booked up for dinner so we never made it..but we did spend a few afternoons at their cafe close to the sea. It was nicely decorated, nautical theme, they served some food, which was really good, great fish and chips. It was a...More

    Thank Jenny O
    Response from Carnaween, Owner at Carnaween House

    Dear Jenny Thank you for taking the time to review Carnaween. We are sorry you didn't get to dine with us in the restaurant - we get particularly busy during high season but very glad you were able to enjoy our cafe. We will be...More

    Reviewed 2 September 2015

    Set a minute or twos walk away from the Carnaween House itself, the Carnaween Cottage is a lovely place to spend a self catering weekend away. Like the house its a quick walk to the beech and with its own garden was great for the...More

    Thank Carnalea
    Response from Carnaween, Owner at Carnaween House

    Dear Carnalea Thank you so much for taking the time to review Carnaween Cottage. We are so pleased you had a great stay with your family. We hope to welcome you back again best wishes Jude & Team Carnaween

    Reviewed 29 August 2015

    Lovely guest house. Spotlessly clean and we lucky to get rooms overlooking the bay. Our evening meal superb with great view of the bay. Arlene, the manageress, very welcoming. We'll definitely be back again.

    1  Thank boyle85
    Response from Carnaween, Owner at Carnaween House

    Dear boyle85 Thank you for taking the time to review Carnaween House. We've been making some slight refurbishments so hope that you will continue to enjoy Carnaween upon your return with us. Best wishes Jude & Team Carnaween x

    Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

    We stayed here last week for 3 nights. The hotel is right on the beach. The breakfast room is light and airy and in full view of the beach. The breakfast was very good and the evening meal in the restaurant was excellent. Our room...More

    Thank Myra T
    Response from Carnaween, Owner at Carnaween House

    Dear Myra T Thank you for taking the time to review Carnaween House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and dining experience with us. The advise i was given when renovating Carnaween was to invest in beds, baths & breakfasts and very glad...More

    Similar nearby hotels
    Sandhouse Hotel
     
    Caisleain Oir Hotel
     
    Harvey's Point
     
    The Abbey Hotel
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 9
    • Location
    • Ireland >
    • County Donegal >
    • Narin-Portnoo
    Photos
    Traveller (35)
    Dining (10)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Hotel & Grounds (28)
    Nearby
    Nearby Hotels
    Lake House Country Hotel
    67 reviews
    1.14 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Nancy's
    378 reviews
    8.81 km away
    Kennedy's Gastro Pub
    95 reviews
    11.65 km away
    The Bayview Bar
    235 reviews
    13.61 km away
    The Lobster Pot
    148 reviews
    16.11 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Annora
    8 reviews
    .41 km away
    The Tavern - A Donegal Good Food Tavern
    6 reviews
    1.21 km away
    Kilclooney Dolmen Donegal
    24 reviews
    2.55 km away
    Stephen Bennett Studio Gallery
    28 reviews
    6.04 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Carnaween House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "All rooms are furnished to a high standard and very comfortable."
    Read review
    "Room 8 for best views"
    Read review
    "book the restaurant well in advance to get a delightful sea view when the weather is on your side"
    Read review
    "Rooms 8 and 9 have sea views"
    Read review