L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa

Traveller (344)
Vue de la vallée depuis l'hôtel
Room & Suite (44)
Bar le 2040
Dining (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 3 hotels in Saint-Veran
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Fièrement dressé et classé dans un des plus beaux villages de France, Saint-Véran, à plus de 2000 mètres d'altitude, l'hôtel & Spa Alta Peyra propose une bulle de confort dans l'écrin de nature exceptionnellement préservée du parc « régional ou naturel » du Queyras. Au-delà de ses 59 chambres avec terrasses dont 3 suites, son restaurant, ses 2 bars, son spa "yon ka" et son espace bien-être, l'hôtel Alta Peyra vous plonge délicatement dans une expérience de montagne inoubliable !
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Ski rentals
Ski school
Indoor play area for children
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Solarium
Steam room
Ski In / Ski Out
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
French

Location

05350 Saint-Veran France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
Levaldigi Airport
62.1 km
See all flights
Marseille Airport
192.9 km
See all flights
713Reviews2Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 298
  • 211
  • 106
  • 60
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark K wrote a review July 2023
Watertown, Massachusetts
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best place to stay in Saint Veran. Rooms are very modern, most comfortable walk in shower; ours had a balcony from which to enjoy Mountain Views. The hotel is a series of building connected by passageways and elevators. The outside terrace and restaurant are good, though food is not outstanding. A generous buffet is on offer for breakfast. Parking is restricted in Saint Veran, but since the hotel has a garage, guests are guaranteed entry into the village with their car.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maxime O, Directeur général at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa
Responded 22 July 2023
Dear Mark, Thank you for sharing your impresions about your stay with us. I m glad to read that you enjoyed the location, the facilities and the breakfast of the hotel. The whole team will be happy to read your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Best regards. Maxime. Directeur.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anwar M wrote a review Dec 2018
Marseille, France
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Been here this weekend for two nights with my wife, Arrived Friday for sunset what an amazing place to spend sometimes even if u are not a ski person like us 😁

Excellent welcoming from front office lady offer us some cafe and juice while waiting for our check inn beautiful view from a hotel very kind staff in general specially from le roc Alto restaurant very professional delicious food and excellent service.

Thanks very much for a wonderful weekend 👊🏼
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LeeBeeLondon1 wrote a review Mar 2018
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on a short 5 night break as we wanted somewhere incredibly quaint, isolated and with different terrain we could explore with the car. We got that, and I would definitely return to Alta Peyra, but I'd like to see a few improvements.

Positives:

-literally ski in, you can ski right up to the terrace bar
-location is central (though the town is extremely quiet with not much going on)
-staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. We really got the impression that nothing is too much for them, and they were always on hand to help out e.g. putting our snow chains on, taking skis to ski room, etc.
-no queue for lifts (this is more of a resort bonus)
-spa incredibly relaxing and included. We took use of the steam room, sauna and pool which were all great
-great view (we had room 212 I think), which looked out onto the mountains and was a stunning sight to wake up to every morning with the chiming of the village church bell

-ve

-terrace closing early
-orange cushioning in bedroom leaves gross orange fluff everywhere. We took them off the bed daily.
-my friend had an accident which required stiches. The hotel had a make-shift first aid kit, which didn't even have bandages in it. The best they had was antiseptic cream, a bit of gauze and told to use a hand towel. We weren't informed of any first-aider being in the hotel and luckily we handled it ourselves, but I worry what would have happened if we weren't so independent and required better assistance.

The food (as vegetarians)

-Breakfast: Basically, as vegetarians, we had a selection of 2 cheeses, different breads, eggs (which were usually stone cold as had been sitting there so long), and then the sweet selection (this was actually ok). The pastries were yummie. All in all, it was just really bland and cold, so just felt a little second tier and not what I'm used to in hotels which command that price.

-Set Meal: we paid €180 each for a 6 course meal with champagne pairing. Again, as vegetarians (and someone who can cook well), this really didn't live up to expectation. I'll be honest and say I did have some limited restrictions (no mushrooms or aubergine - I know, I know)... HOWEVER, we were paying €360 for dinner for 2 people with 6 glasses of wine, so I don't think that's too much of an ask for a Michelin starred chef. The dishes all looked very elegant and tempting to the eye (as you'd expect), but the taste or inventiveness didn't. We had several waiters/waitresses attending our table all night and one of them explained that we had Italian black rice with a shoot of asparagus (I know the one, because I get it from Ocado) and a foam. Again, I think this may be avant garde for someone living in the outer Mongolia, but I live in London, and asparagus on rice isn't impressing anyone at this table! :) The staff were totally unorchestrated and seemed completely out of their depth - we were surprised. At the end, they wheeled this stacked table around with different sweets and teas on it, and went through each tea with us. When we chose which one we wanted, she informed us that she will add it to our room bill. There was an extra charge for the tea..... unbelievable! Anyway, let's just say that this meal was definitely one of those cases of style over substance unfortunately. Now, I would say, that I presume that for you carnivores amongst us, the experience may have been a bit different but sadly for us it was a thumbs down (as was the breakfast).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor facing with mountain/village
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Looping wrote a review July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't go there . So expensive for a such a terrible offering!
The place is nice, but poorly managed.
The management of this hotel is disastrous. The old reception manager is so unpolite,
The Spa manager is disrespectful. The young general Manager is completely inapt for the standing of this four star hotel.
Huge disapointement
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul CONIL, Directeur général at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa
Responded 16 July 2020
Dear Sir, We are absolutely surprised by your review so long after your stay, indeed our hotel has been temporarily closed since March 17th. It's a shame that you didn't share your opinion earlier, we could have done our best to avoid your dissatisfaction. We are also very curious to know which issues you encountered during your stay, your opinion contains only prejudices on the age of our employees and this does not allow us to constructively improve our standard quality. We generally have no problem with the reception by our staff and we are very sorry that you have perceived it like this, we are constantly striving to improve the service we offer to our guests. We are disappointed that we did not personally discuss with you about your stay with us. I am at your disposal to discuss the problems you have encountered as your review directly involves me. I will be very pleased to prove to you my skills and my professionalism. You will find my email address below. Deputy Director / General Manager directionadjoint@altapeyra.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jesse D wrote a review Feb 2015
Ranst, Belgium
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very senic/quiet area and nice hotel. Actually the hotel is a couple of chalets interconnected via passages and lifts (you get lost easily!), modern style but warm and high quality materials. Arriving was challenging due to the steep last kms passing through the mountains and the village (prepare for snow chains or winter tyres). The village is far away from the highway. Final access to the hotel was very very steep. We had the top room at level 8 right under the roof. With a personal terrace and a view on the village and church. The room and half board food were excellent.

The staff are very friendly but lack some organization skills with sometimes bad communication between each other impacting the guest service. We had to wait almost 2 hours before our room was ready (arrival time after 4pm). Ski equipment were not brought to the ski room as previously said. Multiple restaurants with a zillion of waiters but some lack a decent resto service attidude. Running around criss-cross like chickens without heads not noticing the real task at hand. The daily obligation to reserve a table at the outdoor terras was pathetic. Forget it to drink someting without taking a lunch. As a result rows of empty tables between 11h and 13h. Wifi is available but low speed and unreliable.

The ski resort itself is not big but has enough slopes for a couple of days of fun. Hotel and area are excellent for a cosy ski holiday and still worth the longer travel time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael B wrote a review Aug 2019
Thalwil, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a 2 night stay in this lovely hotel in a family room. Kids loved the pool and the pool table. Staff was very friendly and helpful but not many enough - they could only open the hotel restaurant/bistro partially due to shortage of personnel, so we could only eat there one evening. Food was excellent!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
elena_losito wrote a review Jan 2019
Milano
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is nice. The service is very far from a service you expect from a 4 stars hotel.

We arrived at 6pm and we had to wait one hour before getting the room. Then the room was still messy, with wrinkle towels, dirty shower and a welcome sweets that look “used”. And the service was poor during all our stay. People don’t speak English and don’t even try to, breakfast was often a mess, with fewer waiters compared to what needed to accomplish guests’ needs and there is very little flexibility in what you can ask.

For the rest, the hotel structure is nice with lots of amenities, the village is really beautiful, the position and landscape are remarkable, I really hope they will be able to improve the service because as for now it risks to ruin the whole experience!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ilenia L wrote a review Jan 2019
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel doesn't deserve 4 stars at all.
Extremely unjustifiably expensive compare to what you get!
I know B&B where I got more comforts and better services.
4 stars hotel and you don't have room service, empty minibar, not even basic tools to make a hot drink in your room..sometimes you need that! ..for example if you get sick eating in their restaurant and you need a warm drink to recover..
The spa (hot pool and sauna section) was a waterpark for screaming kids, jumping in the water and splashing and bothering everyone around.
That space is meant to relax but relax is the latest thing you can have there.
Jacuzzi wasn't working and the front desk didn't care at all, hot pool not enough hot to stay outside but anyway you cannot relax outside and enjoy the view from the pool cause the bottom is too deep to stay still, you have to keep swimming or hanging on the sides.
Restaurant service worst then a tavern not a 4 star hotel surely.
Most of all front desk lady arrogant, borderline rude and with very bad attitude as soon as you have normal requests.
They really make you feel like french people hates italians for real.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
COMO2013 wrote a review Jan 2018
London, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid at all cost- dirty spa and hotel, untrained staff rude and unprofessional, no WiFi.
The basics are sadly missing. The hotel is dirty with dust all over the black carpets and our bedroom wasn’t done for 24h (we had to ask twice to get some cleaning service). The staff is extremely badly trained and complacent- a waiter poured a glass of ice cold water on my husband- he barely apologised and did not offer any help cleaning. Very loud music and radio in the spa and restaurants- people were waiting for ages to be able to pay as the payment systems were down. Lastly our bedroom (203) was located just above the administrative office- we could hear chairs rattling against the floor and footsteps from 10pm until 1am which prevented us from sleeping. Our skis were also misplaced and the staff had to look for it for 20min opening all the storage units. Given our disastrous experience we asked to talk with the newly arrived hotel manager Mr Albini.

He apologised and told us he knew about the bad service and property issues and said he would remedy our bad experience by compensating us. Since we were not able to sleep properly 1 night out of 2 we asked for the refund of the second night. He said he would consider it and asked us to send him all the pictures of our dirty bedroom and wet accident with the waiter. Not only did he never reply to our email but he said he was unavailable to meet with us. The hotel is way overpriced £700 for 2 nights- with no WiFi, no cleaning of our bedroom, noise disturbance etc. This is an hotel to avoid- Chalet du Villard next door is half the price and much nicer!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: avoid room 203 very noisy due to admin office just below
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fabrice A, Directeur général at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa
Responded 3 Jan 2018
Dear Mr and Mrs De Boursetty, Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at L’Alta Peyra Hotel & Spa. As you know, we took into account the problems you met in our different services while your were on site, as we met you and discuss these issues in a face to face meeting and we would like to apologize again for the trouble caused to your couple. Besides, we also would like to remind you that even if we do accept your critics and that our main goal is to increase our quality of service, the majority of our clients enjoyed their stay in our establishment on the corresponding dates of your stay. Nevertheless, following our discussions, we then accepted to give you a 15% discount on your two-night stay, which you found was not enough to balance the misadventures you encountered in our establishment. Therefore, you asked for a 50% discount on your stay, which we could not accept, and decided to threaten our team of writing bad comments on our establishment through the internet. As a result, you paid for a two-night stay with 15% discount in our establishment and tried to weaken our image online. We hope the readers of these comments will bring clear-sight to their thoughts. Best regards, Fabrice Albini General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taassh wrote a review July 2014
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We originally booked for one night as we where just passing through but extended our trip another night as we loved the place.

Our room:
Our room was spacious, very clean and it felt like we were at the resort even though we were at a chalet. We had a beautiful view of the mountains and town.

Hotel staff:
The hotel staff where amazing. There English was very good and everyone was happy to help and they all went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The service defiantly exceeded our exceptions.

Food:
Overall, the food was amazing. We had the Italian buffet the first night and enjoyed it. The second night we had the fine dining menu and the beef was cooked the perfection. The wine selection was amazing and the staff working the bar and restaurants had a great knowledge of wine!

Overall, this is a great place to visit in summer if u are wanting a relaxing weekend away. I didn't get a chance to try the spa but wish I did.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theetiquettorialist wrote a tip July 2021
Genoa, Italy1,094 contribution201 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"All views are fantastic"
Read full review
a11sav wrote a tip Feb 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom67 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get one with a balcony"
Read full review
LeeBeeLondon1 wrote a tip Mar 2018
London, United Kingdom28 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room on higher floor facing with mountain/village"
Read full review
COMO2013 wrote a tip Jan 2018
London, United Kingdom7 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid room 203 very noisy due to admin office just below"
Read full review
Maria S wrote a tip Aug 2017
Sanremo45 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the bathroom mirror temperature 😂"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint-Veran area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$217 - AU$292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurHautes-AlpesSaint-Veran
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

L'ALTA PEYRA HÔTEL ET SPA (AU$217) - 2024 Prices & Reviews (Saint-Veran, France) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa
Which popular attractions are close to L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Nearby attractions include Musée du Soum (0.5 km), La Maison du Soleil et de l'Astronomie (0.2 km), and La Vieille Maison Traditionnelle (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Yes, a parking garage and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Restaurant L'Aigue Blanche, La Fougagno, and Le Farnien'The.
Are there opportunities to exercise at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Saint-Veran.
Are pets allowed at L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Queyras (8.7 km).
All Saint-Veran HotelsSaint-Veran Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint-VeranHotels near L'Alta Peyra Hôtel et Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars