We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garve Country Hotel

336 reviews
Save
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good37%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“david urquhart”(35 reviews)
“coach tour”(27 reviews)
“bit dated”(16 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (336)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Garve Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
95
112
71
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
95
112
71
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid urquhartcoach tourbit datedeach eveningnightly entertainmentgreat base for touringsome tlcgreat entertainmentmonday to fridaythree coursesporridgelounge areagreat breakbreakfast and dinnerlong weekendolder generationwell worth a visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We were based here during a bus trip to the Highlands of Scotland. We arrived in the evening after being on the move for over 13 hours and immediately my heart sank. We were greeted by a tired and decaying facade and inside every floor...More

1  Thank ken592016
Reviewed 18 June 2017

the hotel has its good and bad points unfortunately the bad out way the good Bad Its is need of an update the rooms are small and in the one we had the shower would either roast you or freeze, the bed was so low...More

2  Thank johnny112ireland
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Stayed here on a coach tour.Very dated.Tiny double room,couldnt get into wardrobe unless you were a contortionist as doors opened onto the bed.Terrible smell in room,possibly drains.Also could smell all the cooking smells as vent from kitchen is outside the window of this room 114.Food...More

4  Thank RuthiebabeHeacham
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We arrived on a coach trip ,first thought ..damp ,very old fashioned! Our apartment was not ready but not only that ,we were supposed to have 2rooms as were not a couple ,but were told the hotel was full so could not change rooms! Were...More

Thank Joyce W
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly, please accept our apologies your room wasn't quite ready upon arrival, this was due to an earlier arrival time than first anticipated by the coach, I am pleased this...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel itself is in some parts a little tired, but looks to be slowly getting a bit tlc, staff were excellent, and food was good, location is a bit remote, however there is a train station nearby, if teavelling by car, and hotel has lots...More

Thank Haagrid M
Management response:Responded 8 June 2017

Dear Guests, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team who all send their thanks. We have...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121364
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 84 - USD 120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 84 - USD 120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alison A
14 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 124hughie | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Cereal is help yourself. Scottish breakfast cooked to order.
0
Votes
niffak1
1 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RuthiebabeHeacham | Reviewed this property |
It seems the lift very rarely works
1
Vote
Alex C
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Garve H | Property representative |
Good afternoon Alec, We don't keep irons or iron boards in the rooms however you can get one from Reception at no extra cost. Regards, Management
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123456
Room Tips
"room 117 twin room large and spacious could here music below from the entertainment did not bother me"
Read review
"The apartments are very good"
Read review
"All rooms accessable, all quiet by 11pm each night."
Read review
"Excellent trip hotel clean, Staff wonderful,meals excellent will definitely be back with David Urquhart."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing