We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Las Gaviotas Hostal

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Las Gaviotas Hostal
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Start your review of Las Gaviotas Hostal
 Click to rate
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This hotel has good standards of service,comfort and cleanliness. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. It is located on the edge of the town of San Jose, so you have to walk for 10 minutes or so to get to the centre of town and the restaurants etc, but I thought that for 41 euros per night, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vince932
Vienne, Autriche
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I was expected sooo much more from the pictures and comments! To be fair, the place is very modern, when you get in, the lounge area, the reception and other common places are very modern, nicely decorated and the lady at the reception very nice and helpfull. The breakfast was ok. The disappointment came with the room itself! We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluedilou
direccion_del_hostal, Gerente at Las Gaviotas Hostal, responded to this review

We apologise for the problem that you had with one of the beds. If we had known this, we would have balanced it right at that moment. Talking about the lack of security in the rooms located in the ground floor, you shouldn't have understood what it was explained, since there are several ways to lock the terrace. For example...

UK
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This is the fourth time I've stayed here and I feel I have no reason to go elsewhere. Staff are all very helpful , pleasant and friendly and the hotel itself is lovely and clean. The rooms are spacious and if you can;I would say opt for a roof top balcony as you'll enjoy the views. Situated in a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkSylvia
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We popped here for one night in the middle of our holiday. My Partner and I were both impressed simple booking in. The room was very clean and tidy as was the en-suite bathroom and adjoining roof terrace (which gave a great view of the village and on to the sea). Continental Breakfast was Great. I would definitely visit again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MadIccy
Kerry
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Fell totally in love with San Jose having stumbled across it almost accidentally and Las Gaviotas is the perfect base to explore this beautiful place from. Lovely big bedroom with decent sized balcony and great big bathroom. Best of all the room had a fantastic shower. Las Gaviotas is certainly as good a standard as any of the 3 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry82Kerry
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at this Hostal for one night during a 3 week stay in Almeria. Located just 5 mins walk from San Jose on the main road, this is a lovely Hostal which is far more like a hotel. Rooms are cool and extremely clean with a view of pink bouganvillia and the swimming pool at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelajayne
Auckland
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Loved the Town,The Hostel was great value,very clean,very friendly,room was cleaned & towels changed every day,nice pool.Good resturants in town,5 -8min.walk.Ideal Location. LOVELY BEACH. THERE WAS NO fITNESS CENTRE,WELL WE DIDN'T SEE ONE!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joybelleauckland
UK
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Returned once more to San Jose after a wonderful trip the year before. Stayed once again at Las Gaviotas and once again the stay was fab. Room was excellent. Opted again for a room with terrace balcony, which was spacious and immaculate.The Hotel is spotless throughout and the staff here are so friendly, helpful and good natured, it makes it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkSylvia
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was my second visit to Las Gaviotas, it is a basic but very clean Hostal and is suitably situated on the outskirts of San Jose, ensuring a quiet nights sleep. The beds & pillows are comfortable and the linen spotless. The bathroom was ok with a bath & shower, the towels were a bit thin and need replacing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MONDRON
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our scuba diving club recently had our annual pilgrimage to the Cabo De Gata area and we all stayed in las Gaviotas for the 2nd year running. The situation of the place is only a 10 minute walk from the port and beach areas, on the edge of San Jose, and is therefore very quiet. Rooms are clean and are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwilym E

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.2 km away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
659 reviews
0.4 km away
La Posada De Paco
La Posada De Paco
#2 of 5 in San Jose
108 reviews
20.5 km away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Hotel de Naturaleza Rodalquilar Spa Cabo de Gata
15.8 km away
Hotel Cala Grande
Hotel Cala Grande
#1 of 2 in Las Negras
496 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostal El Dorado
Hostal El Dorado
#2 of 11 in San Jose
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Hostal

Address: Calle Correo s/n | C/ Entrada nº 8, 04118 San Jose, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > San Jose
Price Range: $71 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Las Gaviotas Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Gaviotas Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Las Gaviotas Hostal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 101 (at least until they change the bed)”
  • our safe, with no lock
  • view from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles bluedilou, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for a roof top balcony if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles UkSylvia, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a Roof Terrace :-)”
 of 5 bubbles MadIccy, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We had a room at the front and the main road was a little noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles angelajayne, 18 Jul 2014 | Read review
“We chose a ground floor,were sick of climbing stairs! was very quite. WE DIDN'T LOOK OR ASK IF THERE WAS A FITNESS CENTRE”
 of 5 bubbles Joybelleauckland, 6 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5