We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 709: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed here on the 1st January on our way home. I would not have wanted to find the hotel in the dark without the benefits of sat nav. The car park is quite large but not too far away from the reception area. The hotel is on the edge of a housing estate but looks very welcoming as you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Henri10_13
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Henri10_13 Thank you for your review of Bowden Hall. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us on New Year's Day and do hope that you had the most relaxing time. As you mention we do not have a modern lift to all floors but we do have a platform lift that takes guests...

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Booked this only 2 weeks before our stay and I have to say all the staff where brilliant - my husband had an accident the day before we traveled and they changed our room to make it easier for him, all weekend they showed concern and where very helpful with our luggage, the room and bed where very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chalky5363
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chalky Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your New Year celebrations with us and that our team made sure that everything was all the more special for you. I will be sure to pass on all of your kind comments to...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Just returned before Christmas from 2 nights away at this lovely hotel. Arrived on a Sat afternoon and we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist called Holly who was very informative and able to provide info on some great places to visit in the Cotswolds. We had a lovely meal first night in the hotel with very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cuddles77
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cuddles77 Thank you for taking to time to review your 2 night Christmas break at Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that you had a very memorable time and that our team looked after you well. I will pass your kind comments onto each member of staff who made your stay with us so pleasant and fun! Although...

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Over the past few years I have been visiting this place on several occasions and I love coming back. Although the rooms might need some refurbishment, this hotel is located very well in a quiet area and still only about 15 minutes from the city center of Gloucester. The main building, reception, lounge and restaurant have been refurbished extremely well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert R Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Bowden Hall. We were ever so pleased to read that you stay with us on a regular basis and that we do not disappoint each time you visit. Our public areas were refurbished in the Summer of last year and we plan to start refurbishing our bedrooms...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Spent New years Eve here with friends. The food was very good not the traditional which made a change. The fillet of beef was very good and the desserts and starters were excellent. The service was outstanding. Well Done Bowden Hall

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gordon W Thank you for your review of your New Year's Eve break here at Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and the level of service you experienced was memorable enough for you to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I will certainly make sure that all of our team learn of...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We had stayed here once before and were very happy to return. We stayed for a week-end break. On arrival we were upgraded to a privilege room, a really nice bonus that hasn't happened to us before at any hotel. The privilege room was fantastic, really spacious with some lovely extras included (Nespresso machine, robes and slippers, newspaper). We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purplevilla
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Purplevilla Thank you very much for your lovely review of Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that every aspect of your stay with us was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed a most comfortable time. Our team make our hotel what it is today and I will be sure to pass on all of your kind comments...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Just returned from a 2 night break at the Bowden Hall Gloucester with a group of 11 freinds. The staff on the reception made us feel very welcome, we selected to have afternoon the Dinning Room, the staff were very polite and the section of the sandwiches and cake's were really enjoyable. We were invited to attend discounted drinks before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 936AL1
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 936AL1 Thank you for your review of your New Year's Eve break with us at Bowden Hall. We were pleased that overall you were looked after and that the majority of your stay was enjoyable. With regards to the service and food, we apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during the course of your evening and hope this did...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here to celebrate her 70th birthday. We were very much looking forward to staying here as we had seen that there had been some refurbishment and this did not disappoint- the public areas were beautiful. We were greeted very nicely by the reception staff and were given the keys to our room which was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheDizzyFitz
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheDizzyFitz Thank you for your glowing review of Bowden Hall. We were immensely pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently from being looked after by our friendly team, to your bedroom being comfortable to you enjoying all of your meals. December was a very busy time for us in terms of Christmas...

Clay Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Super Hotel in a very peaceful and quiet part of the Cotswolds.We stayed in the front room in one of the 'turrets'. The hotel was spotless and decor was modern and clean looking. Not sure what the other rooms were like but ours was lovely,maybe the bathroonm needed a little more tlc. but overall 1st class. The Restaurant was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul G Thank you for your kind review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are always delighted to read when a guest has had an exceptional experience with us. We are glad that everything was to your satisfaction regarding your bedrooom and your meals. We are immensely proud of our team here at Bowden and I will be...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Had a company do and stayed in the hotel afterwards. Food was very nice with generous portions. Drinks were expensive with beers not far off £5 per pint. Also, the signage from the road is poor and you might miss the turning like I did and head to a different hotel! However, this hotel makes up for this with its...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GuyE01
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GuyE01 Thank you for submitting a review for Bowden Hall. We appreciate all of the comments we receive on Trip Advisor and we were glad to read that your experiences with your stay recently were relaxing, conveniently located to Gloucester and that you enjoyed your meals. We are very conveniently located to the local City of Gloucester as well...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
2.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,452 reviews
7.8 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
767 reviews
2.0 km away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,557 reviews
12.3 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
602 reviews
40.2 km away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $102 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
26 days ago
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 months ago
3 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 227”
 of 5 bubbles Angbar, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 332 until it has been refurbished!”
 of 5 bubbles M8818CMamandab, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift”
 of 5 bubbles dorothys910, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are disabled, there is no lift so do tell them. There is a stair lift up to the first level. We had a room overlooking the lake 328.”
 of 5 bubbles MyGlutenFreeTravels, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Many rooms are on 3rd and 4th floor and there is no lift.”
  • Toilet
  • Bathroom floor
  • Bathroom floor
  • A not so clean cup
 of 5 bubbles PC65, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5