We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hollow Bottom

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hollow Bottom
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Dorchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice atmosphere and friendly. Greeted at the door. Showed to the room. Very accommodating. An absolute Gem!! Highly recommended . Food was delicious and reasonably priced. Highly recommended for all types of Visitors. Our family had a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary D
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you Gary for this delightful review! We are very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again in future. Thanks for the recommendation! Hugh

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great pub with the benefit of having some rooms both in the main building and round the back owned by a neighbour and rented through the pub. We stayed in the garden studio which was small but well equipped. Pets are accepted at this hotel and this studio is good with direct access to a garden, however note the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holdsworth5
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a very positive review. Highly unusual regarding the 4am dog though! Thanks very much for recommending us. Hugh.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We stayed purely as a room for the night because we had a party to go to locally The room was small clean and functional The breakfast was nice and the staff accommodating to our needs 10am Check out may be a bit early but it suited us that day

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tram121
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Hugh

London
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Great beer, good food, lovely staff: ok some of the rooms are "compact" and earplugs help if you're above the bar (!) -- but who cares: this is unfailingly excellent value in a delightful village in the Cotswolds where Hugh and Charlie and their staff always make you welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YetAnotherLondoner
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! Lovely to hear you enjoyed your time in our delightful pub. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Hugh

Mandurama, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Have eaten here a few times and even stayed a few years ago. Always feel welcomed with delicious food and friendly staff, including some Aussies! Very popular spot with the tourists, even has a Beach Backyard for those occasional UK Summer days! Beautiful setting in the Cotswolds at Guiting Power.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally G
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you Sally for such a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and great hospitality here at The Hollow Bottom. Hope to see you again soon. Hugh.

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing stay in this little gem.Food staff and rooms five star.The manager Hugh a fellow Scot was the perfect host although the chef cooked fantastic food looked a little untidy in his chefs uniform. Will definitely return again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gbrown45
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Graeme Brown, after all these years since our days at Motherwell College it is good to see you are still capable of winding up Charlie our "untidy Chef" and your best mate! Hope your place in Malmo "Drumbar Lilla Torg" is still flying and myself and Charlie will be over next Summer to celebrate you turning into an Old Man...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic night away and stumbled across this gem. It's in close driving distance to the Slaughters, Bourton on the Water and Stow on the Wold but we also liked that it was secluded in a small village. They automatically reserve a table in their restaurant for all guests which is appreciated. Once checking in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thesetwoeyes1
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you seemed to have issues with noise. We are a pub after all and there are times when it will be busy and noisy. We stop serving at 12.30 as per our license and the room has sound proofing floors and ceilings to try and eliminate the rare problem. We also offer two...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Picked The Hollow Bottom at random really and what a great choice. Everything about it was just lovely, the staff were great, the location was perfect, the beer was lovely, the room was lovely and cosy and the food was fantastic. All in all a perfect little weekend break and we will be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony G
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for randomly picking us Tony! We appreciate you taking the time the leave such a lovely review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please do return soon, we look forward to it! Hugh.

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Mrs Muck, a double room above the bar, on a Sunday night. The room was fairly small but perfectly comfortable and prettily furnished in creams, and had beautiful views front and back. The bathroom, including a good sized bath, was quite big with lots of hot water. We were welcomed warmly and enjoyed a bottle of wine...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank claireypurple
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are delighted that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed your room, food, service and surroundings. Please do pop in again if you are around the area! Hugh

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed here for a night whilst walking the Gustav Holst Way. The setting and the village are very appealing but at £100 a night the accommodation is far too expensive for what is provided. We stayed in Bindaree which to my mind is a shed like after thought in the garden. The finish of the room is poor with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 709,123
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Our apologies that you did not have the same experience of all our other happy guests. Bindaree ranges between £68 and £180 a night throughout the year and we think it is well worth it. We do have plans to improve the bathroom area, we hope you can return and check it out upon completion, maybe that will help you...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
7.7 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,008 reviews
9.8 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
927 reviews
11.1 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
481 reviews
14.8 km away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 km away
Guiting Guest House
Guiting Guest House
#2 of 3 in Guiting Power
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Price Range: $135 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hollow Bottom staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Mayenne, France

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Hollow Bottom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Studio is with private access behind the pub”
 of 5 bubbles Holdsworth5, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Staying above the bar is very noisy but dont think it can be avoided.”
 of 5 bubbles thesetwoeyes1, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The king and two doubles are in the main building above the bar; the twin is in a separate building in the garden and was quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Phil25, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Annexe best for accessibility”
 of 5 bubbles Tram433, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“One of the bedrooms has a bathroom across the hall, it's OK but if you can get one of the other rooms it would make for a better experience.”
 of 5 bubbles CaterhamCSR, 6 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay