Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Maikhao Palm Beach Resort

126/5 Maikhao Soi 8, Moo.4, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110 Thailand
Traveller (465)
Pool & Beach (89)
Room & Suite (40)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$75
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 5 resorts in Mai Khao
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
A latest luxury resort on an unspoiled 10-kilometers beach of Maikhao, on the northwestern coast of Phuket, Thailand featuring 225 rooms for a peaceful and romantic getaway. Resort features a beautifully landscaped garden with a large freeform swimming pool, kids pool, swim-up bar and waterfall. Kids room with a specious indoor and outdoor playground as well as adult activities such as cooking class, fruit carving, spa treatment, fitness center, 3 restaurants, 3-pool bar, meeting rooms with free wifi throughout the resort
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids club
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Waterslide
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

126/5 Maikhao Soi 8, Moo.4, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110 Thailand
Name/address in local language
236Reviews29Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 51
  • 22
  • 17
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Simon_Ilett wrote a review Oct 2020
Phuket, Thailand56 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
To be clear, the hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and spacious. Our room even had a bath tub.

I liked everything about the room, I would stay again.

--

But... the breakfast (included) was abysmal, I ended up eating several small cold pancakes because there was nothing else besides that and watermelon at 9am. Everything else had been stripped to the bone, not even boiled rice.

You also had to line up for a long time to get a single cooked egg. The coffee tasted like boiled dirt and if there had not of been bread for toast I probably would have gone mostly hungry that morning.

Disappointing end to what is essentially a good hotel, but if you want to call yourself a resort, you will need to fix your food issues!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jerry D wrote a review Aug 2023
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam299 contributions158 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our Family stayed in mid Aug. The Thai vibe was cool. We had issues with our entry key that took several visit to resolve. The rooms could use a bit of cleaning of the lights as one could see the dirt inside the globes. The breakfast was good. Not able to swim the beach. Not much to do around but tuk tuks available.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vichai Klinpikul, Guest Services / Front Office at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Responded 28 Aug 2023
We have noted your comments to check the door lock and about our cleaning. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simone A-K wrote a review Mar 2023
Maryland35 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Located across the street at a quieter section of Mai Khao beach, this hotel has a lovely exterior entrance.

Yes, a little older, but charming nonetheless. The rooms can be quite far from the entrance, but a golf cart ride can be requested with ease.

Our room was clean and spacious. The swim out pool entrance was absolutely wonderful-it’s well worth the upgrade. Breakfast had a nice variety and the staff were all smiles and eager to assist with questions.

Particularly for the price point and the amenities offered, I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you travel with sufficient baht. The exchange rates at the hotel are unfavorable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vichai Klinpikul, Guest Services / Front Office at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Responded 18 Mar 2023
Thank you very much for your feedback and glad to hear that you would love to visit us again next time. Please let us know.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oliver L wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid. Don’t waste your time and Money
Hotel located on a remote area, only positive to say is on a quiet area ( too quiet). Nothing to eat around the hotel.
Hotel is located right on the middle of abandoned massive building.
Hotel looks good at first impression, but is left to root by the owner/management. Building has a impressive look like a temple, but building is old and need renovation.
Swimming pools are quite dirty, doesn’t have a swimming pool service or bar (expected on a 5 stars hotel). Only have 1 restaurant ( main one for breakfast, with very limited menu). No room service( expected from a 5stars hotel)… Booked hotel for 1 night, and left after 3h. Very depressing place to be honest.
If the owners invested some money on renovate and keep premises well, this hotel would be successful. By now, don’t waste 2000baths a night to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Nothing around the hotel. Nearest places are 3km away. Only way to do something is staying on the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire W wrote a review Jan 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates178 contributions124 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The best way to describe this hotel is a ghost resort. It is very large, but we never saw another guest during our stay.
It is certainly not a beach resort, the beach is on the other side of a road behind a row of trees, we couldn’t find the access to it.
The hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere, there is a large derelict hotel right in front of it, and there is nothing else around it.
There is the lazy River type pool that runs along the back of the hotel which many of the “pool access” rooms face into, though it was very run down, we didn’t want to go in the pool as it didn’t look like it had been cleaned recently.

The room itself was modern, though the bed was uncomfortable, however the bathroom was amazing! It was such an anomaly to have such an amazing looking bathroom, with such a mediocre hotel. I say “amazing looking” as neither the bath or the rain shower actually worked, it didn’t seem like it was plumbed in at all.

We used the hotel as a base to stay before our night flight, but if we were staying there for longer I would have been very uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vichai Klinpikul, ผู้จัดการโรงแรม at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Responded 4 June 2022
Actually, in January, we had quite good occupancy, getting better than the past but most of guests were going out during day time. Many of them rented the bike or the car to explore the island and near by areas which are the view point or the tourist attractions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric M wrote a review Apr 2023
Reading, United Kingdom41 contributions56 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived late evening and received a cool checking in 1 was taken by shuttle to my room and just dropped off no explanation of anything. The air-conditioning was set at 30c and I couldn't seem to override it I rang reception and waited for someone to assist but that never happened I did manage to override the memory and get it cooler. In morning I found the cups left out by housekeeping were cracked and chipped I had to contact reception to get them changed. I looked at the hotel folder in the room but found pages missing so no idea of rules and facilities. The room was next to one of the entrances and opposite the lift so it was very noisy with loud guests coming back after 2am. The room upstairs were constantly moving furniture around at all hours and every time they flushed it sounded as if it was coming into room. A metal strip on the curtain rail fell down hitting me on head which when I took it to reception found amusing. I phoned reception at 0300 as I had a large mouse running g around room I phoned reception but phone was put down without explanation someone did turn up and we managed to get mouse out of room. In morning g I looked to see how mouse could have got in and found a large gap in patio frame phoned reception but got no response so hot housekeeping to get maintenance out who managed to fix window. Mouse droppings were left inside and outside for the remainder of my stay. There was a large black ring around the pool at my end of pool. Staff at restaurants were good especially the omelette girls. The beach is terrific and big. Room is large and could be very good and it has a large bath and rain shower
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I would recommend getting a hire car as area is very quiet. There is free parking on site.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vichai Klinpikul, Guest Services / Front Office at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Responded 20 May 2023
Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay here. We have noted all your comments to rectify.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
philbutterworth wrote a review Nov 2023
Nailsworth, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I despair of the negativity in many of the reviews; this hotel served our needs admirably.

The Thai tourist industry is still struggling to recover after COVID and the staff here are working very hard to maintain and improve facilities.

The rooms are spacious and beds comfortable, the grounds are beautiful. The pools are clean and the water play park for children is delightful.

The lovely beach is virtually deserted and only 50 meters away.

We enjoyed our meals and all staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

But if you want night life and a lively atmosphere, I suggest you book a hotel elsewhere.

Thank you to all at Maikaho Palm Beach, your hotel offered us excellent value for money. All the best to you in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dksandral wrote a review Sept 2023
Corowa, Australia15 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing worked, constantly on the phone getting things fixed. Staying one night close to airport would rather sleep at the airport. Only given 2 bottles of water after that you had to pay for it. After a beautiful holiday in Koh Sumai and Surin Beach ended here for our last night so disappointed 😢
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vichai Klinpikul, Guest Services / Front Office at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Responded 21 Sept 2023
Hotel has 3 restaurants, 4 swimming pools, 1 kid pool, fitness room, spa room and kid room. All are opened as normal. In room, we provide tea, coffee and drinking water for free of charge. We provide the fridge but we didn't provide the minibar because guests can buy it from the convenience stores near by.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T Noor wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not great. Hotel is very noise at night. Not much sound barrier between rooms and can get every tiny sounds from the corridor.

Pool water is very cold, even when temp is 39 outside.

Breakfast was mayhem and low quality. Seems to be a low cost package holiday resort
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PhillippeFo wrote a review Mar 2023
Stockholm, Sweden7 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
DON’T STAY HERE! The hotel might have been nice back in the days but as of March 2023 it is a nightmare. Its absolutely unbelievable this is a 5 star resort. It feels like an apocalypse 3 months ago, everybody just left and they reopened 3 days before our arrival. The rooms are clean and okey standard but everything else is dirty, cockroaches here and there, the breakfast is depressingly small, the corridors look like from the movie The Shining facing another abandoned ghost house hotel and I think I could count to total three staff members working the facilities. I called two times about broken glass bottles in my room and didn’t get any help. Stay here if you need more motivation to jump off a cliff! :-)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vichai Klinpikul, Guest Services / Front Office at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Responded 9 June 2023
The unfinished building that you have seen, it's not belong to our property. We have preventing the view on the window screens. At least, we don't see all unless we really look at that. We don't think you had seen the cockroaches but it's a kind of the insect with the hard wings and love to eat the palm tree or the coconut trees and it's there season for breeding. The color is similar but the body is a little more fat and round.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Eagleboy2
UK31 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes itsthere but the rooms face the pool.
Tbone asked a question Sept 2018
31 contributions40 helpful votes
I like to golf. are there public golf courses near this resort? thanks
Answer from Maikhao Palm B
Yes, it is. It name Blue Canyon Country Club (Canyon Course).
Rochelle R asked a question Aug 2018
Maine20 contributions5 helpful votes
Is the spa open? I could not find a spa menu online.
Answer from Maikhao Palm B
Yes, we have spa but only traditional Thai massage.
Hannah asked a question Sept 2017
Windsor, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Are there any restaurants within walking distance from the hotel?
Shinjuku, Japan26 contributions17 helpful votes
20 min *
MikeyB wrote a tip Feb 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom30 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reception will help you with anything and info you may need!"
Read full review
Mark S wrote a tip June 2023
Dublin, Ireland21 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bolt tends to be a little cheeper than the taxis offered by the hotel "
Read full review
Nikhil B wrote a tip June 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont stay here"
Read full review
Eric M wrote a tip Apr 2023
Reading, United Kingdom41 contributions56 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would recommend getting a hire car as area is very quiet. There is free parking on site. "
Read full review
Simone A-K wrote a tip Mar 2023
Maryland35 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you travel with sufficient baht. The exchange rates at the hotel are unfavorable."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mai Khao area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$60 - AU$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandPhuketThalang DistrictMai Khao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
225
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAIKHAO PALM BEACH RESORT (AU$60): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Phuket/Mai Khao) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Tree Restaurant, Sunshines Steak, and Maikhao Memory Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Maikhao Palm Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Maikhao Palm Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Maikhao Palm Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Maikhao Palm Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra Thong (11.2 km).
All Mai Khao HotelsMai Khao Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Mai KhaoHotels near Maikhao Palm Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars