We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Garden Lodge Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Garden Lodge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Peaceful quiet place of Uitenhage, and the guest house is also the same, a nice place with a good breakfast, easily accessible off the freeway. I did enjoy the stay, two nights. Since it was only work, I did not have time to explore the location and surroundings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zubair B
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The room we were allocated was not suitable for use by elderly and/or disabled persons. The reason being that the shower floor is so high we had to help each other to climb into the shower. There were no handles or any other thing in the shower to hold onto and the floor was very slippery. After the first night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hendrik A
EliseUitenhage, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Mr Aggenbag Thank you for your review and feedback. I do agree that when guests make a booking, you must make sure that what you book is suitable for you, especially if you do have special requirements, or disabilities. I would like to make it clear that we, under no circumstances advertise our establishment as a disable friendly...

Sedgefield, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2015

I stay at The Garden Lodge when in Uitenage on business. It meets all of my needs for cleanliness, comfort, friendly service and value for money. I would not describe it as "luxurious" but it ticks all of my boxes and the plunge pool is a delight after working in Uitenhage's above average temperatures.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P_C_1000000
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Elise and Lucrisha are two delightful ladies it was a pleasure to meet. An early misunderstanding on arrival was satisfactorily resolved and we had a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed and room. We talked with Elise well into the evening and with Lucrisha extensively(!)over breakfast which was filling and tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - who wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a clean and secure place to stay in Uitenhage, at very affordable prices. The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and the room was neat clean and had all the luxuries of home. There was secure parking for my vehicle, and felt safe and secure in the area the Guest House is situated in. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Puntit
East London
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The shower does not have the cap to control water. you must also make a big swimming pool so that when its summer and there are many people we can swim. The breakfast need to be improved as well i was not impressed with that there was no cereal at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thembinkosi M
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review of our property. All our rooms are fitted with water saving shower heads, as this is a major concern for us at The Garden Lodge, and this is our way to do our part in saving water in a country that water is a scares commodity. We serve a standard breakfast, and guests...

France
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What garden? Tired looking guest house in an industrial town. Minute. Swimming pool. The breakfast was the most meagre we were offered in South Africa. There was a lot of noise late in the evening. Wouldn' stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crechat
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank the guest for the review and their point of view. All reviews are welcome and dealt with accordingly. It is just sad that the guest did not inform us of any problems or excess noise, as there is a telephone in all our rooms that you can contact reception 24 hours a day. If we...

Centurion
Reviewed 27 February 2014

There was broken things in the room like the toilet and the shower and when I complained about it the reception made it out as if I broke it. In general the service was bad and the room was terrible! A

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alrieke J
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Alrieke I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience when you stayed at our Guest House. I am however a very disappointed that you did not shared your dissatisfaction during your stay or upon departure. We would have gladly moved you to another room or booked you with another Guest House that...

Graaff-reinet, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Clean rooms, good value, will return. Looked for guesthouse in Uitenhage and found this one on internet. Sent email and received reply within few hours. Arranged via phone and found everything as arranged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kruger L
East Londn
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Garden Lodge guest house for business. The staff were friendly and organised and breakfast was served on time and was good value for money. I would recommend the Garden Lodge to professionals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Megan Thank you for the time you took to write the review. It was a absolute pleasure to have you. We strife to provide our guests with the best possible stay, so that you can feel at home, and that you have received value for your money. We serve a standard breakfast with a standard price, but can...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uitenhage
31.7 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
42 reviews
34.1 km away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
83 reviews
35.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
20 reviews
24.0 km away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#21 of 217 in Port Elizabeth
77 reviews
30.7 km away
Valley Guest House
Valley Guest House
#53 of 217 in Port Elizabeth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Lodge Guest House, B&B and self catering apartments, offer luxury guest rooms, each with their own entrance and bathrooms, two self -catering units that can sleep six, and comes fully equipped. All our units and rooms have Dstv channels, coffee and tea facilities, air -conditioning and a bar fridge. The premises offer under cover parking inside electric security gates, a pool and braai area. We are a short distance from the Addo Elephant Park and the Shamwari Game reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Garden Lodge Guest House

Address: 7 Rigg Street | Mosel, Uitenhage, Port Elizabeth 6229, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Uitenhage
Price Range: $52 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Garden Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Garden Lodge Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“State whether you are disabled or a elderly - no steps.”
 of 5 bubbles HendrikA676, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The self catering units are really nice and had absolutely everything in it.”
 of 5 bubbles Puntit, 3 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Flat 2A combined with room 2B for a large family”
 of 5 bubbles BigPeteW, 19 May 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay