We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (13)
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good42%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible11%
31 Jan 2018
“Don't Bother”
18 Oct 2017
“What a find!”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
14
14
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
14
14
6
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Our room was Roadside not Beach Front - up the back and old with a terrible smell. Definitely not what we expected and would never go back. Doubtless Bay is a pretty place with lots of other lovely accommodation.More

1  Thank Mandy M
Response from DriftwoodLodgeNZ, Owner at Driftwood LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry about the mix up with your booking ,poorly a misunderstanding with the booking agency As luck would have it we were able to find you something more suitable nearby and gave you a refund even though you said you would not give us a...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We were just driving by and stumbled across this gem! Owners are wonderful the setting is awesome right directly on the beach. The location is perfect to explore northland with mangonui just up the road. Perfect and highly recommended! We will be back for sure!

Thank AlexHowieson
Reviewed 22 February 2017

You honestly can't beat the location - absolutely beachfront & a beautiful beach at that too. But given the price I had much higher expectations for the condition of the room and the overall cleanliness. If you can overlook floors that look in need of...More

2  Thank Cigar0
Reviewed 25 January 2017

My auntie recommended this motel and what a lovely place to start of our trip around New Zealand. Absolutely perfect setting. My uncle had said the manager was laid back but that was fine and she was very obliging when I rang to say we...More

Thank MVP40
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The location is perfect if you want to be right on the beach. Beautiful! The owner Jackie was very helpful. Her dog Riptide was a hit with the kids too. Free use of kayaks was fun, plus boogie boards. Closest supermarket at Coopers beach is...More

Thank korimako1
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
USD 65 - USD 213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 65 - USD 213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (13)
Dining (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Driftwood Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Stay at Golden Sands Next Door!!"
Read review
"All rooms are sea facing so all a qgood position"
Read review
"We had the end room double and a single bed, only noise the ocean."
Read review
"Beautiful view,"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing