We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snowy Gums Chalet

Save
Share
Plum Pine Rd, Smiggin Holes, Kosciuszko National Park, Perisher Valley, New South Wales 2624 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Smiggin Holes
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Snowy Gums is located in Smiggin Holes (part of Perisher Ski Resort) and only 120m to the ski lifts. It has outstanding facilities such as massive spa, sauna, games room, drying room with boot dryer and guest laundry. Relax after a hard days ski around the huge fire as you enjoy a drink from the Cascades Bar and enjoy a fully cooked breakfast each morning and a 3 course dinner each night from the popular Waterfalls Restaurant, as part of your nightly room rate. You can drive right to the front door and unload all your ski gear and there is also limited parking at the chalet itself - so much better than lugging your gear up ski tube or loading and unloading into oversaw transport. Snowy Gums welcomes families and provides fun entertainment at night to make your stay in the snow a complete on-snow experience.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
94Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 26
  • 9
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Antonique F wrote a review Aug 2020
Sydney, Australia17 contributions9 helpful votes
Just spent 3 nights at snowy gums chalet at Smiggin Holes and can I just say wow. What a great place to stay. Great location, amazing food (and plenty of it) and a staff that is truly committed to making sure that they are completely COVID safe. Thank you to Leah, Hank and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely be back, if not this season next year for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jack J wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We came here during beginning of the season this year. Due to covid the management needed to put in a lot more restrictions such as two rounds of dinner serving groups, food & beverage only handled by staff. The serving staff became very busy. But they were very helpful in meeting our needs. Manager Lea was super friendly and welcoming. We were late first night and she called to checked if we are dining and saved us dinner. Conversations after dinner at the bar was also very fun. Our son said top 5 enjoyment of the trip includes friendly staff service of this place. We recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Damien wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
Our stay was the best ever you only have to walk about 120m to the ski lifts. you don't have to worry about the food the view and the staff were very nice would come again. If your going skiing in perished come to smiggin holes and book a room at snowy gums. 5/5
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Kate wrote a review Aug 2019
Brisbane, Australia15 contributions2 helpful votes
There was a lot of things wrong with the hotel. Firstly there was no bath mat in the room. Having a bath mat is a bare essential for a hotel. Secondly, there were only two powerpoints in the whole room, despite the fact that the room was for four people. This is unreasonable. Thirdly the walls are extremely thin and the room next door was playing loud music at 8pm. Finally, the shower was dirty, there was hair on the floor and in the drain. There was also hair in the sink.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lea-anne M, Manager at Snowy Gums Chalet
Responded 29 Aug 2019
Hi Kate Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and I am very disappointed that you did not bring this to our attention whilst you were in the lodge and we would have rectified straight away and I feel this is not a correct review on the property as I personally clean every room every day so I ensure our cleaning standards are always meet as you can see by all our other reviews. I am more than happy to discuss further if you would like to give us a call in relation to your stay Kindest Regards Lea
Read more
RMc wrote a review Aug 2019
Greater Sydney, Australia63 contributions55 helpful votes
We stayed during one of the heaviest snowfalls they’d ever seen. We had a bumpy start as we arrived while the staff were still trying to check people out and we’d clearly caught them on an off day. We also weren’t able to keep our car on the snow as it would have been snowed in by the time we left due to heavy snow storms that weekend, which made for an expenisve trip by the time we caught the snow tube back up. The accomodation was very close to the chairlifts and ski hire places. Having breakfast and dinner included was a nice touch and a convenient option. The food was good and the staff were nice. The room had all the basic ammenities, towels, simple toiletries and a tv. The walls were very thin and we could hear every person that went pass and even people talking in he bathroom next door. The common area was a nice touch, especially if you have kids or want to chat to other families. It did get a bit noisy at times though. There is a bar open in the evenings which is nice. We also had a bus full of highschool students stay while we were there which made it a little noisy, especially in the morning when everyone was in the foyer tryin to get out the door with their snow gear at the same time. Staff did stagger their meal times though so that the families and non-student guests could have their meals without being bombarded by students, so that was managed well. I think this place is great for families and young people. Not so much if you’re a light sleeper or a couple looking for a romantic getaway. We fetl it was a bit expensive for what it was, but you are obviously paying for the convience of staying on the snow, a few minutes walk from the chair lifts and if that’s what you want then that is what you will get from Snowygums.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lea-anne M, Manager at Snowy Gums Chalet
Responded 29 Aug 2019
Thankyou for taking the time to review our chalet. We take all our feedback seriously and in saying that we have very limited parking and in large snow storms which you experienced the safest way for our guests to get up the mountain is via the ski tube and yes it is expensive but I would rather our guests arrive safe then save a few dollars. Our lodge is set up for families and not really a place for a romantic getaway and if you had looked at our website you would have realised this prior to booking with us. Our staff go out of our way to accommadate all our guests and yes it is very hectic some morning in our foyer as everybody is trying to get on the slopes not sure how we are expected to fix this issue in the future but I ensure you I will take it ion board. And yes our lodge is getting older and when it was built we did not have the materials like we do now to stop the noise so something we have to live with as to replace our walls would mean we wouldnt be the most affordable on the mountain But thankyou again for your feedback
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 296 - USD 719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesKosciuszko National ParkPerisher ValleySmiggin Holes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Snowy Gums Chalet
Which popular attractions are close to Snowy Gums Chalet?
Nearby attractions include Perisher Blue Ski Resort (2.2 km), Perisher (2.0 km), and Smiggin Holes Ski Resort (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Snowy Gums Chalet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Snowy Gums Chalet?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Snowy Gums Chalet?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cuisine Restaurant & Bar, High Ground Coffee Bar, and Brunelli's Cafe.
Is Snowy Gums Chalet located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Smiggin Holes.