Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Memory at On On Hotel

19 Phang-Nga Rd. Talad Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000 Thailand
Traveller (1142)
Panorama at The Memory at On On Hotel
360
Panoramas (6)
The Memory Junior room
Room & Suite (245)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 132 hotels in Phuket Town
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
THE MEMORY AT ON ON HOTEL PHUKET Immerse yourself in the true spirit of Phuket Old Town with a homely stay at the historical Memory at On On Hotel. This is the oldest hotel in Phuket and has been meticulously renovated to maintain its rich Sino-Portuguese architecture, revealing a classic design that blends perfectly with the brand new modern amenities. The Memory at On On Hotel is a must-see attraction in itself and offers a totally unique experience for guests that want to discover the very best the Old Town has to offer. Our hosts will welcome you to your room or dormitory like an old friend into their home, which was how the story of this century old hotel began.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Car hire
Taxi service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

19 Phang-Nga Rd. Talad Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000 Thailand
Name/address in local language
738Reviews14Q+A84Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 400
  • 247
  • 75
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Thorp M wrote a review Feb 2020
Todos Santos, Mexico62 contributions83 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Memory at On On Hotel in Phuket Old Town is a wonderful property which happens to be the first hotel ever built in Phuket back in 1927. At the time, the mining of tin was a major economic force. In addition, Phuket was a major trading hub for the Pacific Rim. Traders from around the world came here for business. As a consequence, there was a significant Chinese and Portuguese influence...which this property still maintains today.

Now known affectionately as the "On On Hotel', this hotel was made famous for being
used to film the opening scene of the movie "The Beach" which starred Leonardo DiCaprio back in 2000.

I originally booked two nights but extended to five nights because the location was so great! Within one block you have terrific restaurants, bars, coffee shops, a pharmacy and grocery store. The staff is amazing and very welcoming. The atmosphere is low key and casual. I stayed in room 208 which is very large and has great character.
This particular room is $75 per night...Smaller rooms command $65 per night.

Given its location and the shops around it, the On On Hotel is a bargain!
If you love street food, there is the weekly Sunday Market from 5:30pm to 10pm
that starts just around the corner from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 208 is Great!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunAtThememory, Hotel Operation Manager at The Memory at On On Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear bajathorp, Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write this glowing and amazing review. I couldn't be happier to read your feedback follows to your recent stay with us at The Memory At On On Hotel. It's also my pleasure to personally met you and walked with you through Phuket Old Town to ensured that you received great information and memorable time. I have asked my team to see your experience here on a Tripadvisor, they are thrilled to read it! We are also very delighted to know that you had wonderful time during your trip to Phuket Old Town. Thank you for visiting our historic hotel and beautiful city. My team and I look forward to hosting you again on your future trip to Phuket. Sincerely, Aditpak K. (Sun) Operation Manager The Memory At On On Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pulkvedis wrote a review Jan 2020
Riga, Latvia15 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall this is a great Hotel. Enterior is authentic and can be seen European architecture influence. We were staying in 212 (room was with windows facing inner yard and therefore was quite dark)with 2 kids but unfortunately this Hotel do not provide option for extra bed for 2nd kid. Breakfast can be bought separately for each day. Please allow time for breakfast because preparation of breakfast takes about 30-40 minutes (please re-confirm the order at breakfast) This is a Hotel where Leonardo DiCaprio was filmed in movie 'Beach' like staying in Bankgkok (room 204)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: No elevator, rooms facing windows inner side more dark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunAtThememory, Hotel Operation Manager at The Memory at On On Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Pullkvedis, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a great experience at The Memory At On On Hotel. I have shared your comments with our team, it's very valuable to us in helping us improve our service and quality. Thank you for the opportunity and choosing to stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back to our hotel and our historic city. Sincerely, Aditpak K. (Sun) Operation Manager The Memory At On On Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liztravelsandeats wrote a review Jan 2020
Haarlem, The Netherlands729 contributions285 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was kind and attentive. We had our laundry done there - they took care of it while we went to a show - by the time we got back it was already folded and ready to give back to us.

Disliked · The photos are a bit misleading. We were convinced we would get the blue room featured in the photos but we got a much smaller room. Not the end of the world, but still a bummer.
We were in room 105. Clean and nice room. However, sometimes in the evening and early morning you could hear noise of people talking (I, however, am a light sleeper, my husband never heard anything)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunAtThememory, Hotel Operation Manager at The Memory at On On Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Liztravelsandeats, I am glad to see your feedback of your recent stay at The Memory At On On Hotel. My team are so happy to hear that you noticed their efforts and this would be another of their encouragement. We regret that we could not accommodate your preference of room concept. We wish to welcome you back to our hotel and regain your confidence. Again, thank you for visiting The Memory At On On Hotel, Phuket Old Town. Warmest Regards, Aditpak K. (Sun) Operation Manager The Memory At On On Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Little Wandering Wren wrote a review Aug 2020
Phuket, Thailand825 contributions228 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel presents well if you love history and decor that is full of antiquities from travel in a bygone era. The location in the centre of old Phuket town is a great one for wandering the streets.

I was travelling as a solo female traveller and the hotel felt safe and welcoming. The reception staff were not really warm and engaging like I experienced elsewhere in Phuket old town.

Room 202 is charming but cramped, the bathroom looks newly renovated and everything is beautifully clean. Well done housekeeping, I love the towel art and the orchid flowers dotted around. On the wall is a display of carpenter tools, it's fun and quirky.

The bed is comfortable, but the room is in a corridor so there was noise from people outside. The walls are paper thin so beware you can hear everything from the adjoining room.

They tell you it is one of only two which have a balcony but you can’t swing a cat in here, I would rather not have the balcony room and have more space. Outside is an old bench that needs replacing and the balcony is internal facing, so no view.

There is no swimming pool but that didn’t worry me. There was no breakfast and no attempt to help guests with this did. Much is made of the free minibar which contained two drinks of fizzy pop! A fruit bowl or some snacks would be a nice gesture at this time. A list of suggested breakfast cafes nearby would be helpful.

It just feels like a hotel that has lost its way without the people staying. The prices are reduced compared with what people normally pay and so would I suspect is the service. There was nothing that you could say was poor, just nothing on offer that you could say was really good. We all appreciate this is a tough time for Thai tourism but beware ON, ON if you let things slip too much it is a higher climb to get back to where I suspect you deserve to be.

Start with re-energising the unresponsive reservations team. After several attempts had failed I finally made a reservation with a walk-in booking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pay more money to get the best rooms, at the back of the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sun Aditpak, Innkeeper at The Memory at On On Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Dear Little W, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Memory At On On Hotel. I regret that we were not to your satisfaction and didn't receive a five-star from your review. This is not what we strive for. I and my team sorry to hear that you encountered not a good service. I have shared your suggestions with the team, thank you for your comment! However, I am glad that overall of your stay is beautiful. Thank you for the opportunity and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and Phuket Old Town soon. Warmest regards, Aditpak K. (Sun) Operation Manager The Memory At On On Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary Cooney wrote a review Feb 2020
Munich, Germany50 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in old town, the Memory at On On is a little piece of colonial history that made our short Phuket experience all the more special. Extremely helpful and friendly staff were complemented by stylish rooms, a tasty breakfast and handy walking distance to a range of dining and drinking options. We stayed on our arrival in Thailand for several nights and due to circumstances, several of our party had to return to Phuket during our stay and rebooked this little treasure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SunAtThememory, Hotel Operation Manager at The Memory at On On Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear 143murielb, Thank you for sharing your excellent review! We are so appreciate of the kind words about unique historic building of our hotel and we love hearing how our associates took great care of you, our guest. And I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying here with us and that you loved exploring Phuket Old Town. Thank you visiting The Memory At On On Hotel, Phuket Old Town and wish your travel brings you back to our city. Sincerely, Aditpak K. (Sun) Operation Manager The Memory At On On Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael wrote a review Sept 2020
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a room at this hotel and were unable to use our booking as the Australian Government has prohibited Australian citizens from travelling overseas. Despite our other Phuket hotel providing a full refund, the Memory at On On only offered a credit for future travel until October 2020 - clearly a credit we will be unable to use given the current C19 restrictions. To add insult to injury, the hotel has not responded to my most recent correspondence with them over a month ago. Extremely disappointing!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sun Aditpak, Innkeeper at The Memory at On On Hotel
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Dear Michaelkenny, I am sorry to hear from your experience and do regret that you were disappointed with the booking. I trust that our reservation team respond the situation of COVID-19 pandemic following to the worldwide agency policy. Most of our guests received full refund in case they were unable to travel and contacted us before travel date. I have investigated your case and found that you contacted us to seek the cancellation policy, we have responded same day in March. And we had informed you to confirm us if you need to proceed cancel or amend. Unfortunately, we had no response from you and until the hotel reopened again and we received "no show" status on your booking arrival date which we had to followed the booking agent policy. Later, we'd got your email in August requested for refund which was unfortunately unable to refund. I would be pleasure to assist with your further questions, please contact me via op.mgr@thememoryhotel.com if you wish. I and my team apologize for your inconvenience and thank you for your understanding. We wish you safe and stay healthy! Best Regards, Aditpak K. (Sun) operation Manager The Memory At On On Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
888travel wrote a review Jan 2022
Karon, Thailand383 contributions233 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a great location in the Old Town and is visually stunning. It’s like a cross between a museum and a film set which means that people/tourists from outside or just wander in and take photos.

I had a room on the ground floor which was small but functional but as it was in the inner courtyard, there is no balcony or anything like that to sit out on - you are essentially in a fairly dark room with closed shutters and the door shut. Also, The fountain outside made the tiles slippery so be careful when walking.

There are currently no food/breakfast facilities at the hotel but plenty of restaurants nearby. You can get rooms for under £25 a night so well worth it for the one night experience. The Sunday walking street market is literally one block away and recommended for a stroll.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay on a Sunday night to enjoy the Sunday walking street market
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabby W wrote a review Sept 2023
Northampton, United Kingdom80 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst this hotel is a storied historic landmark, it’s still a cheap and cheerful no thrills hotel underneath. Our room was very comfortable, attractive and well equipped (great to have free drinks in the mini-bar) but I felt that design and storytelling had been prioritised over comfort in the hotel’s public areas, with no comfortable seating. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay (3/4 nights maximum) if you want a comfortable base to explore the old town and surrounding areas from and sitting on a beach/by a pool for your whole trip is not your thing.

Tips: Food at Tukabkhao and Tian Tian desserts across the road were exemplary. Don’t book taxis through the hotel, download and use Bolt for much cheaper and more knowledgeable transport.

Minor complaints: there was a stain (looked like a male bodily fluid!) on the sofa in our room, which I noticed straight away and brought to the attention of reception staff. A woman came to have a look, touched the stain, and told me it had been there for a long time and housekeeping had tried to remove it but failed. She showed me another room, but I didn’t want to change rooms because the one she offered had no external facing windows (room 212, the windows face onto the corridor). I asked for the stain to be cleaned again or for the sofa to be switched, and I was told that they’d already tried. On further inspection myself, the cover of the sofa was just a single mattress fitted sheet and could have been removed/changed/cleaned very easily. The inaction on this uncleanliness put a dampener on my stay from the start.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We didn’t find the area too noisy, but had asked for a room away from the street when booking, so...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF897 wrote a review Nov 2023
Melbourne, Australia18 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just had a wonderful 3 night stay at On On, the perfect way to experience a different side of Phuket. It is the oldest hotel on the island, situated in the centre of Phuket Old Town, and has 100 years of character ingrained in its building and features. If you want an experience that is different to the typical Phuket beach resort then look no further. The old world charm and grace of this hotel, together with its lovely and accommodating staff, make for a memorable time. There is no breakfast as such but the hotel offers traditional Peranakan snacks and drinks in a lovely self-serve area upstairs - just another way they do things differently. The location is easy walking distance of all the Old Town sights, and beaches are only a 20-40 minute ride away depending on where you choose. A great find!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
madtat wrote a review 10 Apr
Riverside, Rhode Island1,353 contribution140 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked here on a Sunday night so I could experience the Sunday Night Market, be close to the Rassada pier for an early morning ferry and to spend the night under the roof of the oldest hotel in Phuket and the film location of The Beach. The hotel is beautiful decorated to the point where tourists wander in the front door to take photos; lots of photos. Some question if the building is a museum by the incredible artwork on display. The rooms are equally tastefully decorated with a high end feeling of stepping back in time. If the hotel itself isn’t enough to make you smile the employees will. Everyone was so friendly and helpful; I felt at home right away. I’ve slept in some unique hotels but this place is definitely at the top of the list for spectacular. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Traffic is ridiculously bad on the approach to the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fionetta C asked a question June 2019
1 contribution
Are there any USB charging ports?
Answer from Mark H
Stockport, United Kingdom103 contributions107 helpful votes
No there were no USB ports in the room , bring a converter and a multi USB adapter
Isabel S asked a question Sept 2017
Phnom Penh, Cambodia6 contributions1 helpful vote
We travel for 10people, how much does it cost from Phuket airport to the hotel ?
Answer from Jpbutton13
Mansfield, United Kingdom71 contributions48 helpful votes
I can't remember exactly how much it was , but if you come out of the airport they have a taxi desk and they have standard pricing which is cost effective . The queues can be quite long and it seems like it's is going wrong , but it does all work out For. 3 of us the cost was around 30gbp
Ohaske asked a question Mar 2017
10 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi is there 24 check in? Are there rooms with a tubs in the rooms?
Answer from Thanaphol T
Bangkok, Thailand228 contributions99 helpful votes
24 hrs check in shouldn't be problem but you have to check with hotel about the bath tub.
Answer from HäRûìí F
Bangkok77 contributions8 helpful votes
It is located on old town city. There are dorm and private room. They can operate One Day trip Phi Phi Island and Jame Bond Island. P/U+D/O at The hotel.
clare m wrote a tip 14 Apr
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you talk to the staff as they have plenty of knowledge of area - and a special hello to Pop, Kiw and Allain!"
Read full review
madtat wrote a tip 10 Apr
Riverside, Rhode Island1,353 contribution140 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Traffic is ridiculously bad on the approach to the hotel."
Read full review
Punrada Siripakkamongkol wrote a tip 3 Apr
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just book and stay there, you will love it. The local snack is very delicious. Service staff is excellent especially Pop and Nui. great ^^"
Read full review
Royza911 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom147 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Loved Old Town - Only 40 minutes drive to Patong if you want to see the mad side of Phuket."
Read full review
Mariam wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No food option in the hotel. You need to get food from the restaurants outside"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Phuket Town area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$67 - AU$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandPhuketPhuket Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MEMORY AT ON ON HOTEL (AU$67): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Phuket, Thailand) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Memory at On On Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Memory at On On Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Endless Summer Phuket (0.3 km), Sunday Walking Street Market (Lard Yai) (0.3 km), and Old Phuket Town (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Memory at On On Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at The Memory at On On Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Memory at On On Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Memory at On On Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Day & Night of Phuket, Surf and Turf by Soul Kitchen, and Amore Mexican Tapas & Bar.
Does The Memory at On On Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Memory at On On Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Memory at On On Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Memory at On On Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
All Phuket Town HotelsPhuket Town Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Phuket Town
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars