We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Phuket OldTown Hostel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Phuket OldTown Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Phuket OldTown Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 26: English reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I have rarely been so angry at an establishment while on vacation. We booked almost a month in advance for an A/C room and a pickup from the airport. We took care to repeat multiple times, right up to our day of departure that we would be arriving at 00:50 AM at the airport and that we did not want...

1Thank iluvpinguinz
sunanta, Owner at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, We deeply apologize for the bad experience you got. What happened was that the taxi driver we contacted forgot about the booking, despite having taken the fare, and our staff wasn't aware of that. Indeed, we, the hostel, earned nothing by providing that taxi service to you. However, it is still our responsibility, so if you could...

Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at the Old Town Hostel earlier this month. I had to pay online via paypal. Positives: the room was clean, the air con was new and very good, the bed was comfortable, and there was free wifi. Negatives: the rooms are all on one corridor (that I saw) and the walls are paper thin, so you can hear...

Thank lovely_lotty
sunanta, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback and sorry for your negative impression. Here are our answers. :-) 1. Our walls are made up to the standard. Still we're well aware of possible noises that could disturb sensitive guests. This is the reason why we do not put TV sets into the rooms, but have one in the common area for...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Me and my friends booked this hostel online for 4nights stay which requires us to pay via paypal with additional charges. The floor and walls are made up of wood, so it makes lots of noises and little sound-filter. The corridor and stairs are not properly lighted and the switches are not found anywhere. Is not convenient and easy to...

2Thank Mephala
sunanta, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback and sorry for your negative impression. Here are our answers. :-) 1. We do provide drinking water. Perhaps, our staff forgot that when you checked in. I'm sorry on their behalf and will put a sign at the counter. 2. We'll make sure that enough lights are on at night for our guests. 3....

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Like a previous reviewer, we really enjoyed the location in "old town" Phuket - close to markets, local buses, good restaurants, etc. The hostel is very clean and airy, free breakfast and free wifi in cafe area (reasonable rates for PCs there too). Staff were really helpful and friendly and we got a good price on a local tour through...

Thank greymousie
Phuket O, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you've had a good experience here.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Hostel is clean with breakfast included, reasonably priced ( double: fan room - 450baht, a/c room 550baht )unfortunately most of rooms have windows facing corridor… anyway you can always check room first before you pay so it is up to you; I stayed there only for one night so I didn’t mind. There is only one thing I want to...

1Thank tortuga779
sunanta, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review

Making understanding According to Tortuga77 ' s comment about the overcharging of the trip to Lanta Island. We would like to expain that we get the net price at 550 Baht from the ferry owner. Not 250-300 baht as you understand. Please check to get a correct information. We really concern about your comment. Because to be honest to our...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2010

A Phuket Town backpacker / budget no-frills bargain at 400 B a night for a fan room, bathroom and breakfast. The young women who work there are fun and friendly. It's nice and new so beds are great and everything is fresh and clean. I loved the location as the Old Town is an up and coming old Chinese area...

Thank firexhorse
Phuket O, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you've had a good vacation here. :-)

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (20)
Family/Play Areas (1)
View from Room (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Bathroom (1)
Other (13)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.8 km away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
0.1 km away
Gotum Hostel & Restaurant
Gotum Hostel & Restaurant
#30 of 210 in Phuket Town
49 reviews
0.1 km away
Ming Shou Boutique House
Ming Shou Boutique House
#17 of 177 in Phuket Town
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bed Hostel Phuket
Bed Hostel Phuket
#1 of 12 in Talat Yai
70 reviews
0.5 km away
Quip Bed & Breakfast
Quip Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 177 in Phuket Town
180 reviews
0.2 km away
Ai Phuket Hostel
Ai Phuket Hostel
#8 of 210 in Phuket Town
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Phuket OldTown Hostel

Address: 42 Krabi Rd, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Price Range: $16 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phuket OldTown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Phuket OldTown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket OldTown Hostel Thailand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Phuket OldTown Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't need to bring the towel because there were towels available inside the room”
jgangqinp, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room are comfortable,bed are new.”
KelvinCK928, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Come with family or griup of friends, recommend a family room.”
589jjk, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Check the room before accepting to be sure the walls of restroom reach the ceiling and the hot water functions properly.”
buck2232, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Stay here by all means, just don't book or buy anything extra from them.”
GoonerAdz, 25 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates