We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had guests arriving from overseas . I had to phone Askari to fit us in for a last minute game drive . The service in the phone was fantastic ! Game drives are in the morning and at three in the afternoon , I asked them if they could squeeze me in for a one o clock one and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hekpoortheksie
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was fortunate enough to spend 3 days and 2 nights at Askari Lodge. The place is amazing and the service is excellent. We had great meals and the views are spectacular. I cannot think of a better venue for a work conference. The only downside was that we worked from 8 till late and never had the opportunity to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beyond the fact that on our arrival...no one knew of us....we were patient to wait while the problem is sorted. They showed us away with an apology of...sorry we dont know what happened. We the decided to give them a second chance by bookibg a game drive for the next morning. I paid cash in full. We then had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal H
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chantal Hartman Thank for your feedback and while we do welcome all forms of criticism be it positive or negative I do however feel that yours is unfairly warranted and miss directed. You were not staying at Askari Lodge and you, yourself made a booking with Usiba lodge where you were staying. Usiba lodge failed to even make the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed a mid week break with a friend . It might not have enough entertainment for some but we needed a peaceful retreat and the quiet was bliss. Lovely peaceful setting with our rooms overlooking the dams so we could sit on the stoep and watch the animals come down to drink while enjoying the bird life. More comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this lodge because of the game drives and the Historical ox wagons and other memorabilia. The game viewing was very disappointing. The only elephants were the tame ones that visited the camp and could be fed. I complained about the poor maintenance of rooms and bad room service. It was noisy at night as there was a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELEANOR H
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was such a nice n clean place , great deco n the garden is beautiful. I enjoyed the privacy along with the extra care taken into ensuring our stay is satisfactory. I loved the food n restaurant stuff. The elephant experience was the best of all .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmah L
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. The Team and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Askari Lodge in the very near future . kind regards Graham Shipway

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at Askari for three nights and had a game drive experience. The food was really divine, the rooms neat and serviced daily. The staff was friendly and I loved the spa experience as well. Even the picnic was worth it, although it rained, they laid this out in our room so we would eat and leisure and loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

The Team and I would like to thank you for your excellent feedback. We are so glad that we could make your stay so memorable ! It is feedback like this that makes the staff go the extra mile. Look forward to seeing you back in the near future. kind regards Graham Shipway

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

my family and I enjoyed the luxurious self catering unit. the kids had a wonderful exp with the big 5. fun fun fun. On the 30th it was my daughter's 3rd birthday so I spoke to the manager to organise a cake for her. oh wow I expected to pay but they did not charge for the cake. thank u...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenanao R
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

thank you for your super review! the Team and I hope that the memories that were made on her birthday will last a life time. We hope that we will be able to share some more Askari Magic with your family very shortly. Kind regards Graham Shipway

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

On 27 December 2016 my family and I stayed at Askari for 3 nights. This was a second visit, having visited in 2011. The facility Five years later the lodge does need an upgrade. The rooms do look tired, from the furniture to the old and dirty carpets. The showers also need renewal. The roof was leaking and there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KgaboMokgatla
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

thank you for your honest feedback. We welcome all forms of constructive criticism both the positive and the negative ! We are set to do up grades this year in the rooms . I have asked the team to revisit the breakfast buffet with a view to changing it. We do hope that it wont be 6 years before you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here for two nights that included a game drive. We were happy enough with the quality of the rooms, services and general ambiance of the place. Pros: Good food, nice location, informative and interesting game drive, good number of animals, interesting museum. Cons: Booking via their website proved to be problematic when we turned up - always call...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick A
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very valuable feedback. The Team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us (once you we checked in). I am very sorry that your booking had not pulled through from our web site I am not sure why this happened . We hope that you will come and visit us again shortly. Kind...

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hekpoort
0.0 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.0 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
51 reviews
0.0 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
241 reviews
0.0 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
169 reviews
0.0 km away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 6 in Muldersdrift
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Askari Game Lodge & Spa is situated on the Plumari Africa Game Reserve in the Magaliesberg, just over an hour from Johannesburg or Pretoria and offers guests a memorable Big 5 wildlife experience within a malaria free environment. Plumari Africa Game Reserve is set within a pristine wilderness area of over 5000 hectares with natural African bushveld and an abundance of flora, fauna, birdlife and wildlife. Two game drives, each approximately 2 - 2,5 hours in duration, are scheduled daily. Elephant Experiences entails interaction with our elephants, which include a 'touch and feed' experience. The main lodge, which is in fact the old Bodenstein family farmhouse, overlooks the Elephant Dam and invites guests to take a step back in time while admiring South African decor pieces dating back to the 1800's. Slipper baths, a coal stove, wash stands, luggage chests, antique Oregon cupboards and tables are subtly placed within the luxury four-star surrounding, to emphasize the captivating history of the Magaliesberg area. Askari Lodge has one of the largest private collections of ox wagons, carts and other animal drawn vehicles from the period 1800 to 1900. A variety of stone and iron-age arte facts, items from the Boer War and San Bushmen rock carvings tell the history of the area, which is also known for the nearby Battle of Nooitgedacht. Examples are available in the museum and guided bush walks take guests through areas where many stone carvings can be found. In contrast with the rich Boere and Afrikaner history depicted by the main farmhouse decor, the Day Visitors Center is abundant with African symbology, rich earthy colours and unique African decor focal points. The two contrasting decor themes pay homage to the history while highlighting the significant influence of the indigenous African tribes of the area. Askari Game Lodge caters for romantic getaways, conferences, teambuilding initiatives, training courses and weddings in both the main lodge and Day Visitors Centre. Nature lovers and birding enthusiasts will find the experience most rewarding, while stressed city dwellers will leave feeling rejuvenated and well-rested. Askari Lodge - the legend lingers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Address: 1 Doornspruit Road | Magaliesberg, Hekpoort 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Hekpoort
Price Range: $235 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Askari Game Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Askari Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Wexford, Ireland
Wexford, Ireland

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room would be great :)”
 of 5 bubbles lancea53, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms next to restaurant n spa have more beautiful view”
 of 5 bubbles alvinah1letsoalo, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to choose rooms located near the spa”
 of 5 bubbles denisem98, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets 20 onward have a good view of the lake”
  • Sunset in the bush
 of 5 bubbles 626nicka, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure you are not sharing unless you want to”
 of 5 bubbles 985lindib, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5