We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 614: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
 Click to rate
England
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean and comfortable. Food was ok, plentiful breakfast. Pool and sauna were a bonus. Very convenient for a pot stop just off tha A1 was great for us on our way from Milton Keynes to Newcastle. Got a great deal thru Tripadvisor

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickyH
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MickyH Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is a pity that you could only spend one night in this area. There is such a wealth of things to see and do here in North Yorkshire, we are the ideal place to stay. I do hope you took the opportunity to enjoy a stroll around...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay, Large hotel very comfortably furnished in Country house style. Good leisure facilities with pool. Pleasant helpful staff. Extensive menu. Full breakfast . We also had afternoon tea. Large comfortable bedroom. Car park. Centre of town and near riverside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen H Thank you for your review after staying with us and a five score too! To read that you found us to be a great place to stay we could not ask for more. Our afternoon tea cakes, scones, desserts and biscuits are baked here at the Hotel by Diane, she is just about to make crème brulees...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night in March and was pleasantly surprised! Parking was easy, reception lady polite and efficient. Our room was very nice,comfortable,clean and tidy and the bathroom had everything you needed. The only complaint was the room was too hot but opening the window solved that! What we really liked was the pool/spa facilities, it's a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jayne G Wonderful that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay. Great to read you found everything you needed here in the Hotel. We supply cooling fans in the bedrooms in case find your room too warm when you return. I am pleased that you took full advantage of the leisure club during your stay. It is a lovely...

macclesfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have recently stayed here for one night as a gift from our daughter and were a little unsure at first as we would never have thought of staying in Boroughbridge. The hotel is situated in the ideal place for exploring the Yorkshire dales although Boroughbridge itself is very small. The hotel is very clean and friendly. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silkmoth
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Silkmoth Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying here at the Hotel. We take a pride in the Hotel and the service which we give, it is great when you have enjoyed your stay. The Hotel is steeped in history, if only the walls could talk!! You must return to use the leisure club...

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a little gem! Creaky floors and fascinating history give the place great charm. Staff from the front desk to restaurant to spa were friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable and well looked after. Dales breakfast really good! Will go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hyperb0le
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hyperb0le Thank you for your review we really appreciate your comments. The Hotel certainly has a fascinating history. We do try to ensure you enjoy your stay with us, the Housekeeping team look after the rooms. Our breakfast will always set you up for the Day, looking forward to seeing you again Call us direct to book 01423 322328...

Rotherham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in March on a Groupon deal which made it extremely good value. The Hotel has an interesting history and stand in the centre of Boroughbridge. Entrance to the car park is easily missed, as we found out. We received a warm welcome from the friendly receptionist and were booked in very quickly. The room was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpudRotherham
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spudrotherham Thank you for taking the time to place your review after staying and a five score - we are thrilled! The Hotel is steeped in history and is certainly part of a great town. I am pleased that you have had such a Regal stopover. We take a pride in the Hotel and the service which we offer...

Merseyside
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Crown Hotel on several occasions ,it's a lovely hotel in a good location. Perfect for visiting Harrogate, York and surrounding areas. The rooms are clean and comfortable . The hotel staff are friendly and have always made us feel welcome, The restaurant has a wide varied menu excellent food, and attentive staff, there are lounges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlieandme
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charlieandme Thank you for your review, it is lovely to welcome you both back time after time. Thank you for your comments there is nothing we could add! Looking forward to your return and soon Kind regards Tracey

Newcastle
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First impressions do count and was a little disappointed with the rubbish accumulated at door to the hotel from the car park -but it was a windy day. The bucket at the door part filled with fag ends did not add to the ambiance! Check in was fast, efficient and cheerfully done. We were allocated a superior room - instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northumberlandscout
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Northumberlandscout Thank you for your review, I can say to be rated below average would seem more unfair than unkind. I do apologise that we did not come up to your expectations, this is something which is very rare. We take the experience our guests have here very seriously. It would have been good to have been given the...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I regularly visited The Crown in the 80's when on business in the Ripon area, so when I recognised it on a Group-on deal for a 2 night break, it was a must and my wife and I were not disappointed. Warmly welcomed by Tracey at reception and given details of the hotel before we unpacked in our comfortable room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stewart B Thank you for placing your review after staying, it was lovely to meet you both. All the staff read our reviews and I assure you your comments will be very well received. We are certainly very proud of the Hotel and the service which we offer. We aim to ensure you have a great stay and reading...

Thirsk
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Went with my best friend last week for afternoon tea and swim, sauna, etc. I had forgotten to call beforehand to let them know that I was vegan, but when I told the receptionist she said it was no problem and that the chef would sort something out for me. We were given lovely fresh thick towels and robes, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crazyhairclaire
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crazyhairclaire Thank you for your review after enjoying your spa day with us, your comments are great and a five score - we could not ask for better I am pleased that you were well looked after and had a great afternoon. It is good that you would definitely come back, because we would definitely welcome you back. Feel...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boroughbridge
9.7 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
731 reviews
9.2 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
442 reviews
10.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
9.2 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
8.3 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Price Range: $130 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel Boroughbridge, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are quiet”
MickyH, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was at the back so was quiet. As this hotel in on the main road it MAY be noisy but I could not say.”
150maureenh, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure about the other rooms but ours was clean and quiet - just as we like it. But there is no lift.”
SpudRotherham, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ones at the front a little noisy from the pub across the road, but didn't prevent us having a good sleep !”
O1007RPisabelg, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“None spring to mind”
lyndon23uk, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5