We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 537: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 7 March 2017

This is a fairly basic lodge with very friendly staff and good food(buffet for breakfast/lunch/dinner) and drinks! Ideal for a few nights while trekking in the area. The rooms get pretty cold at night but they lit a fire every night in our room and also gave us hot water bottles, lovely! Also a huge bonus, they cleaned the very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank expatDubai
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm greetings from 3 B Hotels team. Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you and further appreciate that you took time to post your feedback on this forum. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and promise to meet more of your expectations next time you visit. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public...

Warren, Ohio
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Maybe we were spoiled by our wonderful previous accommodations (8 nights at Asilia camps and Machweo Wellness Retreat) but Gorilla Mountain View Lodge needs some help. Views/setting were great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was good with a wide variety available (buffet style). Now for the downside. At welcome little information provided about the lodge and services available related...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jgroner4
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a million for staying with us and sharing your feedback on this forum. Kindly accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations in some areas. I would like to assure you that we highly value guest feedback in efforts to ensure that we always deliver the best which is our ultimate goal. Our management...

Reviewed 4 March 2017

The lodge is an ideal place to stay in Volcanoes National Park. We had a large comfortable traditionally built villa with gorgeous views over Mount Sabyno. The lodge was simple but very comfortable and the log fire lit in the villa every evening was a treat. The days are warm but the nights very chilly. The two hot water bottles...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vicki F
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 2 March 2017

It's all about the gorillas (and YES they ARE fantastic) but it is good to have a nice place to sleep and eat at in between tours. Very friendly staff, always with a smile, good variety of food and smaller selection of beers, wine and drinks are all you need. As nights were chilly, we got a bucket of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UllaBella018
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent trip to Rwanda and taking your time to share such a nice feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and meals. The team at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge are eager to host you in near future. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager.

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Set in a rural area, this old lodge provides great service, cuisine, view of three volcanoes - a real stay in the country. No request is too much for management. A welcome log fire welcomes you not only in the lounge, but also in your chalet on cold nights (January!!). Even your boots are cleaned (and delivered to your chalet)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schnapsie
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time to share a lovely feedback on this forum. We are glad that you had a nice stay at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge. The team here are eager to host you again next time you visit Rwanda. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager.

Reviewed 2 March 2017

The Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is a mixed blessing. The setting is lovely and the cabins are spread out across the grounds. The main lodge is cozy and dining room quite large. The food was plentiful and good. The staff were helpful in trying to accommodate our departure schedule. Our cabin was spacious but the decor was tired and dated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlewk
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your valued feedback and many thanks for staying with us We regret that you feel your expectations were not met, accept our apologies. Looking forward to host you again in near future so you can experience the changes made to serve our guest better. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager.

Accord, New York
Reviewed 1 March 2017

My beautiful private cottage was a delight. Each evening, a porter arrived to start a wood fire in the open wood stove. Mornings, I stepped out the door to witness the mist surrounding volcanoes directly in front of me. There was a large bed, ample room for clothes, luggage, etc. Then a small step-down to a living area facing large...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carole K
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the wonderful testimony you have shared about your stay with us. Thanks a million for having chosen to stay with us during your last trip to Rwanda. It's such a joy to know that you have nice memories of our property and services. Looking forward to host you again soon. Murakoze cyane! Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge,...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

The lodge restaurant service is very good.The housekeeping is poor.The rooms are very cold only one hotwater bottle.The walk to the cabanas are long.The lobby ambiance is very good serving tea and fire places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SE s
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent stay at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge and taking your time to share your valued feedback. We have carefully noticed the downsides you mentioned and rectified, kindly accept our sincere apologies. Looking forward to host again soon. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager.

Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel was perfectly fine with good beds. The food was good. As was standard with all of Rwanda the staff was aggressive about tipping to the point where we tried our best to carry our own bags etc. while avoid being chased to hand over our muddy boots after trekking. The views were great when it was clear enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Okopie
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 of our 3 nights here on our trip to Volcanoes National Park for gorilla trekking. I say 2 of 3 since the lodge overbooked and booted us on arrival to a nearby property. That's pretty inconvenient to have to unpack, trek the next day, repack and move. On that alone, I ding this property's ratings. This practice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amybatt

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (453)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinigi
5.0 km away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
2.7 km away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 8 in Kinigi
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Flame Tree Village
Flame Tree Village
#8 of 110 in Kigali
53 reviews
3.9 km away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#5 of 8 in Kinigi
18 reviews
39.1 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge stands amidst real wilderness with panoramic views of Rwanda’s volcano mountains and located just 1km away from the Volcano National Park, making it the desired location for Gorilla Trekking enthusiastic guests. Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is surrounded by an exciting and rich biodiversity of shrubs, trees and various bird species among them the Grey Crowned Cranes or Balearica regulorum. The Hotel has an eco-tourist approach whereas Natural Conservation is a priority and the local community is empowered. The Intore (local Cultural dancers) will spice your stay and your days at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge will always be memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Address: Volcanoes National Park, Kinigi, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Kinigi
Price Range: $448 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Gorilla View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Gorilla View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Gorilla View Hotel Ruhengeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago
Vancouver, BC

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's a long way to walk from some rooms to the restaurant”
412greena, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a fireplace, it gets chilly at night.”
radiogirlpuppy, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Weaver Cottage 3 looks directly at the mountain”
981vickif, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newer section. I did and was very happy with "Eagle 12"”
NIFZ, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room closer to the main building.”
lorettaz560, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5