We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!CLICK HERE TO BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Charlestown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
At the Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel will stand out among other hotels in Charlestown,NSW. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at any Best Western hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Afrikaans, Japanese and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:CLICK HERE TO BOOK DIRECT & SAVE

Location

290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290 Australia
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
1325Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 748
  • 418
  • 94
  • 35
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
462ray wrote a review Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
This place is striving for excellence. Check in is very professional and helpful. House staff do an absolutely great job. AC functioned well. Bed was very soft with soft towels and great pillows. The shower and bathroom was well set out and very clean. Requires another towel rack as it only has one. Bar fridge was well stocked with heaps of options. Price could be lowered
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
floydandindie wrote a review Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia17 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Comfortable hotel at a very reasonable price. Will try the restaurant next time. Great place for an overnight or weekend in Newcastle. Still close to everything without paying too much. They have several stations to charge electric cars .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Hi Floyd and Indie, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our central location and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Maree Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rod B wrote a review Feb 2024
Port Macquarie, Australia2 contributions
I stay at Best Western Charlestown regularly and is always clean, quiet and great service. The rooms a re very comfortable well appointed and finished. The view from the newer wing over the treetops is fantastic considering the location in the middle of Charlestown
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Rod, Thank you for your kind feedback. We are thrilled to hear that we are your accomodation of choice in the area and your stays are always pleasant. We're very fortunate to enjoy a central location, while being surrounded by a stunning backdrop of lush bushland. We look forward to your next stay with us. Warm regards - Maree, Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stuart and Shir... P wrote a review Feb 2024
Tamworth, Australia31 contributions13 helpful votes
This Hotel is the BEST in every way.. 100%service ALWAYS .. NOTHING IS A PROBLEM for any of their staff. the rooms are spotlessly clean,The beds are so very comfortable . Great location and central to everything . You cannot fault a thing at this Hotel .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Stuart, We are truly overwhelmed by your kind words – this review is simply the "BEST"! Your appreciation means the world to us, and we are genuinely flattered by your feedback. It fills us with immense pride to know that our efforts have been recognised and appreciated by you. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warm regards, Maree - Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lauraA8731GP wrote a review Feb 2024
Gold Coast, Australia1 contribution
Stayed here for a work trip. Even though rooms were a little dated, everything was very clean and comfortable. The customer service from every employee I encountered was amazing and the room service menu was great. Really good quality food. Will absolutely return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Laura, We sincerely appreciate your kind feedback regarding your recent stay. It brings us great joy to learn that our team provided you with the exceptional hospitality that we pride ourselves on. Knowing that we are your preferred choice of accommodation is truly gratifying, and we eagerly anticipate the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Travelingwoaclue wrote a review Feb 2024
Beaverton, Oregon37 contributions7 helpful votes
The 2 biggest issues that I had with this property was the internet was terrible. Connection was lost several times during my 2 night stay. I am refering to 25 or more instances. While on the internet, the connection speed was slow, very slow. Second issue is that this property does not have an elevator.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We value your feedback and embrace constructive criticism from our guests as an opportunity for improvement. Regrettably, we are currently experiencing issues with one of our routers however, due to the discrepancy between your TripAdvisor username and your reservation name, we're unable to identify the precise location requiring investigation. We acknowledge the significance of reliable Wi-Fi for both work and leisure and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. Our reception desk operates 24/7, and our knowledgeable staff are readily available to assist guests encountering Wi-Fi challenges. Furthermore, our hotel does feature a guest lift, and if utilizing the lift offers the most direct route to your room, our reception team always recommends its use during check-in. We regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We genuinely hope you will consider staying with us again, providing us another opportunity to offer you an exceptional stay and overall experience. Warm regards, Maree - Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sallym20242024 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The room was clean and bed was very comfy. All staff were very friendly. We had an early flight so it would have been great if there was an early check in option. Great service great room. Nice pool. .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Dear Sally, We appreciate your kind feedback. It brings us great joy to know that your stay was enjoyable, and our staff succeeded in making you feel welcome. While we do provide an early check-in option, its availability depends upon occupancy status. During the peak season, our hotel operates near full capacity on most days, making it challenging to fulfil early check-in requests. Nonetheless, guests are encouraged to make use of our facilities while awaiting their room. Thank you for choosing the Apollo. Warm regards - Maree, Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Littleknownauthor wrote a review Jan 2024
Newcastle, Australia1 contribution
Fabulous property for a mid-price range event, conference facilities spot on, service superb. Our organisation uses about 20 properties for our events around Australia and we always quest after one as a good all-rounder as Apollo with a conference manager as wonderful as Steve.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding our function manager, Steve, and the Apollo International. It's truly satisfying to learn that it has become your preferred choice for conferences, and we're delighted to have surpassed your expectations in terms of service, facilities, and value for money. Looking forward to your next event with us. Warm regards - Maree, Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
theports wrote a review Jan 2024
Port Macquarie, Australia74 contributions22 helpful votes
The most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in a hotel. There was a fully equipped mini bar. The room was very spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking lovely bushland. The restaurant was fantastic. Stayed 3 nights and will definitely go back when visiting Newcastle again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that our beds provided you with the most comfortable sleep experience, and that you appreciated the scenic bushland views as well as our on-site restaurant. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next stay at the Apollo. Warm regards, Maree - Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
maevans1969 wrote a review Jan 2024
Waitara, Australia32 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed with family when I was visiting the Central Coast and surrounds. Booked two rooms and when I checked in the hotel had arranged for the two rooms to be next to each other which tuned out to be quite helpful. The rooms had excellent views out across the bush and were comfortable and modern. We didn't eat at the hotel but took advantage of the short drive into Warners Bay for a light evening meal. Will certainly stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Christie, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on your recent stay. It's pleasing to hear that your experience was enjoyable and that our central location met your requirements. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Maree - Sales & Marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Charlestown area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$149 - AU$219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn newcastle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel Apollo International
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleLake MacquarieCharlestown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PLUS APOLLO INTERNATIONAL HOTEL (AU$149): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Charlestown) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Nearby attractions include UnrealVR (0.7 km), Reading Cinemas Charlestown (1.1 km), and Hoyts (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Babbingtons Bar & Grill, Vistana Malaysian Restaurant, and The Bavarian.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Afrikaans.