We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Charlestown

Agoda.comUSD 76*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 103*
USD 76*
Great Deal
USD 77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Charlestown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 381: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Charlestown
 Click to rate
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Mercure in Charlestown whilst passing through, we found a brilliant deal on booking.com for a Privilaged King Room and loved it, the room was big, bright, modern and clean. We had such a lovely night with a really comfy bed that on our way back through we specifically booked the Mercure again, same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kin-wing C
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

4 star you expect the have razors for business people let alone ANYONE, was told to go up to the highway and buy my own MERCURE like all ACCOR hotels are the worst in the world no service high prices, AVOID at all costs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eagle E
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us and I am so sorry that the matter of razor negatively impacted your stay. We offer extensive bathroom amenities in our rooms however razors do present a safety risk for our family visitors so we decide not to have these available in the bathrooms. I am again sorry we were not able to meet your...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. Service at Reception and Breakfast was great - staff used my first name, so felt a little more personal. Room was a good size, with room to move about and a small balcony. Tea/coffee facilities in room, along with hairdryer and Mercure brand shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion. Towels were nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NarellePearl
Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value accomodation. Some rooms do have views that are quite outstanding but the location is somewhat disappointing as it is 8km from the city. There is some wear and tear in the rooms that need urgent remediation as it is detracts from the overall facility. Wall and roof paint damage was dissapointing and wireless connection regularly drops out. However,...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 358maxj
Newcastle
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N B
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reception was friendly and although we didn't get an Accor Gold upgrade our room was fairly big and well appointed,(some drawer handles need replacing though.) The bathroom was large,clean and fully tiled with a nice vanity. The basin however had annoyingly poor drainage.Similar problem with the shower recess,poor instillation of shower partition and poor drainage resulted in water flooding into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george_bacic
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us and providing your review. We were very busy over the duration of your stay and I thankyou for your nice feedback about of friendly staff. Thankyou also for bringing to our attention the basin drainage, we will certainly see if there is any blockage causing this issue and it is great when guest's provide us...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, friendly staff,great resteraunt,close to two major shopping centers and only 10 mins from the city, hotel a little well worn but it is reflected in the price WELL WORTH A VISIT we had a king spa room with a great view over Newcastle and our son had a family room with a queen and 3. Singles 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurie b
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us and for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your nice comments in relation to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Grant

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived late at night. My key was available even though reception was closed. The room was very comfortable and it was also clean. I only had one concern. There was no safe in the room, unlike other Mercure hotels that I have stayed in. The staff were very good. Kelly was very helpful. She accommodated my need for privacy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinVoyage
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us and 'recommending' our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Grant

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We attended with another family. Stayed here for one night as could not get accomodation at Hunter Valley to gisit the Chritmas lights at Hunter Valley gardens. Although it was a good hour drive away we, were thouroughly pleased with our room. Our room had 3 single beds and one queen. There was plenty of room to move around and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nectaria T
Grant V, Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are a great alternative for travellers wanting to visit the Hunter Valley but prefer more cost effective accommodation with a short drive. Thankyou for your nice review and we look forward to welcoming you and the family back again soon. Regards, Grant

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
3.9 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
345 reviews
7.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
824 reviews
5.5 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
375 reviews
4.5 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Charlestown, is a boutique hotel situated on the peak of Madison Drive, in the convenient and central, ever expanding suburb of Charlestown. Located in the tree tops and away from busy roads, Mercure Charlestown is the perfect place to relax for business travellers, family visits or holiday makers alike. Enjoy the comfort of the 53 rooms, take in the view of Stockton beach and the serene tree top outlook from the restaurant deck, or unwind with a swim in the outdoor pool before enjoying a drink in the sunlit bar. Mercure Charlestown strives to provide you with a home away from home. Always a friendly service with a smile, clean and tidy rooms, great food, and all within a short drive from everything that Newcastle has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Charlestown

Address: 109 Madison Drive, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Price Range: $100 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Charlestown 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Charlestown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Best Western
Best Western Newcastle
Mercure Charlestown Greater Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Charlestown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Charlestown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Privilaged King rooms are amazing!”
W737JLamandas, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Go elswhere”
24eaglee, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“room 232 is great has un interrupted views if the city and coast”
Australianjen, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front first floor building can park at front of room.”
AOI2014, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms looking out over rear of hotel offer beautiful views.”
377pamt, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 76* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUSD 77
TripAdvisorUSD 77
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates