We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marla Travellers Rest

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Marla Travellers Rest
 Click to rate
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid for a powered site and told where to park. Drove around and found our site only to find that the power boxes were not working on half of the sites. Very annoying once you have already set up...especially if you are a camper van. Note to all...check your power works BEFORE setting up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
NZ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the room was large with a new king sized bed and a modern tv, housekeeping could not have been worse! The toilet had a paper hygiene strip on it but once removed and the lid opened we discovers waste floating in the bowl!! On the shower curtain rod was a bathmat, but it had obviously been wet and thrown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tounga
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Do not go there the management is terrible, you can see them screaming at the staff, the hole thing is scrabby I went there with friends and was glad when we could leave They do have a little supermarket that is 5 times more expensive, paying 5$ for a already mashed banana

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johkhan
Management response:

Hi Johkhan, I'm not sure what you are trying to achieve with this review. You could at least be honest. We are not 5 times more expensive and we do not sell banana's for $5, not even close. They are $1 and they are only that price as they have to travel 1,100kms to be for sale. As for management...

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

On our way to Alice Springs and stopped here on a very hot day, 44c. The staff were friendly, we got to choose our own powered campsite. The facilities were ok but were hot, yes we were here in the summer. Not a bad oasis in the middle of nowhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alohataj
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Only 2 hours north of Coober Peady. This place is a great option for camping. Green glass, for your tent. Facilities are clean and basic. Multiple accommodations options. Plus a bar, restaurant petrol station and grocery store. Fast service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hayley B
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here on our trip North and had travelled 1160k this day so we were certainly looking forward to a stop. I had booked and had received a confirmation email from Lisa advising was booked and the cost. On arrival a NOT so happy lady served us and all she could say was we hadn't booked... I attempted to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon C
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight with 8 friends on the way to the NT. We all stayed in swags out the rear of the park. The area was ok but lacked a bit of shade. The most annoying part is a diesel generator that runs all night with a loud engine noise. Apart from that it's pretty good you get what you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Callumjames1990
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I booked and was given an upgraded room in the front of the motel which was large , clean and functional. No bugs etc. seen , bed was comfortable and road noise was minimal. Food quality and quantity was good also. Reading other trip reports perhaps booking an upgraded room is the way to go. I certainly had no problems...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff M
Port Augusta, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Here for 2 nights, 1 at the beginning of the week, then another towards the end as in the area for work. Problem started from the beginning, made accommodation bookings weeks ago, went to check in & nothing was on the system. After calling a manager in & 15 minutes later we had FINALLY been given rooms. On our second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chlossy
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Unfortunately we have no choice but to stop at places like this on the Stuart Highway! There toilets are filthy and a health hazard each time we stop, not just a one off! Coffee disgusting! Picnic tables on the grass broken and lacking seats. Shame, they have enough business so no excuse!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shootingstars R
Management response:

Hi, Sorry to hear that our toilets were not of a standard that we expect. We do frequently clean the toilets but occasionally a large group arrives and before you know it they need another clean. I am surprised you find our coffee disgusting as that is one thing we get an enormous amount of compliments about. We use real...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Near Marla Travellers Rest

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marla Travellers’ Rest is a sprawling roadhouse, hotel/motel, restaurant, service station, supermarket and much more – all in one place. Located on the Stuart highway since 1982, it provides a comprehensive range of facilities for travellers and locals alike. It takes it’s name from the Aboriginal word meaning kangaroo. Situated east of the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Lands in South Australia, Marla Travellers’ Rest is very much the heart of Marla. Marla is 1,082 km’s from Adelaide and 159km south of the Northern Territory border. With it’s official population of just over 70 people, Marla is primarily a service town and it visited twice a week by the historic Great Southern Railway train, The Ghan, which now frequently passes by directly across the road from the roadhouse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marla Travellers Rest

Address: Main Stuart Highway,, Marla, South Australia 5724, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Marla
Hotel Class:2 star — Marla Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marla Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marla Travellers Rest South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marla Travellers Rest staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Marla Travellers Rest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go the Deluxe Room as the bed was awesome”
103sharonc, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book an upgraded room”
geoffm604, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms seem to be done up, though more noisy as closer to road.”
everyday-onwards, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“front rooms”
BoneandBtwo, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Guess we were pretty much near the work units but noise was not a problem for us”
CynthiaT286, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5